EMC Annual Awards

EMC Society President Elya Joffe presented numerous awards at the Annual Awards Luncheon held during the 2009 IEEE International Symposium on EMC in Austin, Texas. He is shown below with some of the awards recipients. For a complete listing of the awards presented in Austin, please see pages 56-57.



Bruce Archambeault received the Richard R. Stoddart Award for Outstanding Performance for many accomplishments, including his contributions as a technical leader in the development, application, and validation of electromagnetic and numerical electromagnetic modeling for EMC product design and compliance.



William E. (Gene) Cory received the new Hall of Fame Award for significant contributions to the EMC Society as President (1974-1975), a Member of the Board for 21 years, Member of the Standards Committee, Director of Communication Services for six years, and Symposia/Conferences Chair for 12 years.



Frank Sabath received the Laurence G. Cumming Award for Outstanding Service and leadership as Chairman of the IEEE German EMC Chapter, service as Global and Regional Conference Coordinator, and contribution to the overall success of the IEEE EMC Society. His colleague, Ronald Rambousky, accepted the award on his behalf.



Dr. William A. Radasky received the Fellow Award for contributions to understanding high-power electromagnetic effects on electrical equipment.



Jun Fan received the Technical Achievement Award for significant contributions to the understanding of noise mechanisms and coupling paths in printed circuit board power distribution networks.



Dr. James Knighten received the Fellow Award for leadership in and contributions to the understanding of electromagnetic noise coupling paths for product compliance with regulatory standards.



Edwin Bronaugh received the new Hall of Fame Award for significant contributions to the EMC Society as President (1990-1991), Member of the Board for over 12 years, Member of the Standards Committee, Director of Technical Services, and Associate Editor of the EMC Newsletter.



Kevin Slattery received the Technical Achievement Award for significant contributions to the understanding of near-field measurements at the chip level for characterization of sources of EMI emissions and to the understanding of radio frequency interference effects on wireless devices.



Tzong-Lin Wu received the Technical Achievement Award for significant contributions to the design, development, modeling, and measurement of novel power integrity control techniques in advanced packages and printed circuit boards.



Rhonda Erickson, Barbara Staggs and Dale Stone (from left) received a Certificate of Recognition for their outstanding service as the EMC 2009 Arrangements Coordinator, Companion & Tour Program Chair, and Social Activities Coordinator, respectively.



(From left) M. Bäckström, R. Thottappillil, D. Månsson, and O. Lundén (not shown), received the Best Transactions Paper Award for their paper, "Vulnerability of European Rail Traffic Management System to Radiated Intentional EMI."



Antonio Orlandi (left) and Bruce Archambeault received the Best Symposium Paper Award for their paper, "Common Mode Filtering Performances of Planar EBG Structures". The paper was co-authored with F. De Paulis, L. Raimondo, and S. Connor (not shown).



Kimball Williams received the Honorary Life Member Award for a lifetime of outstanding local, national, and international service to the IEEE EMC Society.



Graham Kilshaw received a Certificate of Acknowledgement in recognition of his outstanding leadership and dedication in bringing to fruition the 125th IEEE Anniversary event at the Franklin Institute on May 21, 2009.



Bronwyn Brench received a Certificate of Recognition for outstanding service as the 2009 IEEE International Symposium on EMC Registration Coordinator and for her tireless assistance in editing, correcting and creating the Advance and Final Programs.



Siming Pan of the Missouri University of Science and Technology received the President's Memorial Award in memory of the late Fred Haber, a Founder of the EMC Society.



The steering committee for the 2009 IEEE International Symposium on EMC was recognized at the Awards Luncheon for their collective efforts in organizing a great symposium. Front row from left are Rich Worley, Tim Stevens, Steve Mullenix (partially hidden), Robert Flake, Colin Brench, Bruce Archambeault, Glen Watkins, Elya Joffe (partially hidden), Frans Stork, Mike Vrbanac, Bob Scully and John Maas. Other members of the committee (not shown) included Bronwyn Brench, Rhonda Erickson, Dale Stone, Barbara and Dave Staggs, Greg Jurrens, Amy Pinchuk, Gayla Burns, Philip Stolle, Jeff Pond, Patrick Webb, Ross Carlton, and Mark Prchlik.