The 2008 IEEE International Symposium on **Electromagnetic Compatibility**

Dear EMC Society Members and Friends:

Thank you for joining us at the 2008 IEEE EMC Symposium in Detroit.

As you wind down from Detroit and review your photos of the event, please accept our thanks for being with us last week, and for helping to make EMC 2008 a successful event.

Many attendees at EMC 2008 stopped me to thank us for a great show. I know that I saw lots of smiles from our members, exhibitors and guests that suggest they all had a good time here in Detroit, and a successful show from all points of view. I also had quite a few people tell me that they were amazed at how much there is to see and do in Detroit, and wondered if we were planning to repeat a symposium in the Motor City in another few years. That decision is under consideration, but defiantly not out of the question. After the dust clears, and we see EMC 2008 in perspective, we will debate that possibility.

Meanwhile, at this point in time we do have some summary numbers to share:

 Registration 2014 attendees Exhibits 230 booths Tech Papers 143

Special Sessions

5 (20 papers)

 Other meetings 38!

 Technical Tour **GM Full Vehicle Chambers** Social Activities Reception / Gala / Awards Lun-

cheon - All successful and fun!

• Ham Radio Station Motor City Radio Club - A fine demonstration with lots of visitors

 Hotel Room Nights 3467

EMC 2008 was a great experience, and we will all have many happy memories and technical advancements as a result. But, do not relax too much, as it is now time to put the final touches on papers for EMC 2009, and begin to get ready to enjoy the wonderful hospitality we will see when our friends in Texas decide to throw a party!

See you in Austin in 2009!

Kimball Williams Chairman, 2008 IEEE EMC Symposium Kimball@emcsociety.org



The EMC 2008 Symposium Committee gathered for a group photo following the Awards Luncheon. Committee members included (front row from left) Amy Pinchuk, Breanne Scherbaty, Rob Kado, Trisha Taylor, Mary Lou Williams, Elaine Fanson (back row from left) Dr. M. Shridhar, Keith Frazier, Robert Neff, Scott Lytle, Poul Andersen, Vino Pathmanathan, Tom Jerse, Mark Ciechanowski, Phil Fanson, and Kimball Williams. Members not pictured included Mark Steffka, Sreeniwas Ranganathan, Candace Suriano, John Maas, Thomas Holmes, Bogdan Adamczyk, Rich Wiese, Scott Mee, Kin Moy and Andrew Shune.