Working Group D2 Cable Systems (IEEE 525) Meeting Notes of May 19 & 20, 2015 – Minneapolis, MN

Chair: Debra Longtin Vice Chair: Steve Shelton Secretary: Brian Farmer Tech. Editor: Adam Zook

Meeting called to order by the Chair, Deb Longtin at 1:05, welcoming members and guests.

Total attendance: 37; Members 14; Corresponding Members 3; Guests 20

Quorum was present (needed 11 members)

Armstrong, Allee	Guest
Buhle, Kevin	Member
Braer, Matt	Guest
Campbell, Donald	Guest
Chan, K.S.	Guest
Conner, Emmy	Guest
Considine, Chris	Guest
Dietzman, Bruce	Guest
Farmer, Brian	Secretary
Gaetz, Alan	Member
Gravelle, Joseph	Member
Haahr, Charles	Member
Hobbs, Robert	Guest
Hoffman, Zack	Member
Hooley, Benjamin	Member
Longtin, Debra	Chair
Khan, Kamran	Guest
Maniego, Regninaldo	Guest
Mannino, Kaolyn	Guest
Khan, Kamran Maniego, Regninaldo	Guest Guest

McNutt, Jeremy	Guest
Moreau, DJ	Member
Muruges, Thanash	Guest
Nadeau, Mike	Member
Noori, Mike	Guest
Patel, Shashi	Corresponding Member
Patel, Shashikant	Member
Postma, Nathaniel	Guest
Preuss, Craig	Corresponding Member
Proios, Thomas	Guest
Shvartsberg, Boris	Corresponding Member
Stamm, David	Guest
Stargel, Ryan	Guest
Strahl, Kenneth	Member
Tran, Giang	Guest
Watkins, Diane	Member
Zook, Adam	Member
Zhao, Linda	Guest

For the record, though not discussed at the meeting, the following is regarding a working group vote to proceed to ballot. On January 12th, Chair Deb Longtin asked all **members** (by email) if they considered our revised document was ready for balloting. 19 votes were received from our 22 members. All 19 votes were affirmative for proceeding with balloting.

The slides were shown regarding call for acknowledgement of any potentially essential patents and duty to inform. No responses were received.

- 1. Deb reviewed the meeting notes from the Nashville meeting October 2014.
- 2. Overall schedule and the meeting's agenda were reviewed. The intention is to review results of the recently closed ballot and begin to resolve all the comments submitted.

- 3. Deb reviewed the steps and progress since the October 2014 meeting. The draft was submitted for mandatory editorial coordination (MEC). Comments were received and addressed. Ballot pool was formed. Ballot period opened April 13 and closed May 13. Results of the ballot are:
 - 88 eligible people in ballot group
 - 75 votes received (85% return, meets 75% return requirement)
 - 63 affirmative votes, 6 negative votes (with comments), 6 abstentions.
 - 91% affirmative (meets 75% approval requirement)
- 4. Brian provided an overview of the Standards Review Committee (RevCom) policies and procedures regarding ballot results and comment resolution. Although the ballot results of 91% affirmative meets the consensus requirement of 75%, RevCom still expects to see that all comments are addressed, particularly that negative comments have been resolved, if possible. Once the working group has examined and dealt with all comments, and presuming changes have been made to the document, a recirculation ballot is conducted. During the recirculation, the ballot group reviews only the changes made.
- The group was informed that 320 comments had been received. 174 were flagged "Must Be Satisfied" from the 6 negative balloters. The comments break down as 104 editorial, 99 general, and 117 technical.
- The group then began review of the comments, starting with the technical comments on Section 6. The group discussed if much of the detail in Clause 6.2 should be in an annex. To move the material may require extensive editing of numbering. The group agreed to move some of 6.1 and all of 6.2 to an annex.
- Addressing of technical comments continued. (Comment spreadsheet was uploaded to D2 webpage under protected files so that everyone had access to the comments as we went along. File name *P525 comments 051315.xlsx*) All group decisions were captured on the document resolution spreadsheet. Near the end of the session on the second day, 64 comments had been addressed.
- 8. It was decided that a smaller ballot resolution subcommittee would be established to continue working on the comments.

Comment resolution subcommittee was formed, consisting of the following: Jim Campbell, Brian Farmer, Alan Geatz, Deb Longtin, Reggie Maniego, Sashikant Patel, Boris Shvartsberg, and Diane Watkins, ,.

- 9. Next steps were established as follows.
 - Adam Zook will review and address the straightforward editorial comments and any readily resolvable technical comments. Target date 6/12.

- Resolution Subcommittee will address remaining comments. Once all comments have been addressed, the updated document will be sent out to the WG for a quick review and vote if ready for ballot recirculation.
- A decision on whether to extend the PAR will be considered in mid-summer, depending on the progress of comment resolution.
- 10. Next meeting will be in Nashville, week of October 5th.
- 11. Meeting adjourned at 12:00 on 5/20.

Meeting notes will be posted on the website. WGD2 Cable Systems in Substations

Respectfully submitted by Brian Farmer, Secretary