

Western Australia Section



2017 Committee Members

- Chair: Cesar Ortega-Sanchez Vice-Chair: Ferdous Sohel
- Secretary: Vijay Kumar
- Treasurer: Sebastian Zander

Plus 685 Section members





History of the Section

The region of Western Australia (WA) was part of the IEEE Australia Section from 1972 through to 1984. On 24th May, 1984, the IEEE WA Section was established under the chairmanship of Professor Alan Billings. Since its establishment 33 years ago, the IEEE Western Australia Section has been very successful in achieving the IEEE mission in this isolated part of the world. For example:

- The Section has organized 128 technical and 23 professional events since 2010.
- Every year the Section organizes a family day to bring together WA members and their families and keep nurturing the IEEE spirit.









- Communications (221)
- Computational Intelligence / Robotics and Automation (76)
- Computer (326)
- Electron Devices / Solid-State Circuits / Photonics (39)
- Power & Energy / Power Electronics (148)
- Signal Processing (62)
- Systems, Man and Cybernetics (26)
- Women in Engineering (19)
- Young Professionals (224)







Networking Event IEEE & IET YP 2016

Student activities The WA Section has 4 student branches: Curtin

Powercon 2000 Organizing Committee

University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University and University of Western Australia. Every year student branches organise: networking activities with industry, professional development seminars, technical workshops, site visits, recruitment events and social sundowners. In 2017 the Section has 99 student members.