IEEE PES Substations Committee Annual Awards Luncheon

May 21, 2012 Marriott City Center, Raleigh, NC



Agenda

- Welcome and Introductions
 - John Randolph Chair, PES Substations Committee
- Keynote Address
 - Caren B. Anders Vice President, Transmission
 Operations and Planning, Progress Energy Carolinas
- Presentation of Awards
 - John Randolph Chair, PES Substations Committee

Keynote Speaker

- Caren B. Anders
 - Vice President, Transmission Operations and Planning,
 Progress Energy Carolinas

Progress Energy Carolinas Substation Design

Recognition of Guest Speakers

- Anders Sjoelin
- Caren B. Anders
- Jim Hogan
- Marshall Bird
- Steve Turner

For contributions to the Substations Committee
Main Meeting and Awards Luncheon

Distinguished Individual Service

- Lane Garrett
 - Chair –E4

For his dedicated service as D0 Subcommittee Chair from 1996 to 1998 and as E4 (originally D4)
Working Group Chair from 1998 to present

Technical Committee Working Group Recognition and Standards Association Recognition

- George Becker
 - Chair K3

C37.122.2 – Guide for Application of Gas-Insulated Substations 1 to 52 kV

- George Becker, Chair
- Arun Arora
- Phil Bolin
- Peter Blohm
- John Brunke

- Ted Burse
- Jack Gustin
- Richard Jones
- Hermann Koch
- Shawn Lav

- Heinz-Willie Juelicher
- Jeff Nelson
- Ted Olsen
- Arno Wahle

Outstanding Working Group Member

Chuck Haahr

For his tremendous effort performing the Technical Editing and bringing his support to the balloting process of P998 – Guide for Direct Lightning Stroke Shielding of Substations and for his continuous effort managing the Substations Committee website

Host Committee

- Michael Chavis, Chair
- Ulf Andersson
- Michael Clements
- John Gajda
- Barbara Keith
- Kate Massey

- Don Russell, Initial Chair
- Scott Andries
- Tom Davey
- David Lin
- Jeff Phillips

Certificate of Appreciation to Working Group Chair

- Chris Horwill
 - Chair –I4TF2

For outstanding performance as Chair of the development of IEEE Guide for Static Var Compensator Field Tests IEEE Standard 1303-2011

Certificate of Appreciation to Working Group Chair

- Heinz Tyll
 - Chair –I4TF1



For outstanding performance as Chair of the development of IEEE Guide for Static Var Compensator Functional Specification

IEEE Standard 1031-2011

- Senior member, Heinz Karl Tyll, 64, passed away suddenly on February 16, 2012.
- Heinz graduated in 1968 in Electrical Engineering from Coburg Polytechnikum and received in 1974 the Diplom degree from the Technical University of Berlin.
- Heinz contributed to CIGRE Working Group 38 and various CIGRE TFs. He was a member of the High Voltage Stations Power Electronics Subcommittee of the Substations Committee. He chaired the development of the latest revision of IEEE Standard 1031 Guide for the Functional Specification of Transmission Static Var Compensators published last year. Heinz was also instrumental in setting up a number of tutorials. At the time of his death, Heinz was working on the next presentation of the tutorial on Static Var Compensators scheduled for July at the PES GM 2012 in San Diego.
- He is survived by his wife Erika, two children and one grandchild.

Certificate of Appreciation to Working Group K4

- Luke van der Zel
 - Chair

- Arun Arora
 - Vice-Chair

For his contribution in the successful balloting of Guise C37.122.3 – SF_6 Handling for HV Equipment

Certificate of Appreciation - Working Group E3

For successful balloting of revised IEEE Standard 979 "Guide for Substation Fire Protection" with substantial revisions

- Donald Delcourt, Chair
- Hanna Abdallah
- Radoslav Barac
- Thomas Barnes
- Matthew Bauer
- John Bettler
- Robert Brown
- Scott Bryant
- Joseph Cheung
- Randy Clelland
- Joe Conway
- Eugene Delfiacco
- Gary Engmann

- Brian Farmer
- Ajay Garg
- Raj Ghai
- Joseph Gravelle
- Charles Haahr
- David Harris
- Richard A. Jones
- Koji Kawakita
- Henry Khoo
- Tom Larose
- Debra Longtin
- Charles McShane
- Dan Morgan

- George Page
- Mark Poteet
- Ernest Price
- John Randolph
- Norman Rockwell
- Steve Rozinka
- Hamid Sharifnia
- Steven Shelton
- Boris Shvartsberg
- Darren Vogt
- Brian Wallace
- Diane Watkins
- Alexander Wong

Certificate of Appreciation - Working Group E4

For successful balloting of revised IEEE Guide 1246 "Temporary Protective Grounding Systems Used in Substations"

- Lane D. Garrett, Chair
- Hanna Abdallah
- Stan Arnot
- Phillip Atwater
- Thomas Barnes
- Bryan Beske
- Steven Brown
- K.S. Chan
- Koushik Chanda
- William Chisholm

- Eugene Dick
- Marcia Eblen
- Gary Engmann
- Steve Greenfield
- Martin Havelka
- Richard Keil
- Dave Kelley
- Fred Kouhdani
- Donald N. Laird
- Allen Love

- Andrew Meikle
- Jeffrey Merryman
- Robert Nowell
- Shashi Patel
- Samuel Perkins
- Christian Robles
- Will Sheh
- Curtis Stidham
- Brian Story
- Keith Wallace

Recognition of IEEE PES Fellow Grade Members

- Steven Boggs
- Phil Bolin
- John Brunke
- T. W. Cease
- William Chisholm
- D. Jack Christofersen
- Gary Engmann
- Narain Hingorani
- George Karady

- Hermann Koch
- Robert Lasseter
- H. Peter Lips
- Wayne Litzenberger
- J. A. Maneatis
- John McDonald
- Sakis Meliopoulos
- David Melvold

- Abdul Mousa
- Philip Nannery
- Mohammed Rashwan
- B. Don Russell
- Jake Sabath
- John Tengdin
- Duane Torgerson
- Gene Wolf