Design Tid-Bit

When designing cooling apertures in a shielded enclosure, we frequently must strike a balance between shielding performance for EMC and cooling performance for component functionality and reliability. When air-moving devices are used, they can be sped up to increase the airflow through an aperture, but at the cost of acoustical noise. For a typical fan and aperture, the noise level doubles with every 60% increase in fan speed. A good alternative in these cases is to make the aperture deeper so that the opening(s) can be wider. The deeper, wider aperture provides equivalent shielding performance as a thinner, narrower aperture, which helps the product achieve its EMC, thermal, and acoustical design goals.

—Sam Connor, IBM

Congratulations!

Announcing the New Senior Members of the IEEE EMC Society

Congratulations for your elevation to the grade of Senior Member of the IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society. The Senior Member grade constitutes a mark of recognition of your high professional standing and experience. Only 3%, approximately, of the entire IEEE membership hold the grade of Senior Members, and we are proud to have you joining this prestigious class.

Dale Campbell - Oregon Section Dengpeng Chen - Singapore Section Antonio Ciccomancini-Scogn - Boston Section Andrew Clegg - Northern Virginia Section Steve Deppen - Southeastern Michigan Section Joseph T. DiBene II - Seattle Section Joseph Diepenbrock - Eastern North Carolina Section J David Egner - Seattle Section Ezra Gershon - Long Island Section Francis Grenez - Benelux Section Johann Haldemann - Switzerland Section Keith Hardin - Lexington Section Alvin Ilarina - Poland Section Paul Kolodzy - Northern Virginia Section Anders Larsson - Sweden Section Kurt Lehman - Santa Clara Valley Section Derek Leung - Hong Kong Section Joe Lovetri - Winnipeg Section Kermit O. Phipps - East Tennessee Section Kenneth Renda - Santa Clara Valley Section B Sathish Rao - Bangalore Section Gary Simpson - U.K. & Rep of Ireland Section Rodney Slone - Santa Clara Valley Section Jianjian Song - Central Indiana Section Andrzej Sowa - Poland Section Igor Simone Stievano - Italy Section Chadwick Stryker - Oregon Section Brendan Williams - Queensland Section Patrick Tsz Ching Wong - Hong Kong Section Kevin Woolsey - Seattle Section Anthony Wraight - U.K. & Rep of Ireland Section Xin Wu - Central Texas Section

Note: The list shown is current as of press time and includes names of members elevated to Senior Member status since April 2008. If your name was inadvertently omitted from this list, please accept our apologies and contact Colin Brench, EMC Society Membership Coordinator, at colin. brench@ieee.org.

©2009 IEEE 73