Minutes of WG PC37.11 Revision of Standard for Electrical Control of Circuit Breakers Tuesday April 20, 2021 14:30 – 16:15 EDT Via Microsoft TEAMS meeting

I. Welcome and Introductions

John Webb – Chair, Tony Ricciuti – Secretary
43 individuals present, introduced with name and affiliation.
20 out of 28 Members present and 23 guests – a quorum was present.

II. Mandatory meeting precursors

IEEE Patent slides were reviewed, and a call made for any individuals with knowledge of essential patents to make them known. There were none.

IEEE Copyright Policy slides were shown.

III. Previous Minutes

Minutes from 15 April meeting had been circulated by email. Motion to approve from Curtis Frazier, Seconded by Todd Irwin. Passed by unanimous consent.

IV. Review of Comments from Initial Ballot of Draft 1.4 of PC37.11:

Discussed proposal to move some sections to C37.04. A suggestion was made to make a task force independent of resolution of comments.

Discussed 50ms trip actuator time as a valid signal to exclude electrical noise from nuisance trips. Since hard data was not available justify a specific change, the decision was agreed upon to not change the requirement.

Discussed Note to not disconnect or make inoperative control schemes with seal-in circuits. While agreed this could be potentially dangerous, other changes to control schemes could also be dangerous, and highlighting this one could indicate that others are not. A more general statement was discussed to be normative rather than informational. Further discussion noting that this note likely reflects an earlier statement that some circuit breakers do not need a seal-in circuit and therefore the note should be moved into normative text with the intended referenced statement.

Additional Task Forces to be set up:

- C37.04 transfer of requirements: Mike Crawford, Bill Long, Ted Burse, Jen Hunter, John Webb
- Disposition of Editorial Comments: John Webb, Carl Schuetz

V. Next Meeting:

Next meeting to be scheduled in a few weeks to continue comment resolution.

The meeting was motioned for adjournment by Mike Crawford, seconded by Andy Keels and formally adjourned at 16:01 EDT.

VI. Attachments:

(1) Membership and Attendance list

John C. Webb Chair

Tony Ricciuti Secretary

Role	First Name	Last Name	4/30/2019	10/8/2019	5/5/2020	3/30/2021	4/15/2021	4/20/2021
Chair	John	Webb	X	X	X	X	X	X
Secretary	Anthony	Ricciuti	X	X	X	٨	X	X
Member	Arben	Bufi	X	^	X		^	^
Member	Ted	Burse	X	Х	Λ	Х	Х	
Member	Eldridge	Byron		X	Χ	^	X	
Member	Michael	Crawford	Х	X	Х		,	Х
Member	Patrick	Di Lillo	X	X	^		Χ	X
Member	Kenneth	Edwards	X	X	Χ			,
Member	Doug	Edwards	X	^	Λ	Χ	Χ	Х
Member	Sergio	Flores	X	Х	Χ	X	X	X
Member	Raymond	Frazier	X	X	X	^	Λ	X
Member	Jennifer	Hunter	X	^	Х	Х		X
Member	Todd	Irwin	X	Χ	X	X	Χ	X
Member	Christopher	Jarnigan	X	X	X	X	X	X
Member	Thomas	Keels		X	Λ	^	Х	X
Member	Benjamin	Marx	Х	X	Х		Λ	Λ
Member	Steven	May	X	^	X	Х	Χ	Χ
Member	Neil	McCord	χ	Х	Х	Λ.	Λ	Λ
Member	Stephanie	Montoya	Х	^	Λ			
Member	Andrew	Peterson	X	Х	Χ	Х	Χ	Х
Member	John	Phouminh	X	X	X	X	X	X
Member	Bobby	Rich	X	Λ	Λ	Λ	Λ	Λ
Member	Leonel	Santos	X	Х	Χ			Х
Member	Carl	Schneider	X	X	Λ	Х		X
Member	Carl	Schuetz	X	X	Χ	Λ		X
Member	Devki	Sharma	X	Λ.	Λ	Х		X
Member	Don	Steigerwalt	X	Х	Χ	X	Χ	X
Member	Wei	Zhang	X	X	X	X		X
Guest	Roy	Ayers		^	X	^		X
Guest	Herman	Bannink	Х		, ,			,,
Guest	Paul	Barnhart	X		Χ	Χ	Χ	
Guest	John	Billings	,			,		Х
Guest	Stephen	Cary		Х				^
Guest	Mohit	Chhabra	Х	,,				
Guest	Lucas	Collette	X		Χ	Х		
Guest	Bernie	Dwyer	X	Х		,		
Guest	Emily	Eftink	X	,,				
Guest	Tanner	Esco	,	Х				Х
Guest	Howard	Fennell		X				
Cucsi	Howard	Territeri		Α				

Guest	John	Hall		Χ	Χ		Χ	Χ
Guest	Victor	Hermosillo			Χ	Χ		Χ
Guest	Neil	Hutchins						Χ
Guest	Joseph	Jasinski	Χ			Χ		Χ
Guest	Carl	Kurinko		Χ				
Guest	Scott	Lanning	Χ					
Guest	Hua Ying	Liu		Χ		Χ	Χ	
Guest	Russell	Long				Χ	Χ	Χ
Guest	Leo	Lopez						Χ
Guest	Vincent	Marshall	Χ					
Guest	Douglas	Mason	Χ					
Guest	Ashley	Moran						Χ
Guest	Jeffrey	Nelson					Χ	
Guest	James	Niemira				Χ		
Guest	Joe	Nims			Χ			
Guest	Miklos	Orosz		Χ				
Guest	Mary	Owens		Χ				
Guest	Thomas	Pellerito	Χ	Χ				Χ
Guest	Mark	Peterson	Χ			Х	Χ	
Guest	Craig	Polchinski						Χ
Guest	Jeffery	Ricker		Χ		Χ	Χ	Χ
Guest	Dave	Riffe	Χ	Χ				
Guest	Grant	Ringham			Χ			Χ
Guest	Brian	Roberts		Χ				
Guest	Sushil	Shinde		Χ	Χ			
Guest	Matthew	Siena						Χ
Guest	Dean	Sigmon		Χ		Χ	Χ	Χ
Guest	Michael	Skidmore		Χ				Χ
Guest	Francois	Trichon	Χ					Χ
Guest	Jim	van de Ligt					Χ	Χ
Guest	Jeffrey	Ward						Χ
Guest	William	Weishuhn	Χ			Χ	Χ	
Guest	Jan	Weisker			Χ			
Guest	Jerry	Wen		Χ				
Guest	James	Wenzel						Χ
Guest	Torsten	Wirz		Χ				
Guest	Joseph	Wisnewski			Χ		Χ	
Guest	Terrance	Woodyard						Χ
Guest	Richard	York			Χ			
Guest	Li	Yu			Χ	Χ		Χ
Guest	Jim	Zhong	Χ					
			_			A++ 0 0 0	doore	12

Attendees: 43
Members: 20
Guests: 23