Meeting notes for Working Group D3 Minneapolis

Chair: Hanna Abdallah

## Meeting May 20, 2015

- 1. Introduction of member and guests
- 2. IEEE Patent Slides were shown.
- 3. Hanna completed a brief introduction of the current standard.
- 4. Hanna discussed the previous assignments:
  - a. Fault Current reviewed Steve Brown fault current write up.
    - i. Hanna looked for volunteers to review. No takers Chuck will email file to Terri Hopkins and Revinal Dela Rosa.
  - b. Chuck discussed the ampacity tables and equations
  - c. Scott discussed the structural task force subcommittee and discussed the October 2012 presentation.
    - i. There was discussion in the value of using this standard as compared to using a finite element analysis.
    - Scott is stepping down Alex Kladiva has just volunteered to take over the structural team lead. Olivia Miller, Scott Taylor, Nate Roth, Paul Somboonyanon, and Dragana Hadziosmanovic will stay or join the team.
  - d. Olivia Miller provided an explanation on how to calculate expansion connections. Application of expansion joints. She's going to create an annex.
- 5. Motion was made by Tom Proios to remove tables 19, 20, and 21 and necessary references from the upcoming standard.
  - a. Don Rogers second.
  - b. The motion failed 7-7
  - c. It was suggested that this item be tabled and presented in Nashville on the value of the tables and/or the lack of value from tables 19, 20, and 21. Task was assigned to Tom Proios. We need to talk to Jean Bernard
- 6. Strain Bus Tom Proios is concerned that the loads are "exceptionally high" and is concerned that the equations are in question.
  - a. Maybe there isn't enough information. Tom is going to investigate.
  - b. This is going to be added to Alex Kadiva's task force. (Task Force #4).

## Chuck Haahr

## Attendance:

Chair	Hanna	Abdallah	HEA Engineering Consultant
Guest	Allee	Armstrong	Southwire Company
Guest	Ehsan	Azordegan	Kinectrics
Guest	Emily	Conner	Southwire Company
Guest	Brad	Connor	Xcel Energy

Guest	Austin	Farmer	SEFCOR, Inc.
Guest	David	Garrett	EGroup
Guest	Arthur	Graves	Ameren
Guest	Brett	Kenerly	Southwire
Guest	Benjamin	Loehr	Sega Inc.
Guest	Jonathan	McDonald	ABB
Guest	Susan	McNelly	Xcel Energy
Guest	Jeremy	McNutt	Tennessee Valley Authority
Guest	Olivialin	Miller	American Electric Power
Guest	Stephen	Rouleau	AFL
Guest	Jake	Standifer	Mesa Associates Inc.
Guest	Thomas	Thorsell	Sargent and Lundy
Guest	Matthew	Vacha	FirstEnergy Corp
Member	Radoslav	Barac	General Electric Company
Member	Dennis	DeCosta	Commonwealth Associates, Inc.
Member	Revinal	Dela Rosa	ABB
Member	Dragana	Hadziosmanovic	Xcel Energy
Member	Bob	hobbs	Global Product Manager
Member	Dave	Kelley	Salt River Project
Member	Alex	Kladiva	Burns & McDonnell
Member	Reginaldo	Maniego	Duke Energy
Member	William	Munn	Southern Company Services Transmission
Member	Shashikant	Patel	Public Service Electric and Gas Comp
Member	Thomas	Proios	Leidos Engineering, LLC
Member	Donald	Rogers	Bechtel
Member	Boris	Shvartsberg	Public Service Electric and Gas Comp
Member	Prapon	Somboonyanon	Burns & McDonnell
Member	Ryan	Stargel	Tennessee Valley Authority
Member	Brian	Story	Entergy
Member	Scott	Taylor	ABB
Secretary	Charles	Haahr	Power Grid Engineering