### **Meeting Minutes**

### Task Force – Standard for HVDC Circuit Breakers

Chair: Joanne Hu

Secretary: Steven Chen

Time: 4:15 pm – 5:30 pm, October 8, 2019

Location: San Diego, CA
Participants: 24 participants

### 1. Introduction

Welcome, introduction and roster circulation were made. The roster can be found in attachment 1.

IEEE Patent Policy was reviewed. No patent claims were identified.

### 2. Approval of Minutes of Previous meeting

This was the first meeting. There were no previous meeting minutes to approve.

### 3. Chair's Remarks

Chair, Joanne Hu, gave a general information on the status in the development of HVDC power system around the world: the HVDC power transmission projects, especially the multiple cases in China, the technology readiness of design and building DC circuit breakers, CIGRE researches and the IEC activities in standards development for HVDC switchgear. Chair explained the necessity for this Task Force to investigate the need of developing IEEE standard document for HVDC circuit breakers.

# 4. Agenda and Topics

Agenda and topics discussed can be found in attachment 2.

#### 5. Action items

- A proposal is to be drafted, reviewed and commented by the TF members before the next Switchgear Committee Meeting in Spring 2020.
- 2) A PAR is to be developed and submitted before the next Switchgear Committee Meeting in Spring 2020.

# 6. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held between May 4<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup>, 2020 at Peppermill Resort, Reno, NV.

# Attachment 1 - Roster

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation	Role	<b>Attendance</b>
Bannink	Herman	KEMA Netherlands	Guest	٧
Cary	Steve	Eaton Corporation	Member	٧
Chen	Steven	Eaton Corporation	Secretary	٧
Christian	Michael	ABB	Guest	٧
Cosby	Bianca	San Diego Gas & Electric	Guest	٧
Gao	Chong	GEIRI	Member	Excused
Ghassemi	Mona	Virginia Tech	Member	
Heinrich	Christian	Siemens AG	Member	٧
Hensberger	Jeremy	Mitsubishi Electric Power Products	Guest	٧
Hermosillo	Victor	GE Grid Solutions	Member	٧
Hu	Joanne	RBJ Engineering	Chair	٧
Liu	Hua Ying	Southern California Edison	Member	٧
Mehraeen	Shahab	Louisiana State University	Member	٧
Shen	John	Illinois Institute of Technology	Member	٧
Yuan	Shao	Huazhong University of S&T	Member	Excused
Zhang	Sheng	GEIRI	Member	Excused

### Attachment 2 - Agenda



