IEEE Chicago/Rockford Consultants' Network IEEE Chicago/Rockford Consultants' Network Home Page

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Chicago/Rockford Consultants' Network.

Consultants In Private Practice Serving The Public.

A joint Affinity Group of the Chicago and Rock River Valley IEEE Sections.

To find the best Chicago/Rockford based technology consultants, click here: Link to local consultants data base.

For the best technology consultants, through out the United States click here: Link to national consultants data base.


NEXT REGULAR MEETING: 25 Sept. 2017 at the Palatine Library, 700 North Court, Palatine, IL 60067, from 6:45 pm through 8:15 pm Link to meeting location map.

PRESENTATION:"Designing PCBs for Success" by Roy Leventhal.

Roy will explain his involvement in changes made to the design of large server board PCBs at 3Com. The changes resulted in successfully going from 3.5 average design turns to 1.1 design turns for working copper. The changes discussed will include the injection of modeling and simulation of high speed digital circuits into the design process. As well, the management, team, and “lessons learned” issues will be discussed.

ABOUT THE SPEAKER: Roy Leventhal, now retired, had a 55 year career in high technology electronic design. He is a Life Member of IEEE. Roy earned his BS/MSEE at Illinois Institute of Technology. His career includes engineering experience in RF circuits, semiconductor physics and applications, failure analysis, reliability and quality, signal integrity and power integrity. Roy more recently extended his experience into analyzing EMI/EMC problems and Regulatory Qualification and Testing. Roy is principal author of Semiconductor Modeling - For Simulating Signal, Power and Electromagnetic Integrity, Springer 2006, ISBN: 978-0387-25870-6


Please meet us for an optional dinner before the meeting: 5:30 pm at Bakers Square on Northwest Highway, 2 blocks south of the library.

Do you know that networking is responsible for most professional jobs?  Do a friend a favor; invite him/her to a meeting.  There is no admission fee.  Don't forget to bring business cards for networking!  Attendees may earn 1 PDH.


Future regular scheduled meeting: for 2017: Nov. 27, Jan. 22 and for 2018: Mar. 26, May 21


The board would like your input and suggestions for meeting discussion topics for our 2017 and 2018 meetings. We credit presenters on the WEB.


Information on past meetings. (Contact the presenter if you would like more information or an unlisted copy of the presentation.)

On 24 July 2017 Jim Spangler, presented "Safety and Compliance Database inside the PSMA Website"

Jim Spangler


On 22 May 2017 Pete Kindinger, presented "A Case Study on WiFi Range Improvement--from Antennas to EMC to Embedded Software"

Pete Kindinger


On 27 March 2017 Rob Klein. presented "FPGA Development: A High Level Overview"

Bob Klein


On 23 Jan. 2017 Dr. Donald S. Zinger P.E. presented "Electromechanical Systems to Control Essential Tremor"

Donald Zinger P.E.


For information on 2016 presentations click here.
For information on 2015 presentations click here.
For information on 2014 presentations click here.
For information on past presentations click here.


The objective of the Network is:
* To foster and promote the interests of its members with respect to the business of providing professional and technical consulting services.
* To maintain, publish and distribute a directory of the members and the consulting services offered by each.
* To arrange for and provide technical and management talks, tutorials, and special seminars and workshops on subjects of interest to members professional development.
* To provide a networking forum for personal interaction through meetings, social functions and other events.
* To publicize the contribution to society by its members.
* To collect and distribute charitable funds on a voluntary basis, consistent with these objectives.

The Directors at their 2015 board meeting.

left to right: Robert Abrant, Roy Leventhal, Benjamin Miller, Michael Sullivan and Paul Johnson. photo by Joseph Auer


Directors, Elected by Board and Appointed by Board Positions:

Roy Leventhal, Chair
Joseph Auer, Vice-Chair
Mke Sullivan, Secretary
Robert Abrant P.E., Director-at-Large
Donald Zinger, Treasurer
Paul Johnson P.E., Program Committee Chair and Membership Committee Chair
Ben Miller P.E., Director-at-Large
Wesley Martin P.E., Venue Committee Chair
Richard F. Gillette P.E., Director Emeritus and Web Committee Chair
Gary Blank P.E., Director Emeritus

Members of this network consider ethics as an obligation and subscribe to the IEEE code of ethics available by this hyperlink.
IEEE prohibits discrimination, harassment and bullying.  For more information view IEEE's policy via this hyperlink.