2016 Substation Committee

Main Meeting and Luncheon Agenda

Monday, May 23, 2016	
	Main Meeting
7:00 am to 8:00 am	Continental Breakfast
8:00 am to 8:40 am	Substations Committee Status Report Markus Etter, Chair - Substations Committee
8:40 am to 9:05 am	Keynote Address No. 1: Innovative Solutions for Future Substations Werner Hofbauer, PhD; ABB
9:05 am to 9:30am	Keynote Address No. 2: Intelligent Grid of the Future: Market Trends Mark Lancaster, PE; Southwire Company
9:30 am to 9:45am	Break
9:45 am to 10:15 am	Technical Presentation: Battery Energy Storage System Keith Harley, PE; Georgia Power / Southern Company
10:15 am to 10:45 am	Technical Presentation: System Reliability: Review of Aging Devices that Make up the Infrastructure
	Nigel Hampton, PhD; Neetrac / Georgia Tech
10:45 am to 10:50 am	2017 Substation Committee Meeting (Richmond, Virginia)
10:50 am to 11:00 am	Close of Meeting, Markus Etter
11:00 am to 11:55 am	Subcommittee / Working Group Meetings (See schedule for locations)
	Awards Luncheon
12:00 am to 12:10 am	Welcome and Introductions: Markus Etter, Chair – Substations Committee
12:10 am to 12:40 am	Keynote Address: Impact of Sustainability Rebecca Cranford, Southwire Company
12:40 am to 1:30pm	Recognition of Guest Speakers Werner Hofbauer, Mark Lancaster, Keith Harley, Nigel Hampton, Rebeca Cranford.
	IEEE PES Technical Committee Wording Group Recognition Award Chair: George Becker Vice Chair: Devki Sharma Secretary: Patrick Fitzgerald Members: Arun Arora, Markus Etter, David Giegel, Philip Bolin, John Brunke,
	Arnaud Ficheux, Peter Grossmann, Ravi Dhara, Noboro Fujimoto, Brent Haag, Charles Hand, Ki Cheong Ho, Allan Jacobs, Richard Jones, Hermann Koch,

Tony Lim, Hua Liu, Jorge Marquez-Sanchez, James Massura, Venkatesh Minisandram, Dave Mitchell, William Munn, Dan Nix, Lynn Sowerbrower, Pravakar Samanta, Steven Scharf, Ryan Stone, Brian Withers, Xi Zhu, Jean-Marc Torres, John Boggess.

In recognition of the dedication and significant contributions of the working group in producing a necessary and comprehensive Guide for Specifications for High- Voltage Gas-Insulated Substations

IEEE PES Technical Committee Distinguished Individual Service Award

Craig Preuss

For his many years of leadership of CO and growing its working groups

C0 Tribute

Fellows Recognition

Host Committee

Chair: Allison Thrash

Treasurer: Hannah Baldizon

Sponsorships: Brett Kenerly, Kim Knuckles, Dixie Brooks

Guest Speakers: Yuhsin Hawig Companion Tours: Allee Armstrong

Technical Tours: Jay Stewart and Jim Campbell

Guidebook: Hannah Baldizon Registration: Emmy Conner Registration: Chad McBurnett

1:30 pm to 5:00 pm

Subcommittee / Working Group Meeting (See schedule for locations)