Women in Engineering
Affinity Group
Kharagpur Section

home About Us Events People Join Us Reach Us Yatrika
Activity Highlights 2014

2014 witnessed several developments and initiatives taken by the WIE Executive Committee. The new official website of WIE Kharagpur was launched on May 16, 2014, and has been linked on the local activity page of the official IEEE WIE website. 2014 also witnessed a remarkable increase in number of WIE members in the Section that rose from 9 (as of end of 2013) to 34 as end of 2014.

The celebrations of 20 Years of WIE were marked through several new initiatives. A new WIE KGP Conference Support Scheme has been instituted to assist female student WIE members of the Section towards registration of international conferences. A preuniversity outreach program to called IEEE STAR was introduced in the Section for the first time, and will be executed in 2015. In terms of exposure of the Kharagpur WIE in social media, our Facebook page already has over 500 followers.

Some events that were co-organized with the Student Branch of IIT Kharagpur include IEEE TechSym 2014, Workshop Series on LaTeX-based Document Typsetting, Workshop on Introduction to MATLAB, and an ongoing seminar series.

In terms of awards and recognition, the 2014 Region 10 (Asia-Pacific) WIE Student Volunteer Award was won by the WIE Affinity Group Chair of Kharagpur Section, Ms Rajlaxmi Chouhan. Ms Chouhan and the ExeCom Secretary, Ms Sabita Langkam, were recognized as IEEE Student of the Week by IEEE MGA Student Activity Committee in July and August 2014. Rajlaxmi also received the IEEE Signal Processing Travel Grant of $900 to attend IEEE ICIP at Paris, and the Execom Treasurer, Tanwi Mallick, got opportunity to attend the Heidelberg (Nobel) Laureate Forum 2014 at Germany with support from Shri Gopal Rajagarhia Student International Travel Programme of IIT Kharagpur.

Cheers to the IEEE WIE AG Kharagpur Section for the eventful 2014!


If you have any query or suggestion regarding our events and activities,
please mail us at:

WIE KGP: Executive Committee  /
Chair: Tanwi Mallick  /
Vice Chair: Sabita Langkam  /
Secretary: Noor E Karishma Shaik  /
Treasurer: Sayani Mondal  /