CPMT Society News....

Rao R. Tummala Receives 2011 IEEE Components, Packaging & Manufacturing Technology Award

he IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Award, sponsored by the IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society, recognizes meritorious contributions to the advancement of components, electronic packaging or manufacturing technologies.

The technical field for this award includes all aspects of device and systems packaging, including packaging of microelectronics, optoelectronics, RF/wireless and micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS), enhancement of technology, impact on the relevant technical community and the profession, benefit to society, and the quality of the nomination.

The 2011 Award was present to Dr. Rao R. Tummala at the 61st Electronic Components and Technology Conference, June 2011.



Rao R. Tummala

Georgia Institute of Technology, Packaging Research Center, Atlanta, Georgia, USA

For pioneering and innovative contributions to package integration research, cross-disciplinary education and globalization of electronic packaging

Rao R. Tummala is being recognized as the father of modern packaging innovations that have revolutionized microelectronics packaging. Dr. Tummala's pioneering inventions include the industry's first plasma display and the first ceramic and thin-film multichip packaging. He is regarded as the father of low-temperature, co-fired ceramic (LTCC) technology, an industry standard, and the father of the systems-on-package (SOP) concept as Moore's Law for system integration. His leadership made packaging an academic subject.

He was instrumental in the establishment of the first National Packaging Research Center in the United States for leading-edge research, cross-disciplinary education and global industry collaborations.

He authored the first reference, first undergraduate and first graduate textbooks that shaped the modern packaging landscape.

An IEEE Fellow, Dr. Tummala is an endowed chair professor and director of the 3D Systems Packaging Research Center at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta.

Dr. Tummala joins the following past recipients of this Award.

2010 - Herbert Reichl

"For contributions to the integration of reliability in electronics systems, and leadership in research and education in electronics packaging."

2009 - George G. Harman

"For achievements in wire bonding technologies."

2008 - Karl Puttlitz Sr. and Paul A. Totta

"For pioneering achievements in flip chip interconnection technology and for semiconductor devices and packages"

2007 - Dimitry Grabbe

"For contributions to the fields of electrical/electronic connector technology, and development of multi-layer printed wiring boards."

2006 - C. P. Wong

"For contributions in advanced polymeric materials science and processes for highly reliable electronic packages."

2005 – Yutaka Tsukada

"For pioneering contributions in micro-via technology for printed circuit boards, and for extending the feasibility of the direct flipchip attachment process."

2004 – John W. Balde

"For lifetime contributions to tantalum film technology and the introduction of new electronic packaging technology to development and manufacturing."

For additional information on this and other IEEE Technical Field Awards and Medals, to view complete lists of past recipients or to nominate a colleague or associate for IEEE Technical Field Awards and Medals, please visit http://www.ieee.org/awards.

More ... ====>>

Congratulations to 2011 CPMT Award Winners

he CPMT Society annually recognizes individuals for contributions to the profession through technical achievements, service to the industry and to the Society. The following individuals received their awards at the 61st Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC), June 2011.

The **Outstanding Sustained Technical Contribution Award** is given to recognize outstanding sustained and continuing contributions to the technology in fields encompassed by the CPMT Society. The 2011 recipient:



John Lau, Industrial Technology Research Institute, Singapore

For a decades-long record of developing and communicating packaging platform, material and process advancements through research and development leadership, publications and professional training.

The **Exceptional Technical Achievement Award** is given to recognize an individual, or group of individuals for exceptional technical achievement in the fields encompassed by the CPMT Society. The 2011 recipient:



Xuejun Fan, Lamar University, USA

For major contributions in the area of modeling and characterization of moisture-related reliability in IC packaging, including theoretical model development, validation, numerical implementation, test methodology development and design.

The **Electronics Manufacturing Technology Award** is given to recognize major contributions to Electronic Manufacturing Technology in fields encompassed by the CPMT Society. The 2011 recipient:



Mark Brillhart, Cisco, USA

For developing manufacturing technologies and industry supply chain capabilities in the areas of high performance ASIC packaging, system in package, 3D and wafer level packaging of high speed memory and optics, and advanced coreless organic substrates for high reliability networking products.

The **Outstanding Young Engineer Award** is given to recognize outstanding contributions to the fields encompassed by the CPMT Society through invention, technical development, publications, or new product implementation. The 2011 recipient:



Muhannad Bakir, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

For contributions to the advancement of 3D electrical, optical and thermal interconnect and packaging technologies, and to the professional and publication areas of the CPMT Society.

The Regional Contributions Award – Regions 1-7 and 9 (US, Canada and Latin America) is given to recognize significant and outstanding leadership and contributions to the growth and impact of CPMT programs and activities at the Region level. The 2011 recipient:



Paul Wesling, Santa Clara, CA, USA

For over 35 years of continuous service to the CPMT Santa Clara Valley Chapter in numerous leadership and advisory roles, with a focus on technical/educational program development and passion for communications, that helped the Chapter grow, thrive and become a model within the CPMT Society and the IEEE.

For information on how to submit a nomination for the 2012 CPMT Awards, please see the related article in this Newsletter or go to http://www.cpmt.org/awards

New IEEE CPMT Senior Members

The members listed below were recently elevated to the grade of Senior Member.

The grade of Senior Member is the highest for which application may be made and shall require experience reflecting professional maturity. For admission or transfer to the grade of Senior Member, a candidate shall be an engineer, scientist, educator, technical executive, or originator in IEEE designated fields for a total of 10 years and have demonstrated 5 years of significant performance.

Individuals may apply for Senior Member grade online at: www.ieee.org/web/membership/senior-members/index.html

Ali, Hassan Kao, C Mathuna, Cian Becker, Wiren Kim, Namhoon Mutnury, Bhyrav Dang, Bing Ma, Hongtao Shah, Amip