MEETING NOTES E4 Working Group – Substation Safety 2014 Spring Meeting – Portland, OR Tuesday 5/20, 2 pm – 5 pm

1. Introduction and Welcome

Chair Jesse Rorabaugh opened the meeting.

The leadership positions for E4 have been filled as follows:

Chair: Jesse Rorabaugh Vice Chair: Lane Garrett Secretary: Jon Martin

2. Slides on patents and duty to inform

3. Review 2013 Meeting Notes from Nashville

There were no formal meeting notes recorded after the October 2013 Nashville meeting. Joe Gravelle lead the meeting as the char position had been vacated. During the meeting Joe solicited for individuals who would be interested to fill the leadership positions within E4.

A discussion on the future need for IEEE 1268 was held.

4. The status of the IEEE 1268 was discussed.

Action item is to confirm the status of the PAR for 1268.

As a continuation of the discussion from the October 2013 Nashville meeting on the status of IEEE 1268, Joe Gravelle discussed his interest to revise and update 1268, as opposed the default alternative to let 1268 expire. Joe discussed adding key substation design aspects to facilitate installation of a mobile transformer, as this information is not presently included in other standards.

Joe Gravelle made a motion to revise 1268, to revise the PAR as required. The results of the vote are as follows:

- YES: 8 members
- NO: O members
- ABSTAIN: O members



1

5. Carson Day of NEETRAC made a presentation of a proposed project to evaluate multiple TPGs in high fault current applications.

6. Lane Garret made a presentation on Summary of changes in both NESC and OSHA that will have impacts on substations

7. Next Meeting: Nashville, October 2014

Meeting Adjourn

ASSIGNMENTS FROM NASHVILLE 2013

Section	Person	Comment	Status
	J Rorabaugh	Confirm status of PAR for 1268	
	J Rorabaugh	Obtain 'word' file of the present IEEE 1268.	



8. MEETING ATTENDEES:

Role	First Name	Last Name	Company
Member	Bryan	Beske	American Transmission Company
Guest	Dale	Boling	ERICO, Inc.
Corresponding Member	Jorge	Cardenas	Commonwealth Edison Company
Member	Bill	Carman	Ausgrid
Corresponding Member	K. S.	Chan	Bechtel
Member	Carson	Day	Georgia Tech
Guest	W. Bruce	Dietzman	Oncor Electric Delivery Company
Vice-Chair	David	Garrett	Commonwealth Associates Inc
Member	Joseph	Gravelle	Xcel Energy
Member	Steve	Greenfield	Erico, Inc.
Member	Martin	Havelka	Erico, Inc.
Corresponding Member	Charles	Holcombe	Southwire Company
Member	Richard	Keil	Commonwealth Associates Inc.
Member	Dave	Kelley	Salt River Project
Corresponding Member	Alfred	Longhi	Tymetal Corp/
Secretary	JON	MARTIN	PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY
Corresponding Member	Wesley	McCain	ProGlass, Inc.
Corresponding Member	Carl	Moller	CANA High Voltage Ltd.
Corresponding Member	William	Morrissey	Harger Lightning and Grounding
Corresponding Member	Stephen	Palmer	Safearth Consulting
Member	Shashi	Patel	NEETRAC
Corresponding Member	Caroline	Peterson	Xcel Energy



Chair	Jesse	Rorabaugh	Southern California Edison
Member	Will	Sheh	TectoWeld Inc.
Guest	Rick	Simonson	Southwire
Guest	Erin	Spiewak	IEEE Standards Activities
Member	Curtis	Stidham	TE Connectivity
Corresponding Member	William (Bill)	Tocher	Safearth Consulting
Corresponding Member	Donald	Wengerter (TO BE DELETED - DW)	Wisconsin Public Service
Guest	Craig	Wirtz	Southwire
Guest	Xuan	Wu	American Electric Power

