Minutes of High Voltage Switches Subcommittee Meeting Burlington, Vermont 1 May 2019

Greetings and Introductions

The Subcommittee meeting was called to order at 1:30 PM on 1 May, 2019. See the roster included at the end of this document and the published Fall 2018 IEEE/PES Switchgear Committee Meeting schedule. 11 of 18 Voting Members, 0 Corresponding Members and 8 Guests were present. One member was an excused absence. All present introduced themselves.

WG PC37.30.1 - IEEE Standard Requirements for AC High-Voltage Air Switches Rated Above 1000 V

- Carl Reigart, the Working Group Chair reported
- The meetings were held on April 29, and 30, 2019. See the published minutes from the meeting
- The standard balloted with 77% approval
- A Comment Resolution Group was formed to address comments

Motor Operator Study Group

- Jim Houston, the Study Group Vice Chair reported.
- The meeting was held on 30 April 2019.
- The PAR was developed. An editorial change was made to the title. The PAR will be submitted, and a working group will be formed for the Fall 2019 meeting in San Diego

New Business

- Bill Hurst was voted HVS Subcommittee Chair starting in 2020.
- Phillipe Corriveau and John Kaminski agreed to the HVS representatives on the T&I Subcommittee.
- Subcommittee agreed to submit it work on splitting Std 1247 into C37.30.3 and C37.30.4 the PES General Meeting Poster Session.
- A motion was made and passed to create a Study Group determine the need and if technical resources are available for creating a PAR for HVDC switches.
- Jim Houston reported on the C37.100.1 Ad hoc meeting. It was decided to create a study group to determine the need for a PAR

Next Meeting

The chairman announced that the next HVS Subcommittee meeting will be held 9 October 2019 in San Diego, CA.

Respectfully submitted, James Houston HVS Subcommittee Chair

Phone: 205.257.4069 jehousto@southernco.com

HVS Subcommittee Kansas City MO

Minutes of High Voltage Switches Subcommittee Meeting Burlington, Vermont 1 May 2019

Meeting Roster

Devki	Sharma	Entergy	Member
Frank	DeCesaro	Eaton's Power Systems Division	Member
Danny	Hoss	Southern States	Member
Carl	Reigart	CDR Technical Services, LLC	Member
Bill	Hurst	GE	Member
Joseph	Usner	American Electric Power (AEP)	Guest
Laura	Reid	Hubbell Power	Member
David	McMullen	Georgia Power Company	Member
John	Hall	Tennessee Valley Authority	Member
Peter	Kowalik	Cleaveland/Price Inc.	Member
John	Kaminski	Siemens	Member
Ken	Edwards		Guest
Jeramie	Cooper	Eaton	Guest
Brett	Boles	Southern Co.	Member
Francois	Trichon	Schneider Electric	Member
Timothy	Cook	Pascor Atlantic	Member
John	Harley	First Power Group	Guest
Michael	Shook	Hubbell Power	Guest
Jeremy	Moore	Pascor Atlantic	Guest
Chris	Hastreiter	Eaton	Guest
Joseph	Jasinski	ITC Holdings Corp	Guest