NTW Logo (Black)

About IEEE

IEEE Membership

Products and Services


IEEE Organizations


IEEE Nav Bar




IEEE SCV Signal Processing Society Distinguished Lecture 2008

Date:  May 12, 2008

Title: Content-Adaptive Efficient Resource Allocation for Packet-Based Video Transmission

Speaker: Prof. Aggelos K. Katsaggelos, Department of EECS, Northwestern University


Abstract: Supporting video communication over lossy channels such as wireless networks and the Internet is a challenging task due to the stringent quality of service (QoS) required by video applications and the many channel impairments. Two important QoS characteristics for video are the degree of signal distortion and the transmission delay. Another important consideration is the cost associated with transmission, for example, the energy consumption in the wireless channel case and the cost for differentiated services in the Internet (with DiffServ) case.

In this presentation we consider the joint adaptation of the source coding parameters, such as the quantization step-size and prediction mode, along with the physical layer resources, such as the transmission rate and power. Our goal is to provide acceptable QoS while taking into account system constraints such as the energy utilization. We discuss a general framework that allows a number of "resource/distortion" optimal formulations for balancing the requirements of different applications. We conclude the presentation with some of the grand opportunities and challenges in designing and developing video communication systems.


Prof. Aggelos K. Katsaggelos received the Diploma degree in electrical and mechanical engineering from the Aristotelian University of Thessaloniki, Greece, in 1979 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees both in electrical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology, in 1981 and 1985, respectively. In 1985 he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Northwestern University, where he is currently professor. He is also the Director of the Motorola Center for Seamless Communications and a member of the Academic Affiliate Staff, Department of Medicine, at Evanston Hospital. Dr. Katsaggelos is a member of the Publication Board of the IEEE Proceedings, the IEEE Technical Committees on Visual Signal Processing and Communications, and Multimedia Signal Processing, the Editorial Board of Academic Press, Marcel Dekker: Signal Processing Series, Applied Signal Processing, and Computer Journal. He has served as editor-in-chief of the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine (1997-2002), a member of the Publication Boards of the IEEE Signal Processing Society, the IEEE TAB Magazine Committee, an Associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing (1990-1992), an area editor for the journal Graphical Models and Image Processing (1992-1995), a member of the Steering Committees of the IEEE Transactions on Image Processing (1992-1997) and the IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging (1990-1999), a member of the IEEE Technical Committee on Image and Multi-Dimensional Signal Processing (1992-1998), and a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (1999-2001). He is the editor of Digital Image Restoration (Springer-Verlag 1991), coauthor of Rate-Distortion Based Video Compression (Kluwer 1997), co-editor of Recovery Techniques for Image and Video Compression and Transmission, (Kluwer 1998), and co-author of Super-Resolution for Images and Video, (Morgan and Claypool, 2007), and co-author of Joint Source-Channel Video Transmission (Morgan and Claypool 2007). He was the holder of the Ameritech Chair of Information Technology (1997-2003), and he is the co-inventor of twelve international patents, a Fellow of the IEEE, and the recipient of the IEEE Third Millennium Medal (2000), the IEEE Signal Processing Society Meritorious Service Award (2001), an IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award (2001), an IEEE ICME Best Paper Award (2006), and an IEEE ICIP Paper Award (2007). He is a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Signal Processing Society for 2007-2008.

Back to main page