MINUTES FOR C37.30.4 Working Group

Galveston April 30, 2013

Greetings and Introductions

The working group met for two sessions in the afternoon on Tuesday 4/30/13. A roster is included at the end of this document. There were 8 members, 1 excused member and 15 guests in attendance.

Old Business

After a short introduction and greeting, the minutes of the F12 Meeting were reviewed and approved.

New Business

A section by section review of Std 1247 was completed to determine the content that should be included in C37.30.4. Additionally, the sections to be included were further reviewed for proposed modifications including consideration of the comments from the last ballot of Std 1247.

Assignments:

- Bill Hurst will prepare a draft document based upon the discussions and circulate prior to the next meeting.
- Pete Meyer will review Section 8.3.1 for comparison to IEC.
- Frank DeCesaro, Tom Stefanski and Pete Meyer will review Section 8.3.2.1 and 8.3.2.2 regarding Impedance Grounding of Source and overall comparison with IEC.
- Chris Borck will review TRV's for clarification similar to IEC.
- Bill Hurst will take the Unloaded Transformer Switching Tests recently developed for C37.74 as proposal for Section 8.3.2.5.
- Pete Meyer will review 8.5.3 for clarification of test specimen conditioning.

Working Group General Comments:

- Test requirements and references for Interrupter Switch products should be made in C37.30.3. The Test Code document C37.30.4 will only cover the tests included in the document, therefore, tests covered in other documents such as capacitor switching should be referenced in C37.30.3.
- There needs to be coordination of publishing various standards such as C37.100.1 and C37.100.2 so that all test code requirements are covered.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Bill Hurst C37.30.4 Working Group Chairman

C37.30.4 Working Group

Roster

April 30, 2013

First Name	Last Name	Organization	
Ganesh	Balasubramanian	Eaton	G
Chris	Borck	Eaton – Copper Power	G
Frank	DeCesaro	Eaton – Copper Power	M
John	Hall	TVA	G
Kenneth	Harless	Pascor Atlantic	M-Excused
Gary	Haynes	ABB	G
Danny	Hoss	Southern States	M
Jim	Houston	Southern Company	M
Bill	Hurst	Alstom Grid	M
Dan	Konkle	Siemens	M
Matthew	Lawrence	Doble	G
Gary	Martin	Entergy	G
Peter	Meyer	S&C Electric	M
Parvin	Molson	Shaw Group	G
David	Rhein	Teco Switch	G
Tom	Mulcahy	Dominion	G
David	McMullen	Southern Company	M
Frank	Muench	Eaton - Cooper Power	G
Alan	Peterson	Utiliserve	G
Syed	Rahman		G
Carl	Reigart	Hubbell Power	M
Erin	Spiewak	IEEE	G
Kyle	Stechschulte	AEP	G
Tom	Stefanski	Power Tech Labs	G