"National Conference on Microwave and Communication-NCMicrocom-2010"

February 19, 2010 – February 20, 2010

A Report

The two day national conference entitled "National Conference on Microwave and Communication- NCMicroCom-2010" was held on February 19, 2010 and February 20, 2010 at Birbhum Institute of Engineering and Technology (BIET), Suri, Birbhum, West Bengal, India-731101. The program was organized by Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering BIET, Suri with Technical Sponsorship from IEEE Women in Engineering Affinity (WIEA) Group, Calcutta Section and IEEE ComSoc, Kolkata. The students of BIET. Suri and the outstation candidates from diverse field participated in this technical conference.

The Activities of Day-I

- 1. Participants registered for the conference and collected their kits.
- The inaugural program was started at 10:00 a.m. in the auditorium of BIET, Suri with several dignitaries on the dais. Dr. Bhabes Bhattacharya, Director, BIET and Chief Patron of the conf., Prof.J.K.Sen, Department of ECE, BIET, Mrs.Manidipa Bhattacharya, CIT, Uluberia, Prof.Dr. Amitava Dasgupta, Adviser, BIET, Dr. Rajarshi Roy, E&ECE,IIT,KGP, Prof.Dr. S.K.Sanyal, ETCE, JU, Prof. Dr. Baidyanath Biswas, Chairman& Emeritus Professor, SKFGI, and Dr. Iti Saha Mishra, ETCE,JU graced the occasion.
- 3. Dr. Bhabes Bhattacharya encouraged the faculty members for organizing such conferences.

4. Prof. J. K. Sen recapitulated the contribution of Sir J. C. Bose in the field of Microwave and Communication.



Inaugural ceremony of NCMicroCom-2010

- 5. Prof. S. K. Sanyal on behalf of IEEE ComSoc cheered the crew through his jocund talk.
- 6. Dr. Iti Saha Mishra on behalf of IEEE WIE, Calcutta wing advocated for menwomen equilibrium in scientific and engineering studies.
- 7. The technical session was started thereafter with a series of illuminating lectures. Some of them are briefed below:
- In the first session Prof. Baidyanath Biswas, Chairman & Emiretus Professor,SKFGI, Mankundu catered his lecture on Active Microstrip Patch Antenna: 4-in-1. The session was chaired by Prof.J.K.Sen, Department of ECE, BIET.
- In the next session Dr. Rajarshi Roy, Assistant Professor, E&ECE, IIT,

Kharagpur presented an illuminating lecture on *Communication Networks: Future Research and Teaching Methodology.* The session was chaired by Prof. S.K.Sanyal, ETCE, JU.

- Mrs. Manidipa Bhattacharya, Assistant Professor, CIT, Uluberia delivered her lecture on *Microwave Communication Systems*. The session was chaired by Dr. Iti Saha Mishra, ETCE, JU.



Dr. Iti Saha Mishra ETCE, JU on behalf of IEEE WIE, Calcutta Section delivering her inaugural speech



Dr. Rajarshi Roy delivering lecture

- 8. The last event was the Design Model Contest having the students of BIET participating with extravagant enthusiasm and presenting their innovative models. There were eleven groups contesting which are enlisted below:
- Group A: Experimental Modeling & Performance Listing Of Cyclone Separator
- Group B: Automatic Signaling System For Train Model
- Group C: 8 Bit 8 Channel Data Acquisition System
- Group D: Mesh Solving & Hurdles Trackling with Intelligent Line Follower Robot
- Group E: Automatic Upper Dipper In Two Wheeler
- Group F: Global Telecommunication
- Group G: Water Overflow Alarm
- Group H: Levitation Disc
- Group I: Burglar Alarm
- Group J: College Information System
- Group K: Pick and Place Robot

The day ended with the motivation and appreciation by the judges.



Students showing their design models in Day-I The Activities of Day-II

The second day started with a brief inauguration session. Prof.Dr. Amitava Dasgupta, Adviser, BIET, Dr. Bhabes Bhattacharya, Director, BIET, Prof. Dr. Amitava Ghosh, Member of BoG, BIET, Prof. Dr. Ajoy Kumar Roy, VC, BESU, Chief Guest, Prof. Nabanita Das, ISI, Kolkata, Chair, IEEE-WIE, Mr. Sk. Islam, Asst.. Secretary, ICARE, member of BOG, BIET, graced the dais.

IEEE – WIE Affinity Group Activities During 2010: NCMicrocom-2010



Students showing their design models in Day-I

- 1. Prof. Amitava Dasgupta, Adviser, BIET through his speech shed light on the evolution of communication and its future.
- 2. Prof. Amitava Ghosh, Member of BoG, BIET shared his ideas and views about the prospects of microwave and communication.



Prof. Amitava Dasgupta, Adviser, BIET addressing the audience

3. The keynote address was delivered by Prof. Ajoy Kumar Roy, VC, BESU. He shared his knowledge in the domain of microwave and communication.



Prof. Amitava Ghosh addressing the audience

- The technical session then followed with the talk on *Kronecker Product and DFT Implementation* by Prof. S.K.Sanyal, ETCE, Jadavpur University.
- 5. The IEEE-WIE awarded two of the presented models: "Mesh Follower Robot" and "Pick & Place Robot". Prof. Nabanita Das, ISI, Kolkata, Chair, IEEE-WIE presented token money to the groups to support their future endeavors with the respective projects.Solving & Hurdles Tackling with Intelligent Line



Students showing their design models in Day-II

IEEE – WIE Affinity Group Activities During 2010: NCMicrocom-2010



Best Design Model award presented to the students by Prof. Nabanita Das, Charperson, IEEE-WIE, Calcutta section



Prof. Nabanita Das, Charperson, IEEE-WIE, Calcutta section addressing the audience

6. Prof. Ajoy Kumar Roy, VC, BESU presented the participation certificate to the participants.

The two day conference ended with vote of thanks Mr.Soumen Khatua, HOD, ECE, BIET.

There were almost 147 participants in this two – day conference.

IEEE-WIE, Calcutta Section is honored to be the part of such a great endeavor. The members of IEEE-WIE sincerely thank all the participants, respected professors and dignitaries, organizers and everyone associated with the program.