Minutes of IEEE REGION 3 MEETING 24-25 March 2007 RICHMOND MARRIOTT RICHMOND, VA

Attendees: Eric S. Ackerman*, James M. Anderson*, Lonnie Baxley*, James H. Beall, Tim Bigelow, Jan Helge Bohn*, David L. Bower, Kenneth D. Buchanan*, A. J. Burke*, Stephen G. Carroll*, William B. Clayton*, Kurt Clemente*, David A. Conner, James Conrad*, Dennis Dice*, J. Patrick Donohoe, Robert S. Duggan, Jr., Laura Durrett, Joey Duvall*, David Eaton*, Mason Favazza, Willie J. Fitzpatrick*, Mary A. Flavin*, Devon L. Gayle*, Jerry Goerz*, David G. Green*, Barton Greene*, Jeff Haeberlin*, Adeeb Hamzey*, Jens Hannemann, Regina Hannemann, Louis Hapeshis*, Qiana Harder, Christopher Hardy*, Roy H. Harris, William B. Harrison*, Bruce Harvey*, Sean Haynes, Kristin Hensley, Charles E. Hickman*, Donald W. Hill, James M. Howard, Charles Husbands, Carl L. Hussey*, R. L. Jackson*, Keith Jadus*, Joe Juisai, Steve Karlovic*, Charles M. Krajcsik, Terry Kurtz*, N. Curtis Lee, Philip Lim*, Shuo Liu*, Allan H. Long, Charles J. Lord, Thomas Lynch, William S. Marshall, IV, George F. McClure(Chair)*, David C. McLaren, John Meredith, Halden Morris(Awardee), Rick J. Noel*, John M. Parr*, Mary Ellen Randall, William B. Ratcliff*, Jim Remich*, Richard L. Riddle*, Anton Riedl(Student Coun), Wilfred A. Roberts*, Bob Robinson, Michael Rollins*, Jose M. Romero*, Susan Ronning*, Ralph Russell*, David C. Schoggen*, Eric M. Schwartz*, Percy F. Shadwell*, Lee Stogner*, C. Stuart Talbert, Jean-Claude Thomassian*, Ravi M. Todi, L. Elwood West, Murrell White, Tracy Wichman*, Amy Wilson, Adam Wofford, Ralph Wyndrum, Wei Zhao (* → voting members)

The Region 3 meeting was held in conjunction with SoutheastCon 2007 at the Richmond Marriott, VA on 23-24 March 2007. The following relate to the agenda items and define any actions taken. Region Director George McClure conducted the meeting.

- **1.** Call to Order: At the plenary, Director McClure convened the Region meeting for the purpose of approving the slate of candidates for 2008-9 Region 3 Delegate/Director –Elect.
- 2. N&A Chair Bill Harrison reviewed the N&A process and reported that this process was followed for developing the proposed slate of candidates. He then moved, on behalf of the N&A Committee that the following slate be approved by the Region 3 Committee:
 - Eric Ackerman, Broward Section
 - Don Hill, Lexington Section
 - Lee Stogner, Piedmont Section

The motion passed.

- **3.** The meeting was then recessed till Sunday morning.
- **4.** In the plenary, Director McClure, Director-Elect Ratcliff, IEEE-USA John Meredith made presentations. IEEE Staff members Chuck Krajcsik, Mirelle White, and Tom Lynch were introduced and each made comments and took questions from members. Laura Durrett and Qiana Harder also traveled to the meeting to support the Membership Training program and Student Activities.
- 5. Director McClure reconvened meeting at 8:10am on Sunday 24 March 2007.
- **6. Approval of Agenda:** Two action items from the Conference Committee were added to the agenda. The agenda was approved as amended.
- 7. Consent Agenda: The consent agenda was approved:
 - a. Approval of minutes of 29 October 2006 Region meeting,
 - b. Receipt of the Region Committee reports listed in the Information Agenda.
 - **c.** Receipt of the results of the e-mail Region vote on modifications to the Region 3 Bylaws and Operation Manual which was completed 31 December 2006.

8. Officer Reports: No additional reports for 4a, 4c. Bill Ratcliff reviewed the themes for the meeting and challenged members to maintain the momentum as they went back to their sections. Charles Hickman reviewed the 2007 budget and present status.

9. Action Items:

- a. Approved annual review of the R3 Financial Records by the R3 Audit Committee.
- **b.** Approved the change in the requirement to send R3 Section Chairs proposed Bylaw amendments from 60 days to 30 days. (The Region Committee amended the original motion from 20 to 30 days prior to approving the motion.)
- **c.** Approved a change in the Region 3 Asynchronous Voting Procedure calling for a discussion process followed by a voting process.
- **d.** Accepted the Atlanta Section's offer to host SoutheastCon 2009 with Amy Wilson and Bill Marshall as chairs. The ExCom is delegated the task of receiving, reviewing and approving the final detailed proposals. The results will be reported back to the Region Committee at the October meeting. The Region 3 will supply up to \$6000 as seed money.
- e. Accepted the North Carolina Council's offer to host SoutheastCon 2010 in Charlotte with James Conrad as chair. The ExCom is delegated the task of receiving, reviewing and approving the final detailed proposals. The results will be reported back to the Region Committee at the October meeting. The Region 3 will supply up to \$6000 as seed money.

10. Special Presentations

- **a.** Past President Ralph Wyndrum made a presentation on IEEE-USA and the Innovation Institute.
- **b.** Director McClure presented Butch Shadwell the 75 Year Jacksonville Section banner.
- **c.** Director McClure announced that the Tri-Cities Section was celebrating its 25 Year Anniversary.
- **d.** Director McClure invited the candidates for Delegate/Director-elect to individually talk to the group. He noted that Eric Ackerman had to leave to catch an early flight but had given his agreement for the others to speak.

11. Old Business:

No old business identified.

12. New Business:

No new business identified.

13. Date and Location of Next Meeting:

The next Region 3 meeting will be on 26-28 October 2007. The following Region 3 Meeting will be associated with SoutheastCon 2008 in Huntsville, AL on 4-6 April 2008.

14. Adjournment:

After a few closing remarks by George McClure, the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David G. Green Region 3 Secretary