

## IEEE POWER ENGINEERING SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR
Ted Burse
Powell Electrical Mfg. Co.
8550 Mosley Drive
Houston, TX 77075
713-948-4599
tburse@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corporation 170 Industry Drive Pittsburgh, PA 15275 412-787-6436 bill.long@ieee.org STANDARDS COORDINATOR Mike Wactor Powell Electrical Mfg. Co. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713-948-4599

mwactor@ieee.org

SECRETARY/TREAS Ken Edwards BPA TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666-0491

October 17, 2007

k.s.edwards@ieee.org

## SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Bill Long

ERP (EDUCATION, RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS) Mietek Glinkowski

ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919-856-3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

**HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS)** 

Rich York ABB Inc. 100 Distribution Circle Mount Pleasant, PA 15666 richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES)
John Leach

Hi-Tech Fuses Inc. 415 19<sup>th</sup> St Drive, SE Hickory, NC 28602 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)
Alexander Dixon

Alex Dixon Inc. 2 Hobart Court P.O. Box 357 Randallstown, MD 21133 410-922-0014 dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (LOW VOLTAGE SWITCHGEAR DEVICES)
Doug Edwards

Siemens Power T&D, Inc. P.O. Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626-0503 919- 365-2337 doug.edwards@ieee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT)

Steve Meiners General Electric 41 Woodford Avenue Plainfield, CT 06062

SAS (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)
Ted Olsen

Siemens Power PO Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626 T.olsen@ieee.org

PAST CHAIRMAN Jeff Nelson To: Switchgear Committee Chair

Re: ERP Subcommittee Meeting Minutes, Philadelphia, PA

- 1. 11 members attended the ERP Subcommittee meeting:
  - a. Steve Lambert (Fellows Nomination WG)
  - b. Jeff Nelson (Past Com Chair),
  - c. Ted Olsen (SA Subcommittee)
  - d. Bill Long (Vice Chair Swgr Com)
  - e. Rich York (HVCB Chair)
  - f. John Leach (HV Fuse Subcommittee)
  - g. Ted Burse (Swgr Com Chair)
  - h. Doug Edwards (LVSD Chair),
  - i. Alex Dixon (HV Switch Subcommittee),
  - j. Ken Edwards (Swgr Com Secretary/Treasurer)
  - k. Mietek Glinkowski (ERP Chair)
- Awards: possible nominations were discussed for the 7 awards due November 14<sup>th</sup>. 4 awards at PES level and 3 awards for Switchgear Committee level. Nominations were agreed for:
  - a. PES-WG Recognition award (Standard),
  - b. Switchgear Committee Distinguished Service award,
  - c. Switchgear Committee WG Recognition Award

Possible nominations for papers/technical reports awards will be reviewed by Jeff within the next several days (before the deadline) and sent to Mietek.

- 3. List of Honorary Members has been updated and new member added: John Wood. Mietek will send a notification e-mail to John.
- 4. Technical Council also has an award for an outstanding Technical Committee. However, the rules changed. Ted Burse will take what Jeff Nelson already prepared, adopt it to the new process that was introduced and submit the new Committee Annual Report to Prof. Ramakumar by Jan/Feb 2008.
- 5. There is one Fellows Nomination from the Switchgear Committee currently at works. We are waiting for the feedback (response) from IEEE.
- At the meeting in Philadelphia we had two technical presentations: Technical Luncheon- KEMA Global Power Testing, Main Technical Presentation on Thursday- Introduction to Substation Automation - IEC 61850.
- 7. Proposals for new technical presentations for future meetings:
  - a. Leslie Falkingham- Vacuum Interrupters for High Voltage Applications
  - b. Dave Stone- Common Clauses (C37.100.1) will be scheduled for Technical luncheon for Spring 2008 in Orlando.





## IEEE POWER ENGINEERING SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR
Ted Burse
Powell Electrical Mfg. Co.
8550 Mosley Drive
Houston, TX 77075
713-948-4599
tburse@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corporation 170 Industry Drive Pittsburgh, PA 15275 412-787-6436 bill.long@ieee.org STANDARDS COORDINATOR Mike Wactor Powell Electrical Mfg. Co. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713-948-4599 mwactor@ieee.org SECRETARY/TREAS Ken Edwards BPA TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666-0491

k.s.edwards@ieee.org

## **SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS**

ADSCOM Bill Long

ERP (EDUCATION, RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS)
Mietek Glinkowski
ABB Inc.

940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919-856-3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS)
Rich York

Rich York
ABB Inc.
100 Distribution Circle
Mount Pleasant, PA 15666
richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES)
John Leach

Hi-Tech Fuses Inc. 415 19<sup>th</sup> St Drive, SE Hickory, NC 28602 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)
Alexander Dixon

Alex Dixon Inc. 2 Hobart Court P.O. Box 357 Randallstown, MD 21133 410-922-0014 dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (Low Voltage Switchgear Devices)
Doug Edwards

Siemens Power T&D, Inc. P.O. Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626-0503

919- 365-2337 doug.edwards@ieee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT)

Steve Meiners
General Electric
41 Woodford Avenue

41 Woodford Avenue Plainfield, CT 06062

SAS (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)
Ted Olsen
Siemens Power

PO Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626 T.olsen@ieee.org

Past Chairman Jeff Nelson We are also considering new technologies/new subjects for future meetings like: Wireless Communication standards.

- Switchgear Committee Web site
  - We have now new section for Sponsors that can be used to solicid new and continue existing sponsorship to help us pay for Committee meetings.
  - b. Minutes of the Meeting (MoM) are still slow (late). Improvement/support is needed from WG and Subcommittee chairs.
  - c. Subcommittee Web pages now include a date at the bottom of the screen when it was last updated. Please check the date and verify if the content of the Web page is current.
- Under new business Bill Long mentioned that there are new materials available on the subject of "Power Engineering for Non-technical Professionals". This can be used to promote the power engineering profession. For further details contact Bill.

Submitted respectfully by Mietek Glinkowski.

