Dr. O. A. Mohammed Florida International University 10555 West Flagler Street Room EAS-3983 Miami, Florida 33174

Dear Osama:

## Nomination of EMC Working Group Awards

As the Chairman of the Generator Subcommittee Awards and Recognition Working Group, I am pleased to notify you that the nomination for awards is being submitted to the EMC. First, let me thank all the members of the working group for their hard work in supporting this important subcommittee function. The nominations are as follows:

- **Prize Paper:** "Transpositions in Stator Bars of Large Turbogenerators," by Johann Haldemann, *IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion*, Vol. 19, No. 3, September 2004, pages 553-560.
- **Service Award:** Osama Mohammed for distinguished service as the Chairman of the Electric Machinery Committee during a period of major transition.
- **Prize Standard Working Group:** IEEE Std. 1110-2002, IEEE Guide for Synchronous Generator Modeling Practices and Applications in Power System Stability Analysis.

By copy of this letter, I am notifying the members of the Awards and Recognition Working Group that nominations are now open for the awards to be nominated in 2006 and that they can forward these nominations to me any time up to May 10, 2006. Again, I want to thank the working group members for their tireless efforts in searching out the best work products from the Synchronous Machinery Subcommittee for recognition.

Should you have any questions, do not hesitate to call me at (330) 482-9781.

Sincerely,

CC: MVKChari, WG Member VKGarg, WG Member BEBGott, WG Member IKerszenbaum, EMC Chairman TWNehl, WG Member AMEI-Serafi, WG Member OWasynczuk, Generator SC Chairman

N. E. Nilsson Generator SC Awards Chair Note to Osama Mohammed:

Send the Technical Committee Awards Nominations along with one copy of the Prize Paper (attached) to:

Cheri Warren IEEE PES Awards and Recognition Chair National Grid 1125 Broadway Albany, NY 12204

Send PES Working Group Award and PES Prize Paper Award along with electronic copies of the IEEE Std 1110 (e-mailed to you earlier) and the Prize Paper to Dr. Mohammad Shahidehpour at the following address:

Dr. Mohammad Shahidehpour ECE Department Illinois Institute of Technology 3301 S. Dearborn Street Chicago, IL 60616

Thanks:

N. E. Nilsson (330) 482-9781