## **Meeting Minutes**

#### **P2880 Standard for HVDC Circuit Breakers**

Chair: Joanne Hu Secretary: Steven Chen

Time: 9:00 am – 10:45 am, October 5, 2020 US ET

Location: Online

Participants: 32 participants, including 18 members and 14 guests

## 1. Agenda and Topics

o Introduction of members and guests

- IEEE SA patent policy review
- o IEEE SA copyright policy review
- Approval of minutes of previous meeting
- o Preliminary draft review and discussion
- Call for volunteers

#### 2. Introduction

Welcome and introduction by Joanne Hu, Chair of the WG. The roster is attached in the end of this meeting minutes as Attachment 1.

### 3. Review of IEEE SA Patent and Copyright Policies

IEEE SA Patent and copyright policies were presented and reviewed.

Two patents were informed by Professor Dragan Jovcic and are recorded for this meeting. Following-up process will be made to obtain the Letter of Assurance form the patents' holder(s).

No copyright claims were identified.

## 4. Approval of Minutes of Previous meeting

Approval of Meeting Minutes of The Last Meeting Held Online on May 4, 2020

The meeting minutes was sent to all members and guests via e-mail and was posted on the IEEE PES Switchgear Committee website.

There were no comments received.

Motion for approval: Paul Leufkens; second by Victor Hermosillo.

#### 5. Chair's Remarks

Chair, Joanne Hu, Conducted the meeting. Chair's remarks are summarized as,

- The PAR was approved on May 19, 2020, after the last Spring Meeting.
- Since the approval of the PAR, the Chair has led a small group of the members to start
  laying out the framework of the standard document and populating its main content.
  Since this is a completely new document and there is no precedent version existed, the
  strategy of starting the project is to create a preliminary draft first in a relative short
  time period to lay out a foundation for more members to contribute to it later on based
  on a common ground with following a predefined rules.
- The preliminary draft has not been completed by this time, though it has grown to an about sixty-page document. The preliminary draft is expected to be completed by next meeting and plan to be distributed to the members for comments before next meeting.
- After next meeting, more contributors will be needed and expected to work on the document from the preliminary draft and accumulated comments.

### 6. Preliminary Draft Review and Discussion

A brief review and discussion on the preliminary draft was conducted, through chapters of Introduction, Normative References, Definitions, Tests, and their subclauses. Comments from the members and guests were recorded. See Attachment 2 for contents.

### 7. Adjourn

# Attachment 1 - Roster

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation	Role	Attendance
Balasubramar	nian Ganes	h Eaton Corporation	Guest	
Bannink	Herman	KEMA Netherlands	Guest	
Bisewski	Bruno		Member	٧
Bosma	Anne	Hitachi ABB, Sweden	Guest	٧
Boyce	Russell	Eaton Corporation	Member	
Cary	Steve	Eaton Corporation	Member	
Caverly	David	Trench Ltd.	Guest	٧
Chen	Steven	Eaton Corporation	Secretary	٧
Chhabra	Mohit	S&C Electric	Guest	
Christian	Michael	ABB	Guest	
Cosby	Bianca	San Diego Gas & Electric	Guest	
Di Michele	Federico	CESI	Member	٧
Edwards	Doug	Siemens, Wendell, NC	Guest	٧
Gao	Chong	GEIRI	Member	٧
Ghassemi	Mona	Virginia Tech	Member	
Heinrich	Christian	Siemens AG	Member	٧
Hensberger	Jeremy	Mitsubishi Electric Power Products	Guest	
Hermosillo	Victor	GE Grid Solutions	Member	٧
Hu	Joanne	RBJ Engineering	Chair	٧
Hurst	Bill	GE Renewable Energy	Guest	٧
Jagadeesan	Bharat	Southern States, LLC	Member	
Jovcic	Dragan	University of Aberdeen, UK	Member	٧
Kaminski	John	Siemens	Guest	٧
Leufkens	Paul	Power Projects Leufkens	Member	٧
Li	Wangpei	Eaton Corporation	Guest	٧
Ling	Jane	GE Renewable Energy	Member	
Liu	Hua Ying	Southern California Edison	Guest	
Lopez	Leo	WIKA Instruments	Guest	٧
Marshall	Vincent	Southern Company	Guest	٧
Marx	Benjamin	Sargent & Lundy	Guest	٧
Mehraeen	Shahab	Louisiana State University	Member	
Palazzo	Mirko	ABB	Guest	
Pellerito	Thomas	DTE Energy	Guest	
Peterson	Andrew	ABB	Guest	

Phan	Lise	Pacific Gas and Electric Company	Member	
Polchinski	Craig	Mitsubishi Electric Power Products	Guest	٧
Riffe	Dave	Westinghouse Electric Company	Guest	
Ricciuti	Anthony	Eaton Corporation	Guest	
Schuetz	Carl	American Transmission Company	Member	٧
Shen	John	Illinois Institute of Technology	Member	٧
Stage	James	Dominion Energy	Member	٧
Swing	Donnie		Guest	٧
Wang	Pei		Member	٧
Ward	Jeff	Doble Engineering Company	Member	٧
Webb	John	ABB	Member	٧
Weisker	Jan	Siemens AG	Guest	
Woodyard	Terry	Siemens Industry	Guest	
Yu	Li	Eaton Corporation	Member	٧
Yuan	Zhao	Huazhong University of S&T	Member	٧
Zhang	Sheng	GEIRI	Member	٧
Zhang	Wei	Hitachi T&D Solutions, Inc	Member	٧
Zhou	Xin	Eaton	Guest	٧
Zhu	Xi	GE Renewable Energy	Member	٧