Meeting Minutes

P2880 Standard for HVDC Circuit Breakers

Chair: Joanne Hu

Vice Chair: Steven Chen
Time: 9:00 am – 11:00 am, May 4, 2020 US ET

Location: Online

Participants: 30 participants

1. Introduction

Welcome and introduction by Joanne Hu, Chair of this WG. The roster can be found in the attachment 2.

IEEE Patent Policy was reviewed. No patent claims were identified.

2. Approval of Minutes of Previous meeting

This was the first WG meeting. There were no previous meeting minutes to approve.

3. Chair's Remarks

Chair, Joanne Hu, Conducted this meeting. Chair's remarks are summarized as,

- This meeting was a preparation meeting to start a new project on developing an IEEE Standard for High Voltage Direct Current Circuit Breakers Above 3200 Vdc by officially forming a Working Group within PES Switchgear Committee.
- This project is a continued effort following the work done by the Task Force (TF) –
 Investigation on the Need of HVDC Circuit Breaker Standard, from the last Fall Meeting
 in San Diego, CA.
- The TF effort, as following the action items proposed at the last Fall Meeting in San Diego, resulted in the generation of the Project Proposal and the Project Authorization Request (PAR), which has been submitted to IEEE SA for review and approval. NesCom has reviewed the PAR and recommended approval to the Standards Association Standards Board. The PAR is expected to be approved soon (Mid-May) by Standards Association Standards Board (SASB).
- The PAR was introduced: project number, working group ID, project title, type of document to be complete, scope of the standard, and the planned completion date. The project is to be completed by December 2024

- Information was provided on related IEEE/IEC/Cigre standard documents and technical reports that are both existing and currently being worked on.
- The outline and format of the preliminary draft of the standard document were briefly reviewed.
- Calling for volunteers, chapter leaders and contributors, to start drafting the document

4. Agenda and Topics

- Welcome and introduction name and affiliation of participants
- o IEEE-SA policy in conducting meeting
- Project status
- Purpose of this meeting
- Standard development landscape
- Task assignments
- Next actions / schedule

5. Action items

- Membership and volunteers (document chapter leaders and contributors) to be confirmed by May 15. (Refer to attachment 2)
- > Task allocation/assignment & schedule to be distributed by May 29.
- > Preliminary document draft 0.x prepared for WG review/comment due September 18
- Next meeting to be held between October 5th and 8th, 2020.

6. Next Meeting

Between October 5th and 8th, 2020. Location/Format to be determined.

Attachment 1 - Roster

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation	Role	Attendance
Balasubramar	nian Ganes	h Eaton Corporation	Guest	
Bannink	Herman	KEMA Netherlands	Guest	
Boyce	Russell	Eaton Corporation	Member	
Cary	Steve	Eaton Corporation	Member	
Caverly	David	Trench Ltd.	Guest	V
Chen	Steven	Eaton Corporation	Vice Chair	V
Chhabra	Mohit	S&C Electric	Guest	V
Christian	Michael	ABB	Guest	V
Cosby	Bianca	San Diego Gas & Electric	Guest	
Di Michele	Federico	CESI	Member	V
Gao	Chong	GEIRI	Member	
Ghassemi	Mona	Virginia Tech	Member	
Heinrich	Christian	Siemens AG	Member	
Hensberger	Jeremy	Mitsubishi Electric Power Products	Guest	V
Hermosillo	Victor	GE Grid Solutions	Member	٧
Hu	Joanne	RBJ Engineering	Chair	٧
Hurst	Bill	GE Renewable Energy	Guest	٧
Jagadeesan	Bharat	Southern States, LLC	Member	
Kaminski	John	Siemens	Guest	٧
Leufkens	Paul	Power Projects Leufkens	Member	٧
Li	Wangpei	Eaton Corporation	Guest	٧
Ling	Jane	GE Renewable Energy	Member	
Liu	Hua Ying	Southern California Edison	Guest	٧
Lopez	Leo	WIKA Instruments	Guest	٧
Marshall	Vincent	Southern Company	Guest	٧
Marx	Benjamin	Sargent & Lundy	Guest	٧
Mehraeen	Shahab	Louisiana State University	Member	
Palazzo	Mirko	ABB	Guest	V
Pellerito	Thomas	DTE Energy	Guest	٧
Peterson	Andrew	ABB	Guest	
Phan	Lise	Pacific Gas and Electric Company	Member	
Polchinski	Craig	Mitsubishi Electric Power Products	Guest	٧
Riffe	Dave	Westinghouse Electric Company	Guest	

Ricciuti	Anthony	Eaton Corporation	Guest	٧
Schuetz	Carl	American Transmission Company	Member	٧
Shen	John	Illinois Institute of Technology	Member	٧
Stage	James	Dominion Energy	Member	٧
Wang	Pei		Member	٧
Ward	Jeff	Doble Engineering Company	Member	٧
Webb	John	ABB	Member	٧
Weisker	Jan	Siemens AG	Guest	٧
Woodyard	Terry	Siemens Industry	Guest	
Yu	Li	Eaton Corporation	Member	٧
Yuan	Shao	Huazhong University of S&T	Member	
Zhang	Sheng	GEIRI	Member	
Zhang	Wei	Hitachi T&D Solutions, Inc	Member	٧
Zhu	Xi	GE Renewable Energy	Member	٧

There are 14 members and 16 guests registered at this meeting.