Women in Engineering (WIE) Affinity Group
IEEE Kolkata Section

How do I join WIE?

If you are already an IEEE member, login to my IEEE and choose "Add Services". If you are not an IEEE member, click on "Join Now" to first join IEEE (you must an IEEE member in order to become a WIE member). You can add WIE to your membership options. WIE dues are US$25 annually and free to IEEE Student Members, Graduate Student Members, and Life Members.

What are the benefits of joining WIE?

WIE members can meet colleagues with similar interests in promoting women in engineering and technology and participate in activities that support the WIE mission.

Is WIE only for women?

No. Men are welcome and encouraged to contribute to WIE activities.

Is WIE only for Electronics and Electrical engineers?

No. WIE members are engineers, scientists, and allied professionals whose technical interests are rooted in electrical and computer sciences, engineering, and related disciplines.

IEEE Membership at Half Yearly Rates!

NEW applications received between 1 March and 15 August of a year will automatically be processed for half-year membership ending 31 December at the half-year dues rates. WIE membership for IEEE Student members is FREE!

Join NOW!


Year : 2015 (No. of Active Members - 40 [appx])

1. Mrs. Manidipa Roy - Chair person

2. Dr. Soma Barman Mondal - Vice Chairperson

3. Dr. Pritha Banerjee - Secretary

4. Dr. Sudipta Chatterjee - Treasurer

5. Prof. Nabanita Das - Member

6. Prof. Susmita Sur Koley - Member

7. Dr. Bhaswati Goswami - Member

8. Prof. Gopa Sen - Immediate Past Chairperson

Year : 2009-2013 (No. of Active Members - 40 [appx])

The following Office Bearers were selected by the chapter members for the year 2013 till the next election is held.

Chairman: Gopa Sen
Secretary: Pritha Banerjee
Treasurer: Bhaswati Goswami

New Members in 2009-2013

1. Bhaswati Goswami    
2. Soma Barman( Mondal)    
3. Bratati Mukhopadhyay    
4. Sumitra Mukhopadhyay    
5. Arpita Das    
6. Subhasree Sett    
7. Pritha Banerjee    
8. Piu Ghosh    
9. Shampa Guin    
10. Suchismita Mitra    
11. Tania Das    
12. Pallabi Pramanik    
13. Sayantani Sen    
14. Swagata Saha    

Year : 2008 (No. of Active Members - 35)

New Members in 2008

1. Sukanya Parui    
2. Aparajita Sengupta    
3. Uma Bhattacharya    
4. Gopa Sen    
5. Debjani Ganguly    
6. Rituparna Chaki    
7. Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyaya    
8. Sushmita Mitra    
9. Sanjucta Ghose    
10. S Kar Chowdhury    
11. Manidipa Roy    

Year : 2007 (No. of Active Members - 24)

New Members in 2007

1. Ms. Ishita De    
2. Dr. Mohuya Chakraborty    
3. Dr. Sheli Sinha Chaudhuri    
4. Ms. Manidipa Bhattacharya    
5. Ms. Parmita Biswas    
6. Ms. Mousumi Kundu    
7. Ms. Souma Dutta    
8. Ms. Modhumita Sarkar    
9. Prof. Sudakshina Kundu    
10. Ms. Chiroshree Pramanik    
11. Ms. Bidisha Gupta    
12. Arpita Chakraborty    
13. Sumitra Mukhopadhyay    
14. Dr. Sukla Duttagupta    

Year : 2006 (No. of Active Members - 10)

Members at the time of inception in July 2006

1. Dr. Iti Saha Misra    
2. Dr. Gargi Keeni    
3. Prof. Nabanita Das    
4. Prof. Susmita Sur-Kolay    
5. Ms. Sharmin Parveen    
6. Ms.Sudipta Chattopadhyay    
7. Dr. Chayanika Bose    
8. Prof. Mita Nasipuri    
9. Prof. Sarmistha Neogy    
10. Prof. Nandini Mukherjee