## PC37.17 Working Group Minutes IEEE STANDARD FOR TRIP SYSTEMS FOR LOW-VOLTAGE (1000 V AND BELOW) AC AND GENERAL PURPOSE (1500 V AND BELOW) DC POWER CIRCUIT BREAKERS JEFF MIZENER, CHAIRMAN

CLINT CARNE, VICE-CHAIRMAN

Meeting Date:11 April, 2022Meeting Time:8:00AM-9:45AM, ESTLocation:Signia by Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek, Orlando, Florida

#### A. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 8:00AM EST.

# **B.** Instructions for Chairs of Standards Development Activities and IEEE SA Copyright Policy

The slides for "<u>INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHAIRS OF STANDARDS DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITES</u>" and "<u>IEEE SA COPYRIGHT POLICY</u>" were shown to the working group. These slides can be downloaded from the links.

#### C. Introductions

Self-introduction with affiliations was made by attendees. 13 of 16 members present and 12 guests were present. Quorum threshold was met.

#### D. Approval of agenda

The agenda was approved by Mike Lafond  $(1^{st})$  and Dan Hrncir  $(2^{nd})$ . There were no Nay votes.

#### E. Approval of the minutes from the previous meeting

The minutes from the last meeting were approved by Dan Hrncir  $(1^{st})$  and Dean Sigmon  $(2^{nd})$ . There were no Nay votes.

#### F. Working group P&Ps

All in attendance were referred to the Switchgear Committee P&P link in the case of procedural questions. http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/O-and-P/PES\_WG\_PP-Switchgear--approved-(2013-09-19).pdf

#### **G.** Document status report

- Balloted document: PC37.17\_D07.0\_2022.01.27, Closed on 2022-03-03.
- Current document: PC37.17\_D07.1\_2022.03.16\_commented

#### H. New business

- Reviewed, discussed, and resolved all comments received from the ballot.
- The following topics were identified to be considered in a future revision
  - Preferred 1200A frame rating
  - Consideration of continued inclusion of electromechanical trip devices. Per the WG knowledge DC circuit breakers are the main user of this type of trip system
- Actions
  - Ballot resolution comments to be updated per WG discussion
  - The term "breaker" will be updated to "circuit breaker" throughout document for consistency

## PC37.17 Working Group Minutes IEEE STANDARD FOR TRIP SYSTEMS FOR LOW-VOLTAGE (1000 V AND BELOW) AC AND GENERAL PURPOSE (1500 V AND BELOW) DC POWER CIRCUIT BREAKERS JEFF MIZENER, CHAIRMAN CLINT CARNE, VICE-CHAIRMAN

## I. Conclusion

- Wrap-up and discussion of next steps
- The PAR is on schedule. The PAR closes in 2022.
- The meeting: October 8-15, 2022 in Burlington, VT
- One session was only required, second session canceled
- Meeting ended at 9:44 PM EST

Meeting minutes respectfully submitted by Clint Carne

## Addendum 1:

- The following discussion was held with IEEE SA to identify the next steps
  - Clean up ballot comment sheet to ensure alignment with the updated PC37.17 draft created during the WG meeting
  - Updated PC37.17 draft and ballot comment sheet to be sent to IEEE SA Jennifer Santulli
  - IEEE SA (Jennifer Santulli) to upload files to IEEE My Project for a 10-day recirculation ballot
    - Two outcomes
      - If approval without comments that require WG review then forward to RevCom
      - If comments are received that require a WG meeting. An online WG will be called to review and resolve the comments.
        - 2<sup>nd</sup> 10-day recirculation ballot
        - Hopefully submit to RevCom
    - Note: Next RevCom date is May 6<sup>th</sup> 2022

## Addendum 2:

• 10-day recirculation ballot completed with one comment which was resolved. All documentation was uploaded and submitted to RevCom on 9/1/22.

## PC37.17 Working Group Minutes IEEE Standard for Trip Systems for Low-Voltage (1000 V and below) AC and General Purpose (1500 V and below) DC Power Circuit Breakers Jeff Mizener, Chairman Clint Carne, Vice-Chairman

## Attendees List:

Last name	First name	Affiliation	Role
Burse	Ted		Member
		Powell Industries, Inc	
Carne	Clint	Schneider Electric	Secretary
Delfino	Daniel	ABB	Member
Edwards	Doug	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Member
Flowers	Keith	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Member
Grahor	Lou	Eaton Corporation	Member
Hawkins	Tom	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Member
Hrncir	Dan	Eaton	Member
Lafond	Michael	ABB	Member
Mizener	Jeff	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Chair
Moser	Darryl	ABB	Member
Owens	Mary	Eaton	Guest
Parks	Owen	ABB	Guest
Sigmon	Dean	Eaton Corporation	Member
Sippel	Kevin	Eaton Electric	Member
Sullivan	Paul	DuPont	Guest
Thomas	Christo	SCHNEIDER ELECTRIC USA INC	Guest
Zia	Danish	UL LLC	Member
Sauve	Todd	Rockwell Automation	Guest
Blake	Randy	Schneider Electric	Guest
Ranjan	Rakesh	ESGEE Technologies	Guest
Gerezny	Brian	Powell Industries, Inc	Guest
Burns	Robert	Eaton	Guest
Doroz	Arkadiusz (Erik)	Eaton	Guest
Santulli	Jen	IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA)	Guest