Analog Signal Processing Technical Committee IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

Minutes of the annual meeting ISCAS'2002, Scottsdale, Arizona 27 May 2002

Members present (33):

Andreas Andreou, Peter Aronhime, David Binkley, Gert Cauwenbergs, R. Etienne-Cummings, Igor Filanovsky, Daniel Foty, Rob Fox, Randy Geiger, Julius Georgio, John Harris, Luis Hernandez, Timothy Horiuchi, Tor Sverre Lande, Felix Lustenberger, Ken Martin, Bradley A. Minch, Un-Ku Moon, P.R. Mukund, Gaetano Palumbo, Gordon Roberts, A. Rodriguez-Vazquez, Hanspeter Schmid, Wouter A. Serdijn, Tadashi Shibata, Jesper Steensgaard, Tuna B. Tarim, Gabor Temes, Chris Tomazou, Glenn Vandevoorde, Andre van Schaik, Apisak Worapishet, Orly Yadid-Pecht

Meeting time: 12:10 - 1:10pm

Actions:

1- Rob Fox, outgoing chair, called the meeting in order.

2- The minutes of the 2001 meeting were approved.

3- An attendance form was circulated. This information is posted on the ASPTC website (WWW) and also attached to this email. Attendance at committee meetings is used to determine eligibility for committee membership.

4- A summary of 2001-2002 activities, as submitted by committee members before the meeting, was presented. A detailed list of membership activities appears in the ASPTC annual report (WWW).

5- Report on ISCAS'2002 was presented by Analog Signal Processing track chair Gert Cauwenbergs. The analog track of ISCAS'2002 is the largest track with 375 papers. More than 900 reviews were completed for the analog track. It was mentioned that the primary activity of the ASPTC so far has been ISCAS reviews.

6- ISCAS'2003 review process was discussed: ASPTC will handle analog paper reviews for ISCAS'2003. Rob Fox, outgoing ASPTC chair, will be ISCAS'2003 ASP track chair.

7- Discussion on ISCAS paper reviews:

a) Review software was discussed. The software should remain the same for each year and should be decided by ASPTC. Advantage and drawbacks of this recommendation was discussed.

b) Tor Svere Lande's proposal of asking all authors (who submit a paper to ISCAS) to participate in the review system was discussed. According to this proposal, all authors who submit papers to ISCAS should be viewable in the review system database.

8- ISCAS'2003 forums, tutorial sessions, invited sessions were discussed:

a) Suggestions for ISCAS'2003 forum sessions will be send out by Rob Fox and Tuna B. Tarim. Proposals to make the forum sessions better were discussed.

b) ISCAS'2003 tutorial proposals should be sent to Andreas Andreou or Wouter Serdijn.

c) Invited sessions for ISCAS'2002 should be sent to Gert Cauwenberghs.

9- Expanding the ISCAS review committee was discussed. At the moment at ASP track paper reviews are handled by the outgoing ASPTC chair of the same year. It was proposed to include the past, current and future ASPTC chairs in the review committee.

10- IEEE-CAS distinguished lecturers (3 additional lecturers), associate editors were nominated.

Orly Yadid-Pecht nominated herself to the board of governors. This nomination was voted and passed during the meeting.

11- Need for author/reviewer guidelines was discussed. Igor Filanovsky, Andreas Andreou, Hanspeter Schmid, and Gabor Temes made comments on the guidelines. All review comments are related to the ASP track. A review guideline document will be prepared and placed in the ASPTC website, CAS magazine, and ISCAS website. Rob Fox to check on publishing these guidelines in the IEEE Circuits and Systems Magazine.

12- Discussion on "impact factor." It was pointed out that most ECE-type journals have impact factors of less than 1. It was mentioned that perhaps there is a journal or two that have impact factors greater than 1 but less than 2. On the other hand, some medical journals have impact factors as high as 18 - 20 or more. One author sent an email which mentioned that since his papers were being published in IEEE-CAS journals, his reputation went down, because the impact factor of the journal(s) if not very high. It is the opinion of ASPTC that the use of one number such as impact factor to attempt to describe the quality of a publication is unfair.

13- New members were nominated (*) (Binkley, Etienne-Cummings, Foty, Hernandez, Horiuchi, Palumbo, Vandevoorde, Worapishet). All nominations were accepted by ASPTC members.

* Vadim Ivanov was nominated to become an ASPTC member by Igor Filanovsky, after the ASPTC meeting. This nomination was circulated among ASPTC members via e-mail and was accepted.

14- Wouter Serdijn was elected vice chair. Hanspeter Schmid will continue to serve as web administrator and secretary. Tuna B. Tarim, outgoing vice chair took over as chair. Rob Fox, outgoing chair will serve as ASP track chair of ISCAS'2003.

14- The meeting was adjourned at 1:10pm.

Tuna B. Tarim Chair, ASPTC