Region 3 Awards and Recognitions Update

Susan (Kathy) Land, Region 3 Past Awards Chair

Region 3 held its annual Awards Ceremony at SoutheastCon in Charlotte, NC on April 1 as a joint event with IEEE USA. It was a great event where we celebrated the achievements of many individuals from both Region 3 and IEEE USA!

The Region 3 award winners are:

Joseph M. Biedenbach Outstanding Engineering Educator Award

Dr. John F. Naber for contributions to entrepreneurship in engineering education, and leadership in practitioner oriented academic teaching



Outstanding Engineer

J. Michael Liptak; for significant contributions to the electrotechnology profession with a long-term contribution to sustainability of the electric power industry



Outstanding Service

Dr. Stevo M. Bozinovski; for dedicated service to the IEEE Columbia Section and South Carolina Council and his numerous technical contributions to IEEE Societies, Conferences, and Journals benefiting IEEE Region 3 members.



Professional Leadership Award

Mark Allen Weiss; for authoring textbooks that have had a profound impact on generations of students, for invaluable service to the computer science community, and for efforts in educating.

Daniel W. Jackson Award

Lee Stogner; for sustained leadership and service across Region 3, MGA, and IEEE, and his continued support for IEEE membership development.



<u>Director's Choice Awards</u>

Mauricio Cano; for his innovative approach and effort for helping IEEE members gain recognition as Senior Members, and



Dr. J. Patrick Donohoe; for his years of effort and accomplishment as Region 3 Student Activities Chair.



Region 3 Senior Membership Development Awards

Strongest Performance; Eastern NC section



Most Improved; Atlanta Section



Region 3 James Beall SoutheastCon Recognition

Charles J. Lord, P.E.; In grateful appreciation of his dedication and service as General Chair of SoutheastCon 2017.



We recognized volunteers who have supported MOVE - the IEEE-USA and Region 3 Community Outreach Initiative. These individuals received a lapel pin.

MOVE Operations Roster 2016

Eric Ackerman	Alan Anzagira	Justin Baba	
Jim Conrad	Jay Diepenbrock	Dusty Fisher	
Tim Forrest	Paul Goodson	Jill Gostin	
David Green	Francis Grosz	Matt Horrer	
Walter Hyde	David lams	Steve Kemp	
Kathy Land	Larry Leise	Bill Lovegrove	
Chris McManes	John Montague	Derald Morgan	
Ken Pigg	Mary Ellen Randall	Bill Ratcliff	
Butch Shadwell	Kheng Swee Goh	Gregg Vaughn	
Grayson Randall			

MOVE Houston Training 2016

Allan Jacobs	Indra Mehta	Aasawari Pawar	
David Cook	Nicole Norwood	Jeffry Handal	
Joshua Handal	Brian Mikeska	Subbararae Eedruperganti	
Masood Bajwa	Nimisl Tamck	Bhairavi Pandya	
Ivan Giron	Hui Xie	Yuwli Ran	
Julian Warren	Hana Waren	Jesus Cove	
Anasiasiya Kopva	Alice Wang	Casey Wang	
Chris Sanderson	Keng Swee Goh	Myriam F Lopez	

MOVE New Orleans Training 2016

Anderson Sunda-Meya	Thomas E Slack, Jr.	Kenneth Pecquet
Natalie Faciabe	Marloes Booker	

MOVE Norfolk Training 2016

Norbert Agana	Jeanette Barott	Bill Bucklen	
Lindon Falconer	Don Hill	Allen Jones	
Jonathan Kanner	Mohammadmahdi Karimi	Ed Kirchner	
Paul Kuban	Hope Lynch	Frank Niedzwiedz	
Emmanuel Oleka	Claude Pitts	Charles Rubenstein	
Lee Stogner	Damwithwick		
	Wickramanoyakoz		

MOVE Disaster Deployments 2016

West VA Flood	Hurricane Matthew
---------------	-------------------

- Paul Goodson
- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall
- Butch Shadwell

