IEEE Power & Energy Society Switchgear Committee C37.20.7 Working Group Report 10-October-2017

The working group met on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 8:00 AM.

Agenda:

The agenda was previously distributed. Agenda accepted without objection.

<u>Patents:</u> Those registered at the Switchgear Committee meeting in Portland, ME were required to acknowledge the IEEE-SA rules on Patents, and therefore, review in this meeting is not required. Nevertheless, the chair reminded participants that anti-competitive issues are never allowed for discussions. The chair also requested the attendees to advise if they are aware of any essential patent claims pertinent to this standard and no respondents identified essential patents.

General:

The PAR for this project was approved by the IEEE-SA Standards Board on November 9, 2011, and is valid until December 31, 2017.

Members introduced themselves, identified their company and their affiliation. Total attendance was 48 persons. Attendance included 18 working group members (of 30, with 7 absent and 5 excused, plus 30 guests. Attendance is as shown below:

Attendance of working group members was recorded by roll call, to establish that a quorum was present. A quorum was present.

Members / Affiliation	Members / Affiliation	Guests / Affiliation	Guests / Affiliation
P. Barnhart (P) – UL	D. Mazumdar (P) - AZZ	H. Bannick (P) – KEMA	B. Lau (P) - Hoffman
J. Baskin (A) - Federal Pacific	D. Mohla (E) – DCM Electrical	D. Beseda (P) – S&C	P. Leufkens (P) – Power
R. Boyce (P) – Eaton	Consulting	S. Chouhan (P) – Crown	Projects Leufkens
J. Bowen (E) - Aramco	A. Morse (P) – Siemens	Technical Systems	J. McClelland (P) - Technibus
E. Byron (E) - Schneider	D. Moser (P) - ABB	R. Cohn (P) – Powercon	T. Neighbors (P) – ABB
D. Edwards (P) - Siemens	T. Olsen (P) - Siemens	K. Darko (P) – S&C	O. Parks (P) - ABB
M. Flack (A) – Southern	M. Orosz (P) - Schneider	D. Dunne (P) - Schneider	M. Peterson (P) – Xcel Energy
Nuclear	A. Patel (A) - GE	D. Elliott (P) – ABB	S. Reddy (P) - Powell
K. Flowers (P) - Siemens	C. Schneider (P) - Schneider	T. Esco (P) - Eaton	T. Rohrer (P) - Exiscan
D. Gohil (P) – AZZ	T. Suave (A) - Rockwell	P. Gingrich (P) – AZZ	R. Rohr (P) – Powell
T. Hawkins (P) - Siemens	P. Sullivan (E) - DuPont	R. Hartzel (P) – Eaton	J. Ruebensam (P) – S&C
A. Jur (A) – Eaton	C. Tailor (P) - Eaton	J. Harley (P) – First Power LLC	K. Sippel (P) - Eaton
C. Kennedy (A) - Schneider	M. Valdes (E) - GE	J. Hines (P) - Eaton	J. Torres (P) - Eaton
M. Lafond (P) - GE	M. Wactor (P) – Powell	D. Hrncir (P) – Eaton	B. Venne (P) – Rockewell
D. Lemmerman (P) –	R. Warren (P) – DNV GL	M. Hussey (P) - Eaton	E. Wilkie (P) – Eaton
Exelon/PECO	KEMA	W. Jung (P) – Siemens	A. Xiao (P) – 3M
F. Mayle (A) - Technibus	T. Woodyard (P) – Siemens		

The minutes from the Spring 2017 meeting were approved (motion by A. Morse, second M. Lafond).

The modified PAR was approved by the IEEE-SA Standards Board on 22-September-2016. The PAR is valid through December, 2017.

Chair Comments and review of ballot results:

The recirculation ballot for draft 17 opened 08-August- 2017 and closed on 18-August-2017. Ballot results are as follows:

Ballot open date 08-Aug-2017 Ballot close date 18-Aug-2017 Type Revision

Draft number	17
Ballots received	3
Vote changes	2
Comments	9
Must be satisfied comments	7

Response rate

This ballot has me the 75% returned ballot requirement

- eligible people in this ballot group
 total negative votes with comments
 negative votes with new comments
 negative votes without comments
- 3 abstention votes (lack of expertise: 1, other: 2)

Approval rate

The 75% affirmation requirement is being met.

96 affirmative votes

6 negative votes with comments

votes = 94% affirmative

On the recirculation ballot, there were a total of 9 comments. The comment resolution spreadsheet was reviewed.

- · One comment indicated that the draft meets IEEE-SA editorial requirements
- One comment requested format corrections, which will be made automatically by IEEE-SA editorial staff during preparation for publishing.
- Seven comments were dispositioned as out-of-scope, being resubmittals of comments submitted on previous ballots, and addressed in previous ballots.

The working group voted to concur with these dispositions. Motion, P. Barnhart, second, C. Schneider. Passed unanimously.

All participants voted to concur with these dispositions. Motion, A. Morse, second, M. Lafond. Passed unanimously.

The working group voted to send the document to RevCom for consideration. Motion, M. Lafond, second, A. Morse. Passed unanimously.

All participants voted to send the document to RevCom for consideration. Motion, C. Schneider, second, M. Lafond. Passed unanimously.

On this basis, the document will be submitted for consideration by RevCom following this meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 8:45 AM.

Report submitted by:

M. Wactor, WG Chair