IEEE Newfoundland and Labrador Section Annual General Meeting Thursday, December 5, 2002

In Attendance (from the Section):

Dennis Peters, Doug Squires, Siu O'Young, Sheldon Andrews, Mike Janes, Brenda Coombes

Missing: Yves Fontaine, Kathleen Chafe, Eric Gill, Gerard Dunphy, Paul Thorburn

1. Call to Order (7:10 p.m.)

Dennis called the meeting to order and verified that at least 10 IEEE members were present and that a quorum of the Section Executive Committee existed.

The by-laws require that at least ten IEEE members are present including (i) the Chair or Vice-Chair, (ii) a minimum of one other elected officer, and (iii) a minimum of three other members of the Section Executive Committee.

Thirteen people were initially present and this grew to 15 as the meeting progressed. Everyone in attendance was an IEEE member.

2. Approval of Agenda

Mike motioned that the agenda be approved. Dr. Rahman seconded the motion. It was approved unanimously.

3. Student Activities Presentation

Sheldon outlined the various activities that the Student Branch has undertaken over the last year. The presentation was very well received and there were a number of questions that followed.

4. McNaughton Centre Tour

Upon completion of his presentation, Sheldon led a tour of the McNaughton Centre facilities. Those in attendance were genuinely impressed with the centre's capabilities.

5. Presentation – Dr. Mo El-Hawary, President IEEE Canada

Dr. El-Hawary gave a spirited presentation on the current organizational structure of IEEE as well as a review of the history of IEEE. Interest in the topic was high as was illustrated by the plethora of questions that followed.

6. Officers' Reports

Dennis Peters presented the Chair's report. Mike Janes presented the Vice-Chair's report. Dennis Peters presented the Secretary's report. Doug Squires presented the Treasurer's report. Brenda Coombes presented the Membership Development's report. Dennis Peters presented the Technical Activities' report. Dennis Peters presented the Awards and Scholarship's report. Sheldon Andrews presented the Students Activities' report as part of his earlier presentation.

7. Appointment of New Officer

Dennis thanked Doug for his service on the Executive over the past ten years and announced that Paul Thorburn would be the Treasurer for 2003.

Attendees gave a round of applause to Doug for his service.

8. Adjournment (9:20 p.m.)

As there was no additional business with which to deal, the meeting was adjourned. Attendees then indulged in the wine and cheese refreshments that awaited them in the adjoining room.