IEEE NZ Central Section 2017 AGM

Venue: Zibibbo Restaurant, 25 Taranaki St, Wellington 6011Date: Thursday 2 November, 2017Time: 6 pm

5:30 pm meet and drinks6:00 pm AGM6:45 pm meal (cost \$60 pp)

AGM Agenda:

- Welcome
- Chair's report
- Treasurer's interim report
- Election of officers for 2018
- Resolution on electronic voting
- Nominations for officers:
 - Secretary: Steven Le Moan
 - Treasurer: Yi Mei
 - o Membership Development: Abhipray Paturkar

Minutes of the NZ Central Section AGM

11 members and 2 guests were in attendance for the AGM, and all remained for the dinner.

Item	Discussion	Actions
1	Welcome (Donald Bailey)	
	The AGM started at 6:20 PM with a welcome to the AGM by	
	Donald Bailey	
2	Apologies	
	Apologies were noted for the following members:	
	Fernando Castellanos, Ramesh Rayudu, Gourab Sen Gupta,	
	Faraz Hassan, Kanwal Zaidi, Shan Jaffry, Arif Ahmed, Nurul	
	Sarkar	Moved: Donald
	Apologies were accepted:	Second: Murray
3	Matters arising	· ·
	Changing bank account signatory – to be covered in a	
	resolution after the election.	
4	Chair's report for 2017 (Donald Bailey)	
	Donald circulated to attendees his report that highlighted the	
	achievements and activities for the year.	
	Donald noted that as the events included in the report were	
	taken from the Section website, one need to notify both	
	Donald and Richard regarding any missing event.	
	Donald pointed out that the IEEE NZ Day event held on 3	
	October was missing in the report. This event had joint talks	
	from all three NZ Sections, with about 15 attendees in	
	Wellington, 20 in Christchurch, and 20 in Auckland.	
	Donald acknowledged Kanwal's work that had resulted in one	
	WIE support grant and two membership development	
	incentive grants.	Moved: Richard
	The Chair's report was accepted:	Second: Murray
5	Treasurer's interim report	
	Ramesh prepared an interim report to the end of September	
	2017. This is an expensive year due to significant expenses	
	from Section Congress in addition to the costs of other	
	activities.	
	The interim report was accepted subject to a final report being	Moved: Donald
	presented to the committee in early 2018:	Second: Mengjie
6	Election of Officers for 2018	
	The positions of Secretary and Treasurer become available	
	according to the Section's officer staggering plan. The position	
	of Membership Development is also available as Kanwal wants	
	to focus on WIE activities.	
	There is one nomination for each of these positions:	
	o Secretary: Steven Le Moan	
	o Treasurer: Yi Mei	
	o Membership Development: Abhipray Paturkar	
	All three nominations be elected to the new roles:	Moved: Donald
	Carried Unanimously	Second: Murray
7	Resolutions for 2018	
7.1	Student Membership Grants	
	Continue for a further year the current practise of making a	
	membership grant available to postgraduate students who are	
	involved in a committee role or present at the postgraduate	Moved: Donald
	event. Passed Unanimously	Second: Mengjie

7.2	Signatories Resolution	
	To add Yi Mei, the newly elected Treasurer, to the Signatories	
	of the Section's bank account. Committee to review during	
	2018.	
	Signatories for 2018 are agreed to be:	
	Donald Bailey (Chair)	
	Murray Milner (Committee)	
	Ramesh Rayudu (past Treasurer)	
	Add Yi Mei (Treasurer)	
	Change from Mansoor Shafi to Fernando Castellanos (Vice	
	Chair)	Moved: Donald
	Passed Unanimously	Second: Murray
7.3	Electronic Banking	
	Aim to achieve electronic banking with the current bank	
	(Westpac) or changing to another bank (Kiwibank) during 2018.	Moved: Murray
	Passed Unanimously	Second: Mengjie
7.4	Electronic Voting	
	Move to IEEE vTools electronic voting with the election results	
	reported and ratified at the AGM next year. Committee to sort	Moved: Donald
	out the details in early 2018. Passed Unanimously	Second: Steven
8	No other business was raised.	

Meeting closed at 6:42 pm.