Annual Meeting of the Analog Signal Processing Technical Committee of the IEEE Cicuits and Systems Society (ASPTC)

May 22, 2006 Kos, Greece

Meeting Chair: Un-Ku Moon

Attendees:

Gabriel A. Rincon-Mora

Andrea Baschirotto

Jorge Fernandes

Mohamad Sawan

Joseph Chang

Byunghoo Jung

Ramesh Harjani

Albert Wang

Tor S. Lande

Georges Gielen

P. R. Mukund

Julius Georgiou

Jin Liu

Hoi Lee

Felix Lustenberger

Tuna B. Tarim

Hanspeter Schmid

Sameer Sonkusale

Shanthi Pavan

Chris Toumazou

Ralph Etienne-Cummings

Shahriar Mirabbasi

Luis Hernandez

Alyssa Apsel

Randy Geiger

Igor Filanovsky

Gaetano Palumbo

Wouter A. Serdijn

Tony Chan Carusone

Vadim Ivanov

Andre van Schaik

Roman Genov

Orly Yadid-Pecht

Shu-Chuan Huang

Andreas Demosthenons

13:35 Meeting Welcome

The 2006 meeting agenda was confirmed as follows:

- Welcome
- Confirm 2006 meeting agenda & 2005 meeting minutes
- Approve 2005-2006 annual report
- Reaffirm ISCAS-2007 organization for ASP track
- Confirm chair-elect's transition to chair
- Approval of secretary's transition to chair-elect
- Nomination/approval of a new secretary/web-master
- Track/enforce membership requirements (3c meetings & 2c RCM)
 - Maintain ASPTC meeting attendance with meeting minutes
 - Maintain RCM list in Annual Report
- Nominations/approvals of new TC members
- ISCAS ASP special issue (Kluwer/Springer ASP?)
- Upcoming events/activities/planning
 - Graham Hellestrand (VP of Canada/USA CASS): 5-10 cheap (\$50-100) speakers
 - Majid Ahmadi (ISCAS-2007 tutorials organizer): solicit good tutorials
 - Nam Ling & Gianluca Setti (ISCAS-2007 TPCs): solicit good special (invited) sessions="emerging fields" preferred
 - Joos Vandewalle (VP of Tech. Activ.): more CAS types of papers for "Advances in Circuits Systems"; IEEE Expert Now (\$40K budget for two in CAS in 2006)
- Any other business, announcements, nominations/endorsements, etc.
 - "Multi-conference" to balance ISCAS as DAC moves to CEDA

The 2005 meeting minutes, as posted to the ASPTC website, were confirmed.

The 2005-2006 ASPTC annual report, as posted to the ASPTC website, was confirmed.

The ASPTC representatives to the 2006-2007 TPC were confirmed as follows:

- Un-Ku Moon (Past chair)
- Tony Chan Carusone (Chair)
- Felix Lustenberger (Chair-elect)

Tuna B. Tarim nominated Hanspeter Schmid for the position of Secretary & Web-master for the 2006-2007 ASPTC. He was confirmed without dissent. The intention is that Hanspeter will serve as chair-elect, chair, and then past-chair in the following three years.

Un-Ku Moon provided an update on the maintenance of the ASPTC membership list. The by-laws permit removal of a committee member who fails to attend the ASPTC annual meeting for three consecutive years and fail to participate as a review committee member (RCM) for two consecutive years. Unfortunately, accurate records of past ASPTC meeting attendance and RCM participation are not currently available.

Beginning with the 2006 meeting, meeting attendance will be documented in the minutes, and RCM participation will be recorded in the annual report, both of which are posted on the website.

The following new ASPTC members were confirmed by the committee, all without dissent:

- Shu-Chuan Huang (Tatung University, Taiwan)
- Jin Liu (University of Texas, Dallas)
- Roman Genov (University of Toronto)
- Jorge Fernandes (Instituto Superior Tecnico)
- Byonghoo Jung (Purdue University)
- Mohamad Sawan (Polytechnique, Montreal)
- Hoi Lee (University of Texas, Dallas)
- Sameer Sonkusale (Tufts University)
- Shanthi Pavan (Indian Institute of Technology, Madras)

Wouter A. Serdijn commented that the committee should strive for broad geographical representation in nominating new members.

The ASPTC approved a special issue of a Kluwer/Springer journal on the best analog signal procesing (ASP) papers from ISCAS 2006. Tuna B. Tarim and Tony Chan Carusone will pursue this, first to get approval from the publishers, and then to proceed as co-editors of the special issue. All ASPTC members will be asked to nominate at least one excellent paper from ISCAS 2006 (not their own) for the journal. These may include papers that appear in sessions from ISCAS tracks other than ASP, as long as they have a significant ASP content. Invited papers must not be submitted for publication elsewhere, and must posses at least 30% new content compared with the conference paper.

Wouter A. Serdijn commented that it is possible a new IEEE journal will provide special issues for the best papers appearing at future ISCAS conferences. All agreed it would be preferable to make use of an IEEE publication for this purpose.

Graham Hellestrand is seeking 5-10 volunteers to serve as special lecturers on ASP topics. Lecturers may be provided small honoraria (\$50-100) for their lectures, but will be required to travel at their own expense.

Majid Ahmadi is soliciting excellent tutorials proposals for 2007 ISCAS, especially in emerging areas.

Nam Ling & Gianluca Setti are soliciting proposals for excellent special (invited) sessions for ISCAS 2007. These generally target emerging fields in CAS.

Joos Vandewalle is seeking nominations of recently published papers in the area of circuits and systems for the "Advances in CAS" newsletter. Un-Ku Moon mentioned that nominations for two new "IEEE Expert Now" programs are also being considered.

Un-Ku Moon mentioned that there is an opportunity to edit an electronic volume of selected papers with links to full papers through IEEExplore.

A new annual "multi-conference" on CAS topics is being considered for late-fall – suggestions for possible ASPTC workshops are sought.

Also, members were encouraged participation in two relatively new conferences with strong overlap with the ASPTC communities: PRIME & BioCAS, as well as the long-standing MWSCAS conference.

14:20 Meeting adjourned