Generator Subcommittee

Minutes of Meeting (DRAFT) Monday June 19, 2006 4-6 PM

Location - Montreal, Quebec

Officers attending 2006 Meeting:

Chairman: Oleg Wasynczuk Vice-Chairman: Bill Bartley Secretary: John Ready

1. Welcome and Introduction

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman. Meeting attendees briefly introduced themselves. (See list of meeting attendees at bottom.) Copies of the proposed 2006 agenda, all pre-submitted Working Group and liaison reports, and current membership list of the GSC were distributed. Attendees were asked to verify their listed information.

2	Approval of 2005 Minutes
Ζ.	Approval of 2005 Minutes

The 2005 meeting minutes were approved by vote.

3. Officer's Reports

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman gave brief reports. The Chairman's report will be posted on the GSC website.

4. Working Group Reports

Rik Nilsson gave his report on Working Group 1 (full report is posted on the GSC website). He thanked the members of the WG and noted that a Prize Paper award was given this year to Johann Haldemann (not present at the meeting), Osama Mohamed was a given service award (past Chairman of the EMC), and the WG for IEEE 1110 was given a Prize Standard Working Group award.

John Amos briefly presented an update on the efforts to harmonize the C50.13 standard with the IEC 60034 series standards (full report is posted on the GSC website). The WG2 recommends continued efforts toward harmonization and solicited input from users of both ANSI C50.13 and IEC 60034.

Bill Bartley gave a report on the WG for generator rewinds (full report is posted on the GSC website), and noted that the WG would be meeting the next day (June 20) at 4:00 pm in Room 513b.

Bill Bartley also gave a report on behalf of Jim Michalec (not present at meeting) for WG4 -Revision to ANSI C50.13 (full report is posted on the GSC website). Bill reported that the standard is complete and for sale by IEEE.

The Chairman, Oleg Wasynczuk, addressed WG5 activities, mentioning the need for someone to carry on. This will be raised under new business.

Swarn Kalsi was not present at the meeting, so Rik Nilsson (member of WG6) gave an impromptu report on the activities of WG6. The WG met on the previous Sunday. A Draft guide

was handed out. Work proceeds accordingly. (Full report is posted on the GSC website.)

Haran Karmaker (Chairman of WG7) gave a report on WG 7 (full report is posted on the GSC website). Haran noted that the WG is still targeting the end of the year for completion.

Oleg Wasynczuk read Geoff Klempner's (not present at the meeting) email concerning WG 8 (full report is posted on the GSC website).

5. Liaison Reports

Oleg talked about relying on website links more in lieu of, or to supplement, liaison activities.

Materials Subcommittee. The Materials Subcommittee did not meet in Montreal. An email report was submitted by Gary Hueston. This email report can be found on the GSC website.

The liaison to the Excitation Subcommittee - Murray Coultes, was not present at the meeting. One of the members of the Excitation Subcommittee stated that there was nothing to report from there.

Rik Nilsson reported on the Power System Relaying activities (full report is posted on the GSC website).

There is no identified liaison with the Hydro Power subcommittee. Oleg has had contact with the chairman of that subcommittee and proposed that the websites be linked.

It was reported that the Motors Subcommittee (MSC) meets the next day (June 20). The chairman is MA Rahman.

6. Standards Review and Status.

The EMC Standards Coordinator - Innocent Kamwa, provided his report. It was brought to light that draft standard 1415 was put together, but apparently not balloted. Innocent reported that the associated PAR expires this year. Members of that WG who were present at the meeting expressed surprise at this information. It was recalled that the Chairman of that WG was Larry Wall (of Southern Co. Services - not present at the meeting.) It was also clarified that with the committee restructuring, the subject standard is actually now under the purview of the Motors Subcommittee, not the GSC.

7. Old Business

Bill Bartley reminded the attendees that GSC members need to be registered in Manuscript Central. Bill will check and email those members who are not listed.

WGs finished or dormant were moved to be closed. This was seconded and approved.

For information, someone explained the Power Systems Conference scheduling. In odd years, it is a T&D conference. In even years, it is the Power Systems Conference. Due to hurricane Katrina, the T&D conference was moved to this year with the PSC. Will revert to alternate years subsequently.

Flyers were passed out concerning IEMDC 2007.

Oleg briefly discussed e-conferencing. PES General Meeting use of this technology has been met with hesitation. WG use is discretionary.

The Chairman asked if there was any other old business. No other old business was identified.

8. New Business

Creating New WGs: Bill Bartley asked for volunteers to extend WG for Stnd 492 - Guide for Operation and Maintenance of Hydrogenerators. The standard needs to be reaffirmed. Nick Stranges volunteered to contact Dan McClaren to see if he or anyone else is interested. Oleg also mentioned that there is a subcommittee of the Energy Development and Power Generation Committee who may be interested. There were no other new working group suggestions made.

Website update: The Chairman showed a hardcopy of the website (in handout). Requested input as to what other links would be useful.

Recruiting new members: Oleg Wasynczuk asked for ideas. It was suggested that an appropriate means be used (eg - a website) to actually solicit new members and also explain to them how to go about getting active. Others stressed the need to list hot topics to attract interested people.

The Chairman brought up the need to update the subcommittee manual, but deferred the discussion to general meeting of the EMC which is to occur on Wednesday, June 21.

9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:00 PM.

List of attendees:

- 1. Oleg Wasynczuk (Chairman)
- 2. Bill Bartley (Vice-Chairman)
- 3. John Ready (Secretary)
- 4. Mike Brimsek
- 5. Michel Rioual
- 6. Robert Rusch
- 7. Joe Hurley
- 8. Haran Karmaker
- 9. Rene Wamkeue
- 10. Joseph Law
- 11. John Amos
- 12. James DeHaan
- 13. Kiruba Sivasubramaniam
- 14. Innocent Kamwa
- 15. Arezki Merkuouf
- 16. N.E. Nilsson
- 17. Nick Stranges
- 18. Edward Owen
- 19. Reinhard Joho
- 20. Juri Jatskevech
- 21. Om Malik
- 22. Ahmed El-Serafi
- 23. Greg Snitchler