Call for Papers

The 35th IEEE Sarnoff Symposium 2012

Newark, NJ, May 21-22, 2012

Since 1978 the IEEE Sarnoff Symposium has been bringing together a rich diversity of telecom experts from industry, universities, and government. The Sarnoff Symposium continues to grow as the premier forum for researchers, engineers, and business executives in the North East drawing an attendance from all over the world. Besides technical sessions, the Symposium will include *invited sessions, tutorials, student poster presentations, executive panels*, and *exhibition*.

Prospective authors are encouraged to submit a full paper for review. Only original papers that have not been published or submitted for publication elsewhere will be considered. The submission process is carried through the *EDAS conference management* system (http://edas.info/). The manuscripts must follow the IEEE two-column format with single-spaced, 10-point font in the text. The maximum paper length is of five (5) pages. A sixth page may be accepted after an additional fee.

All accepted papers (after review by experts in the field) will be presented in oral sessions, included in the 35th IEEE Sarnoff Symposium Proceedings, and published through IEEE Xplore. Inclusion of an accepted paper in the conference proceedings and IEEE Xplore is conditioned to a full registration and the presentation of the paper in the symposium. Student papers should be submitted to the Student Posters Chair (ziqian.dong@nyit.edu). Prospective tutorial presenters should contact the Tutorials Chair (kolarov@research.telcordia.com).

IMPORTANT DATES

Papers, Panel and Tutorial Proposals Due: Feb. 15, 2012
Student Poster Due: Feb. 20, 2012
Notification of Tutorial Acceptance: Mar. 1, 2012
Notification of Paper Acceptance: Mar. 2012
Notification of Poster Acceptance: Mar. 20, 2012
Final Version Due: Apr. 1, 2012

CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

Paper Sessions, Panels, and Tutorials: May 21-22, 2012 Exhibits: May 21-22, 2012 Student Posters: May 22, 2012

The Symposium is soliciting state-of-the-art research papers, panels and tutorial proposals including the following topics, but not limited to:

Wireline Communication Systems

- Broadband Access Networks
- IPTV
- Power-Line Communications
- Smart Grid

Optical Communications

- WDM Systems and Devices
- Broadband Access Communications
- Radio over Fiber (RoF)

Networking

- Datacenter Communications
- Network Virtualization and Cloud Computing
- Cloud Computing
- Switching and Routing
- Network Security

Wireless Communications Systems

- 4G, LTE, and 3G systems
- WiFi and WiMAX Systems
- MIMO Transmission Schemes
- Hierarchical Networks (Femto, Pico, Relays)
- Radio Resource and Interference Management
- Self Configuring and/or Optimizing Networks (SON)
- Sensor, Mesh and Ad Hoc Networks
- Ultra Wideband (UWB) Communications
- Power Management and Green Communication
- Satellite Communication Systems
- Military Communication Systems
- Disruption Tolerant Networks

Communications and Information Theory

- Network Information Theory
- Cross-Layer Optimization Schemes
- Cognitive Radio
- Multi-terminal Source Coding

Applications

- Multimedia Applications for Mobile and Tethered Users
- Mobile Payment Applications
- Trust, Security, and Privacy
- Business Models for Mobile Applications
- Smartphone Applications and Social Networks

Wireless Communications Components

- Power Amplifiers, RF Repeaters
- Microwave Devices
- Antennas Design
- VLSI for Communications
- Transceiver

Sponsor



Princeton/Central Jersey Section

Co-sponsors















Conference Chairs:

Technical Program Chairs:

Invited Sessions Chair:
Publication Chair:
Publicity Chair:
Registration Chair:
Student Posters Chair:
Tutorials Chair:
Finance Chair:

Exhibits & Local Arrangement Chair: Commercial Panel Chair:

Webmaster:

Roberto Rojas-Cessa (NJIT)

Elias Kpodzo (L-3 Communications TE)

Walid Ahmed (Broadcom)
Osvaldo Simeone (NJIT)
Shweta Jain (CUNY)
Suman Sucharit Das (Niksun)
N. Sertac Artan (NYU Poly)

Silvija Kokalj-Filipovic (Alcatel-Lucent)

Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong (NYIT)

Alexandar Kolarov (Telcordia)

Alexandar Kolarov (Telcordia) Nagi Naganathan (LSI) Frank O'Brien (IEEE/CS) Eric Addeo (DeVry)

Khondaker M. Salehin (NJIT)