Louisiana Flood

- James Conrad
- Tim Forrest
- Grayson Randall

Hurricane Hermine

- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall

- Jay Diepenbrock
- Tim Forrest
- Steve Kemp
- Grayson Randall

Tennessee Wildfires

- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall

MOVE Home Fire Campaign 2016

Rose Hill, NC

- Jay Diepenbrock
- Tim Forrest
- Ken Pigg

Fayetteville, NC

- Tim Forrest
- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall



MOVE STEM Deployments 2016

Forge in Cary, NC

- Alan Anzagira
- Jay Diepenbrock
- Tim Forrest
- Matt Horrer
- Larry Leise
- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall

Florida Schools

Butch Shadwell

Science Center in Vestal, NY

- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall

Bob Jones University in Greenville, SC

- James Conrad
- Bill Lovegrove

IEEE-USA STEM Committee in Cary, NC

- Grayson Randall
- Mary Ellen Randall

Winners of other IEEE awards were also recognized at the ceremony, including:

IEEE-USA George F. McClure Citation of Honor

Mary Ellen Randall "For long-term contributions to IEEE's professional aims in the U.S., including the IEEE-USA MOVE Community Outreach Initiative", and

Dr. Sherali Zeadally "For outstanding research and educational contributions to promote and strengthen cybersecurity awareness in the United States"

<u>IEEE USA Award for Distinguished Literary Contributions Furthering Public Understanding and</u> Advancement of the Engineering Profession

John Toon "For sustained journalistic efforts to expand the public understanding and the advancement of science and technology in the United States"

<u>IEEE Educational Activities Board Pre-University Educator Award</u>

Scottie Austin Wilson "for development and delivery of a pre-university, preparatory engineering curriculum and integration of STEM activities"

IEEE Technical Field Awards are awarded for contributions or leadership in specific fields of interest of the IEEE. The winner of the:

IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing

Russell Mersereau "For sustained technical contributions to multidimensional digital signal processing."

IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies

Miguel A. L. Nicolelis "For seminal contributions to brain-machine interfaces."

IEEE Undergraduate Teaching Award

Bonnie H. Ferri "For pioneering mobile hands-on learning and flipped classroom techniques for undergraduate engineering education.

Member and Geographic Activities Board Innovation Award

Mary Ellen Randall "For pioneering, championing, and developing the MOVE Community Outreach Program, a comprehensive IEEE program for member engagement providing disaster relief and STEM education."



IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation. These are the Region 3 members who were recently appointed to fellow:

Class of 2017, Region 3 Members Elevated to Fellow

Haesun Park	Jing Deng	David Luebke	
James Lambert	Fangxing Li	Jeffrey Vetter	
Alvin Lebeck	Huaiyu Dai	Laszlo Huber	
Wenye Wang	James fowler	Alice Smith	
Hulya Kirkici	Peter Hancock	John Pallato	
Anuj Srivastava	David Whalley	Edward Fox	
Jung-min Park	Richard Buehrer	Theresa Mayer	

As you can see, there are many opportunities for awards within IEEE. I will be stepping down as Region 3 Awards Chair. It has been my goal as Awards and Recognitions Chair to help all of you, our Region 3 members, nominate your colleagues for any of these prestigious awards. Kristin Bing will be the incoming chair and brings a wealth of experience in her role as Awards Chair for the Atlanta Section.

If you ever need assistance with a nomination, please feel free to contact Kristin at kristin.bing@ieee.org.

Upcoming IEEE Award Deadlines:

- MGA Outstanding Section Awards: 15 May 2017 https://mga-awards-section.fluidreview.com/
- IEEE Awards: Recognitions and Medals deadline 1 July 2017 http://www.ieee.org/about/awards/index.html
- IEEE USA Awards: deadline 31 July 2017 http://www.ieeeusa.org/volunteers/awards/index.html
- Member and Geographic Activities (MGA) Awards: deadlines in May and mid-October http://www.ieee.org/societies communities/geo activities/awards/index.html
- 2018 Region 3 Awards: deadline 1 December 2017 https://ieee-r3.myreviewroom.com