Minutes of IEEE REGION 3 ExCom E-Conference 24 January 2011

Attendees:

*Lee Stogner, *David G. Green, *Gregg Vaughn, *Donald W. Hill, *William Ratcliff, Jonathan Torbert, Bill Clayton, Dev Palmer, Eric Ackerman, Ron Ogan, Butch Shadwell, Jim Conrad, George McClure, Mary Ellen Randall, *Susan Ronning, *Jerry W. Goerz, Ed Kirchner, Bill Tiedemann, *Regina Hannemann, *John Montague, Daniel Tulloch-Reid, *Tim Bigelow, Adeeb Hamzey (* indicates voting ExCom members)

ExCom Meeting

Director Stogner welcomed the ExCom members to the e-conference at 9:00 PM EDT and thanked them for their participation. Director Stogner reviewed the plans for the evening. The group used IEEE's Dimdim Web Meeting service. The group used IEEE's conferencing bridge service with Skype, toll-free 1-888, and long distance dialing along with Web pages to accomplish its work.

URL for Dimdim: https://ieee.dimdim.com/region 3/

The agenda was reviewed and adopted including the consent agenda:

- Received the reports listed in the Information Agenda
- Approved the minutes of its 1 November 2010 Meeting

Secretary Vaughn reported that all submitted reports were posted except those received with the last few hours. These were posted to the web site as quickly as possible.

Director Stogner presented his report. Call for Region 3 to work together to build a network to allow us to do important work for our fellow members. Goals are listed in his written report. Several events are listed. A major goal is to continue to work to find jobs for our fellow IEEE members.

Director-Elect Green presented his report. Welcome to 2011. He referred to his written report as submitted. He highlighted goals to help Region 3 through planning for Sections Congress 2011 and visit areas and councils when they are holding meetings.

Past Director Ratcliff presented a report from N&A on rosters for various R3 committees. They are close to completing their task. Bill thanked those who helped with the work.

The report of the Treasurer will be heard with the presentation of the budget for 2011.

Action Agenda

Approve Budget for 2011—Hill

Treasurer Hill Submitted a revised budget for 2011. Don suggested a maximum dollar amount for airfare to Sections Congress. Make plans to travel to Sections Congress on Wednesday to allow for a Thursday Region 3 meeting. Don presented the Budget. The ExCom approved the budget as presented.

Executive Session to approve 2010 Region 3 Award Winners—Palmer. This action item was delayed until the end of the meeting.

Discussion Agenda

Plans for R3 Committee Meeting at Southeastcon 2011--Stogner

Based on David Green's procedure for "Recommendations" Director Stogner proposed two two-hour breakouts on Saturday morning at Southeastcon 2011. He also proposed presentations and vote in the region meeting to determine which recommendations would be sent to IEEE.

Plans for Sections Congress 2011 and R3 "Recommendations"--David Green

David Green presented slides on Recommendations for Sections Congress. The slides are available in the archive. Up to four recommendations from Region 4 must be submitted by 15 May 2011.

Continuation of Special Projects—Stogner

There are no further updates on this item for tonight.

Final report of SoutheastCon 2010 and closing of the account—Conrad

As soon as the audit is finished the Region will get about \$24,000. This amount is not in the budget that was approved earlier in the meeting. This amount will result in a budget that is almost balanced. The report was received by a vote of the ExCom.

Lessons learned from SoutheastCon 2010—Conrad

The largest lesson was that most everything about SoutheastCon should be "cook book." One should use the same procedures every year.

Reports from R3 ExCom—Several members submitted written reports.

Director declared the ExCom in Executive Session to approve the 2010 Region 3 award winners.

Dev Palmer presented the following award nominees for consideration by the ExCom.

Dr. Ralph Fehr, Florida West Coast Section – Outstanding Engineering Educator Award for excellence in student mentoring and engineering curriculum development.

Dr. Christine Belcastro, Hampton Roads Section – Outstanding Engineer Award for outstanding technical leadership and contributions to Guidance, Navigation, and Control methods in support of Aviation Safety research.

Dr. Kalpathy Sundaram, Orlando Section – Outstanding Service Award for contributions and service to the IEEE Orlando Section.

The ExCom voted to accept the nominees listed above for the respective awards.

Having concluded the agenda, Director Stogner adjourned the meeting at 10:57 pm EDT.

Respectfully submitted.

Gregg Vaughn Secretary