IEEE POWER & ENERGY SOCIETY / SUBSTATIONS COMMITTEE



2013 – 2014 Officers

CHAIR
Mike Dood
Schweitzer Engineering Labo

Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories 15350 W. National Avenue, Suite 205 New Berlin, WI 53151-5119 Phone: (509) 336-7133

Fax: (262) 789-8470 Email: mike_dood@selinc.com VICE-CHAIR

Markus Etter ABB Inc.

Power Products Division 3 Independence Way, Suite 206 Princeton, NJ 08540 Phone: (732) 932-6250

Fax: (732) 932-6272

Email: markus.etter@us.abb.com

SECRETARY

Diane Watkins Salt River Project EVS104

Phoenix, AZ 85072-2025 Phone: (602) 236-5288 Fax: (602) 236-6108

Email: diane.watkins@srpnet.com

Working Group E1 – 1127 "Guide for Community Acceptance"

Meeting Notes

Pittsburgh, PA

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

1. Introductions

Diane Watkins, working group chair, opened the meeting with introductions. There were six members present and ten guests. One guest requested membership.

- 2. Patent Slides
 - The IEEE patent slide policy was discussed.
- 3. Balloting status
 - a. During the MEC, it was brought to the working group's attention that we did not have copyright permissions from the owner of Table 2. Diane worked with Erin Spiewak to get IEEE's assistance in obtaining copyright permission. The permission was obtained by IEEE counsel.
 - b. The draft guide was submitted for ballot last week. The ballot invitation went out April 26, 2013.
- 4. Discuss strategy for balloting
 - a. Since ballot comments will need to be resolved without a face-to-face meeting, a Ballot Resolution Committee (BRC) was created. Members of the committee are Joe Gravelle, John Randolph, Bruce Dietzman, David Harris, and Mike Noori.
 - b. The BRC will propose a response to all comments on negative ballots and submit their proposal to the Chair. The Chair will then review the submittal and make any necessary comment with negative balloters. Then the Chair will submit the results to the Working Group voting members for approval.
 - c. A recirculation ballot may be required, depending on the results of the voting and the resolution required for the comments.

5. Tutorial

- a. The Working Group decided to prepare a tutorial for the 2014 Annual Substations Committee Meeting in Portland, Oregon on May 17-21, 2014.
- b. The tutorial is anticipated to be four hours. Presenters will prepare a draft of their section of the tutorial to discuss at the Nashville meeting in the fall.
- c. Tutorial assignments are as follows:



- i. Section 4 Site Selection Joe Gravelle
- ii. Section 5 Permits John Randolph
- iii. Section 6 Design Mike Noori and David Harris
- iv. Section 7 Construction Mike Noori and David Harris
- v. Section 8 Operations Diane
- 6. Guest input: Areas of interest mentioned by our guests to be discussed in the tutorial include light pollution, noise pollution, and options for addressing environmental considerations.

Action Items

Name	Item	Due Date
Joe Gravelle	Ballot Resolution Committee – Prepare WG group	June 15, 2013
John Randolph	response to all negative ballot questions and submit to	
Bruce Dietzman	Chair	
David Harris		
Mike Noori		
Joe Gravelle	Prepare outline/draft of tutorial for Section 4	Fall meeting
John Randolph	Prepare outline/draft of tutorial for Section 5	Fall meeting
Mike Noori &	Prepare outline/draft of tutorial for Section 6	Fall meeting
David Harris		
Mike Noori &	Prepare outline/draft of tutorial for Section 7	Fall meeting
David Harris		
Diane Watkins	Prepare outline/draft of tutorial for Section 8	Fall meeting

Attendance:

Guest	Don	Burkart	Duke Energy
Guest (member status requested)	Michael	Chavis	Duke Energy Progress
Member	W. Bruce	Dietzman	Oncor Electric Delivery Company
Guest	Brian	Farmer	PG&E
Guest	Alan	Gaetz	HDR Engineering, Inc.
Vice-Chair	Joseph	Gravelle	Xcel Energy
Member	David	Harris	SPX Transformer Solutions, Inc.
Guest	Thomas	LaRose	Salt River Project
Guest	Debra	Longtin	American Transmission Company (ATC)
Guest	Patrick	McShane	Cargill, Inc.
Guest	Donnie	Moreau	HDR Engineering, Inc.
Guest	Harsh	Naik	Oncor Electric Delivery Company
Member	Mike	Noori	Custom Engineering Solutions
Guest	Henry	Pinto	DigitalGrid, Inc.
Member	John	Randolph	PG&E
Chair	Diane	Watkins	Salt River Project

