Geoff Klempner Nuclear Safety Solutions 4th Floor 700 University Avenue Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5G 1X6

Dear Geoff:

Nomination of SMS Working Group Awards

As the Chairman of the SMS Awards and Recognition Working Group, I am pleased to notify you that the nomination for awards from the SMS is being submitted to the EMC. First, let me thank all the members of the working group for their hard work in supporting this important subcommittee function. The nominations are as follows:

Prize Paper: "A New Method for Synchronous Generator Core Quality Evaluation," by G. Kliman, S. Lee, M. Shah, M. Lusted and K Nair, *IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion*, Vol. 19, No. 3, September 2004, pages 576-582.

Service Award: Lon W. Montgomery for distinguished service to the PES as the Synchronous Machinery Subcommittee Chairman, participation in EMC working groups and service as an IEEE paper reviewer.

By copy of this letter, I am notifying the members of the Awards and Recognition Working Group that nominations are now open for the awards to be nominated in 2005 and that they can forward these nominations to me any time up to May 10, 2005. Again, I want to thank the working group members for their tireless efforts in searching out the best work products from the Synchronous Machinery Subcommittee for recognition.

Should you have any guestions, do not hesitate to call me at (330) 482-9781.

Sincerely,

CC: MVKChari, WG Member
VKGarg, WG Member
BEBGott, WG Member
IKerszenbaum, EMC Secretary
LMontgomery, SMS Chair
TWNehl, WG Member
AMEI-Serafi, WG Member
MShah, SMS Chair
OWasynczuk, SMS Vice-Chair

N. E. Nilsson SMS Awards WG Chair