Entrepreneur’s Day - Committee Biographies

- Entrepreneurs Day Home | Program -

Mike Alterman

Professor Wieslaw Bury
Princeton/Central Jersey Section Chair

Dr. Wieslaw Bury is a senior professor in the Electronics Department at DeVry University where he has been on faculty since 1983. He previously worked as a Product Design Engineer and Project Engineer at General Cable Company and also held the position of Design Engineer at Brown Boveri. He has been a Senior Member of IEEE since 1987. He holds membership in the American Society for Engineering Education as well. Dr. Bury received both his Master's degree and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Polytechnic University in Brooklyn. The subject of his doctoral dissertation was "Bidirectional DC-DC Converters: Topologies and Control."

Professor John Buzza
Director - Center for Entrepreneurship

John S. Buzza is currently a Specialist Professor at Monmouth University and Director of The Monmouth University Center for Entrepreneurship, serving full time since 2005. Education has always been a part of Buzza’s life, as he has taught at such schools as Farleigh Dickenson University, Essex County College, The Katherine Gibbs School and guest lectured at many other institutions of higher learning throughout the tri-state area. While at FDU and through 2003, Buzza also served on the Board of The Farleigh Dickenson School of Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management. Mr. Buzza has served on the Board of The Katherine Gibbs School, working as a liaison between the community and the planned expansion of their campus. Although teaching has always been Mr. Buzza’s passion, he has made his mark as an Entrepreneur, being involved as an owner or partner in seven different restaurants and catering facilities, two franchise operations and a consulting business. Buzza spends most of his free time involved in many philanthropic endeavors such as Project Pride, an organization that raises money for underprivileged college-bound students in Newark, and Fresh Start, a New York based organization that mentors incarcerated men in the field of Hospitality at Rikers Island Prison. John Buzza received his Bachelors degree from Monmouth College in 1971 and received his Masters Degree from the University of Phoenix in 2003. John is married to Phyllis for 37 years, resides in Farmingdale New Jersey and has two sons, Matthew and John.

Dr. Aileen Chang

Gordon Day
2009 IEEE President-USA

Gordon Day received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Illinois. For 33 years he conducted and managed research at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, participating in some of the Institute’s best known programs in optoelectronics: optical fiber communications, optical fiber sensors, laser radiometry, and a determination of the speed of light that led eventually to a redefinition of the meter.

In 1994 he became the first Division Chief of the NIST Optoelectronics Division. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, the Optical Society of America, and the Institute of Physics (UK) and a Past President of the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society. In 2005, he was an IEEE Congressional Fellow, serving as a science advisor to Senator Jay Rockefeller.

Kirit Dixit

Ashutosh Dutta
Region 1 Industry Relations Chair

He was the Director of Central Research FacilityCRF. Currently he is a Senior Scientist at Telcordia Technologies, NJ, formerly Bellcore Telcordia.

He is a part-time Ph.D student in EE department at Columbia under Prof. Henning Schulzrinne. Prof. Yechiam Yemini is his co-advisor.

Ashutosh has a BS in Electrical Engineering from the National Institute of Technology (formerly REC), Rourkela, India, a MS in Computer Science from the New Jersey Institute of Technology, and a Master in Philosophy in Electrical Engineering from Columbia University.

Scott Grayson

Russ Harrison

Takeo Ishimasa

Trish Lamarca
Office Coordinator for Software Engineering

Dr. Allen Milewski
Monmouth University Program Chair

Dr. Paula Muller

Professor Durga Misra
Southern Area Chair, Region 1

Dr. Durga Misra is a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees both in Electrical Engineering from University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada in 1985 and 1988 respectively. He has been a faculty member since the fall of 1988 at NJIT. In 1997 he worked at the VLSI Research Department at Bell Laboratories of Lucent Technologies. He received IEEE Regional Activities Board's International Leadership Award and is a Distinguished Lecturer of Electron Device Society of IEEE. He has organized many International Symposiums on Solid-State Science and Technology field during the Technical Meetings of the Electrochemical Society and IEEE. He served as the Chairman of North Jersey Section of IEEE during 2003 and 2004. Currently he serves as the EDS-SRC Chair for Regions 1-3 & 7 of IEEE. He is also a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society where he is on the board of Governors.

John Palframan
Avaya Labs Research

Dean Michael Palladino
School of Science

Amit Patel
Northern NJ Section Chair

Dr. Charles Rubenstein - Region 1 Director

Iwan Santoso

Dr. TK Srinivas
IEEE NJ Coast Section Chair

TK Srinivas is an entrepreneur who is currently exploring and creating opportunities in the renewable energy area with a small team of other entrepreneurs using his background in the telecommunications sector buidling large scale systems in a variety of roles spanning over 28+ years at Bell Labs and Avaya Labs.

Prior to this TK was Director at Avaya CTO organization responsible for End to End Strategy and Architecture for factors such as Reliability, Manageability, Serviceability, Security, Voice Quality and performance. TK was part of the architecture and technology strategy team that was setting direction for evolution to converged applications based on Web 2.0 technologies, presense, social networking and communications enabled business processes.

Prior to this role he was Director of Engineering and held other roles such as Chief Architect for Avaya Global Services organization. In those roles he led the creation of Avaya's next generation Service Delivery Platform and Remote Monitoring and Management Service Systems. In 2005 TK earned IEEE Region 1 Award in the technical category and cited for "Outstanding leadership and development of IP Telephony Systems"

Over the last 25+ years TK has led R&D teams and organizations in all facets of product development from systems engineering & architecture to system maintenance & support at Bell Labs (AT&T, Lucent, and Avaya ). TK has an MS in experimental physics from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) at Kanpur; and an MS degree in Computer Science and a PhD in Theoretical solid state physics from the State University of New York at Buffalo.

Joe Stack

Ravi Todi - Region 1 IEEE-USA PACE Chair

Mr. Ravi Todi is a PhD student in Electrical Engineering at UCF specializing in Microelectronics and currently working with Dr. Sundaram & Dr. Coffey in the field of MOS Device fabrication & characterization. He received his BS in Electronics Engineering from Sardar Patel College of Engineering, Mumbai, India and MS in Electrical Engineering from UCF. His research interest includes Microelectronics, Thin Films Structures, Grain Boundary Diffusion, Nenotechnologies, MEMS, Analog electronics and DSP Applications.

Hemant Vora