IEEE Power & Energy Society

Power System Dynamic Performance

Committee

 

Minutes and annual reports

Recent panel sessions

Committee publications

Committee awards

Benchmark Systems



 

Scope

Investigate various aspects of the dynamic performance of power systems at the level of a given machine, a company or area, or for the entire interconnected power system. This includes all aspects of power system stability, voltage and frequency regulation, and power system control that relate both to the assessment and enhancement of power system dynamic performance. This also includes control theory, modelling and computer simulation techniques that relate to the assessment and enhancement of power system dynamic performance. The committee is composed of numerous working groups (WGs) and task forces (TFs) that span its area of activity. These WGs and TFs report to two subcommittees under the committee: the Power System Stability Subcommittee and the Power System Stability Controls Subcommittee. The committee thus initiates and coordinates WGs, TFs, symposia, panel session and tutorials related to power system dynamic performance. The committee also cooperates with other interested groups in the development of standards that affect system dynamic performance, and where possible, with other groups on analytical models which affect system dynamic performance.

Subject Areas

(1)

Power system dynamic modeling: components and systems

(2)

Power system stability: phenomena, analysis, and techniques

(3)

Power system stability controls: design and applications

(4)

Monitoring and measurement of power system dynamic performance (including synchrophasor measurements)

(5)

Power system interaction with turbine generators

(6)

Power system dynamic performance of cyber-physical energy systems

(7)

Modeling and dynamic performance of microgrids and distributed energy systems

(8)

Power system restoration dynamics

(9)

Dynamic security assessment: techniques and applications, risk-based methods

(10)

Modeling and dynamic performance of renewable energy systems

(11)

Simulation of large interconnected power systems: modeling issues and solution schemes

(12)

Benchmark systems for power system dynamic analysis

History

The history of the Power System Dynamic Performance Committee

Record of activities conducted since 2008

 

Organization & Procedures

OP Manual

Committee Organizational Chart

 

Committee officers

Claudio Canizares, Chair

University of Waterloo

Waterloo, Canada

ccanizar@uwaterloo.ca

Costas Vournas, Vice-Chair

National Technical University

Athens, Greece

vournas@power.ece.ntua.gr

Leonardo Lima, Secretary

Kestrel Power

leo@kestrelpower.com

 

Immediate Past-Chair & Webmaster, PR/Marketing Representative

Pouyan Pourbeik, Past-Chair and Fellows WG Chair

PEACE-PLLC

pouyan@ieee.org

 

Rodrigo Ramos, Webmaster and PR/Marketing Representative

University of Sao Paulo

Sao Carlos, Brazil

rodrigo.ramos@ieee.org

 

Subcommittees

The IEEE PES Power System Dynamic Performance Committee has two subcommittees:

 

Working Groups and Technical Council Liaison

Awards and Recognition WG

Juan J. Sanchez-Gasca

Juan.sanchez@ps.ge.com

Technical Sessions Committee (TCPC - GM, T&D)

Udaya Annakkage

annakkag@ee.umanitoba.ca
Gregor Verbic

gregor.verbic@sydney.edu.au

Organization and Procedures Committee

Pouyan Pourbeik

pouyan@ieee.org

Fellows Advisory WG Chair (*)

Pouyan Pourbeik

pouyan@ieee.org

Wind and Solar

Pouyan Pourbeik

pouyan@ieee.org

Intelligent Grid Coordinating Committee

Claudio Cañizares

ccanizar@uwaterloo.ca

Nikos Hatziargyriou

nh@power.ece.ntua.gr

Glauco Taranto

tarang@coep.ufrj.br

 

(*) How to write an effective fellow nomination

 

Members on the Editorial Board of IEEE Transactions on Power Systems

Editor-in-Chief: Nikos Hatziargyriou (nh@power.ece.ntua.gr)

Editors:

Innocent Kamwa

kamwa@ireq.ca

Tony C. Y. Chung

c.y.chung@usask.ca

Federico Milano

federico.milano@ucd.ie

Venkataramana Ajjarapu

vajjarap@engr.iastate.edu

Aleksandar Stankovic

astankov@ece.tufts.edu

Mariesa Crow

crow@mst.edu

Arturo Roman Messina

aroman@gdl.cinvestav.mx

Glauco Nery Taranto

tarang@coep.ufrj.br

Zhenyu (Henry) Huang

zhenyu.huang@pnnl.gov


According to the Web Counter, you are visitor number since March 2012.

 

Last updated: March 23rd, 2017