Minutes LVSD Subcommittee On-Line Meeting May 6, 2020 3:45pm – 5:30pm CDT

1. Approval of Meeting Agenda

The agenda was approved as amended by acclamation.

Motion: D. Moser, 2nd: M. LaFond

2. Introduction of members and guests

There were 18 members and 8 guests. Quorum was achieved.

3. Approve Past Meeting Minutes

The minutes were approved by acclamation with no amendments.

Motion: M. LaFond, 2nd: T. Burse

4. Working / Task Force Group Status Reports / Document Status Updates

a. C37.13: *K. Flowers*

The process of moving the type/design test requirements from C37.50 into C37.13 is proceeding slowly with an agreement having been recently reached with NEMA on the subject of copyrights. NEMA technical council approved the transfer some time ago. It was noted that other standards will need to be updated to reference C37.13 instead of C37.50 once the transfer is complete and both documents are re-published.

b. C37.17: J. Mizener

The WG met on Monday morning and reviewed Draft 3 which had been circulated to the group and which had received 6 comments. The comments could all be addressed and be resolved harmoniously. Additional comments during the meeting resulted in some new and revised definitions. Consensus was found on the subject of software updates and trip unit health indication.

c. C37.26: D. Hrncir

Former WG Chair Ted Olsen is now an honorary member and this standard will need a new leader. It was noted that this standard is mostly mathematics and unlikely to change. It will need a re-affirmation and template update. Lou Grahor volunteered to Chair this revision.

d. C37.14 & C37.27: D. Hrncir

These two standards will be addressed in the fall in Ft. Worth.

5. Old Business D. Hrncir

a. IEEE-SA Patent Policy: The IEEE-SA patent policy is reviewed and acknowledged during online registration. The patents materials are available at here.

6. New Business D. Hrncir

a. IEEE 1547 Series (formerly C84.1) – overvoltage limits Not all groups addressed by the letter from the switchgear committee responded favorably with respect to overvoltage limits up to 130% of nominal. All negative comments on 1547.X were rejected during balloting. However, the 1547 committees have indicated willingness to have a discussion on how to reconcile the concerns voiced by the negative balloters. Volunteers will form the group to work with 1547. Kevin Sippel & Clint Carne volunteered; other volunteers would be welcomed. It was noted that T&I Subcommittee was looking into the subject of operational overvoltage as well.

b. LVSD New Members: None this meeting D. Hrncir

K. Flowers

Minutes LVSD Subcommittee On-Line Meeting May 6, 2020 3:45pm – 5:30pm CDT

- **c.** Procedure for Meeting Rooms WG Chairs, advise LVSD Subcommittee Chair concerning WG meeting room requirements (preferred schedule, number of participants, and A/V needs). Provide details no later than June 6, 2020.
- D. Hrncir

d. ADSCOM/Main Committee Meeting Items: None this meeting

- D. Hrncir
- **e.** Working Group Minutes Working group chairs should have their minutes emailed to Jeff Mizener preferably by June 6, 2020, for publishing on the website. Email address: jeff.mizener@ieee.org
- D. Hrncir

f. Upcoming Meetings:

- D. Hrncir
- Fall 2020: Sheraton Sundance Square, Fort Worth, TX October 4 8
- Spring 2021: Hilton Charlotte University Place, Charlotte, NC April 18-23
- Fall 2021: Peppermill Resort, Reno, NV, October 10-14, 2021

7. Adjourn D. Hrncir

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 CDT

Minutes LVSD Subcommittee On-Line Meeting May 6, 2020 3:45pm – 5:30pm CDT

Attendance

<u>Role</u>	Name (last, First)	Company
Member	Dunne, David	Schneider Electric
Chair	Hrncir, Dan	Eaton
Member	Barnhart, Paul	Underwriters Laboratories
Member	Burse, Ted	Powell Industries, Inc
Member	Carne, Clint	Schneider Electric
Member	Delfino, Daniel	General Electric
Member	Edwards, Doug	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Member	Flowers, Keith	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Member	Gohil, Sahadev	AZZ Switchgear Systems
Member	Grahor, Lou	Eaton Corporation
Member	Hawkins, Tom	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Member	Lafond, Michael	ABB
Member	Mizener, Jeff	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Member	Moser, Darryl	ABB
Member	Rohr, Richard	Powell Electrical Systems
Member	Sigmon, Dean	Eaton Corporation
Member	Sippel, Kevin	Eaton Electric
Member	Sullivan, Paul	DuPont
Guest	Harley, John	FirstPower Group LLC
Guest	Kennedy, Chad	Schneider Electric
Guest	Lagree, James	Eaton
Guest	Parks, Owen	ABB
Guest	Rakus, Paul	Eaton
Guest	Roberson, Mark	AZZ/Calvert
Guest	Zia, Danish	UL LLC
Guest	Ashley, Moran	IEEE Standards Association