Michael Brinsek Minnesota Power 30 West Superior Street Diluth, MN 55802

Dear Mike:

Nomination of EMC Working Group Awards

As the Chairman of the Awards and Recognition Working Group, I am pleased to notify you that the nomination for awards is being submitted to the PES. First, let me thank all the members of the working group for their hard work in supporting this important EMC function. The nominations are as follows:

Prize Paper: "Condition Monitoring and Fault Diagnosis of Electric Motors – A Review, *IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion*, Vol. 20, No. 4, December 2005, pages 719-729.

Service Award: Isidor Kerszenbaum for distinguished service as the Chairman of the Electric Machinery Committee of the IEEE PES.

Prize Standard Working Group: IEEE Std. C50.13-2005, IEEE Standard for Cylindrical-Rotor 50 Hz and 60 Hz Synchronous Machines Rated 10 MVA and Above.

By copy of this letter, I am notifying the members of the Awards and Recognition Working Group that nominations are now open for the awards to be nominated in 2007 and that they can forward these nominations to me any time up to May 10, 2007. Again, I want to thank the working group members for their tireless efforts in searching out the best work products for recognition.

Should you have any questions, do not hesitate to call me at (330) 482-9781.

Sincerely,

CC: MVKChari, WG Member
VKGarg, WG Member
BEBGott, WG Member
IKerszenbaum, EMC Chairman
TWNehl, WG Member
JReady, Generator SC Secretary
AMEI-Serafi, WG Member
OWasynczuk, Generator SC Chairman

N. E. Nilsson Awards & Recognition Chair