Final/Diploma Thesis Competition (Academic Years 2009 - 2011)
First reviewing round results announced

26 January 2012


The IEEE VTS & AESS Joint Greece Chapter appreciates and would like to congratulate all the contestants for their valuable participation in the IEEE VTS & AESS Joint Greece Chapter Final/Diploma Thesis Competition. The TPC realized that the quality of the submissions to the contest was exceptionally high and would like to include all the submissions to the final round. However, due to time limitations the TPC had to accept only 8 submissions. Therefore, the ones with the highest rates from peer reviewing will be presented on February 17th, 2012.

The 8 submissions with the highest rates are given below in alphabetical order:

Student Name Affiliation Thesis Title
Chaloulos Konstantinos National Technical University of Athens Fuzzy Power Control for Local Multipoint Distribution Service
Destounis Apostolos National Technical University of Athens Optimal Control of Multibeam Satellite Antennas for Satellite Communication Networks Operating in Ka Band (20-30GHz)
Kampianakis Eleftherios Technical University of Crete Custom Over The Air Programmable Embedded Radios
Kimionis John Technical University of Crete Design and Implementation of Backscatter Links with Software Defined Radio for Wireless Sensor Network Applications
Kokkinogenis Stefanos University of Western Macedonia Base station management for energy saving in mobile access networks
Kyriakopoulos Constantine Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Design, Implementation and Performance Evaluation of a Multiple-antenna Push System with Adaptation to User Demand
Polatoglou Marianna Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Adaptive push-based data broadcasting in asymmetric wireless environments with low computational complexity
Poulios Giorgos University of Piraeus Machine Learning Techniques for Cognitive Networks

The above authors have been informed by e-mails for the submission procedure of the final-phase of the competition.

The rest participants are given below in alphabetical order:

Student Name Affiliation Thesis Title
Anastasiadou Nikoletta Alexander Technological Educational Institute of Thessaloniki Digital TV Coverage Measurements Processing
Fuschelberger David Technological Educational Institute of Mesolonghi Implementation of a Visible Light Communication Transceiver Prototype
Karagiorgis Vasileios Alexander Technological Educational Institute of Thessaloniki Studying the impact of security mechanisms on the performance of the IEEE 802.15.4 wireless protocol
Makris Ioannis Hellenic Open University Development of a Distributed Management System for Urban Bus Mobile Network
Maximides Ronis Democrecian University of Thrace Design of an Embedded Mobile Phone Radiator for Simultaneous GSM Support and Digital Video Reception
Pachatouridis Konstantinos Alexander Technological Educational Institute of Thessaloniki Design and implementation of a real-time cooperative system for the estimation of traffic conditions on the road network using mobile phone devices with GPS enabled receivers
Papadakis Emmanouil University of Piraeus Study and Evaluation of Multiplexing Schemes in LTE-Advanced Networks
Papadopoulos Georgios Z. Alexander Technological Educational Institute of Thessaloniki On the Enhancement of IEEE 802.11 Overlapping APs Capacity Sharing
Seizis Christos University of Western Macedonia Wireless Indoor Networks Modeling with Applications to Modern Networks
Sianna Aikaterini University of Peloponnisos Antenna Characteristics Simulation and Experimental Study
Tsiachris Sotirios Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Junction-Based Geographic Routing Algorithm for Vehicular Ad-hoc Networks

We would also like to express our deep appreciation to the reviewers for their outstanding and timely contribution to the review process. The reviewers' list is given below in alphabetical order:

Antonis Dimitriou George Koutitas Panagiotis Sarigiannidis
Dimitrios Efstathiou Thomas Lagkas Aggeliki Sgora
Costas Hilas Aggeliki Moneda Dimitrios Stratogiannis
Melina Ioannidou Ioannis Papadimitriou Georgios Tsiropoulos
Athanassios Iossifides George Papadopoulos Vassilis Vitsas
Eirini Karapistoli Anastasios Politis Traianos Yioultsis
Georgios Koltsidas    

We will be very glad to meet you all in the awards ceremony on Friday 17th of February 2012 at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. For the details of the event you will be informed with a new announcement.