Minutes LVSD Subcommittee Meeting April 13, 2022 Orlando, FL 3:45pm - 5:30 pm

1. Approval of Meeting Agenda

The agenda was approved as amended by acclamation

2. Introduction of members and guests

There were 12 members and 6 guests. Quorum was achieved.

3. Approve Past Meeting Minutes

The minutes were approved by acclamation with no amendments

4. Working / Task Force Group Status Reports / Document Status Updates

a. C37.13: *K. Flowers*

The working group for C37.13 met on Tuesday morning. There were 16 members and 12 quests in attendance.

The ad hoc group formed to coordinate with SCC21 on voltage tolerances in the IEEE Std 1547.x series was unable to meet due to COVID and coordination issues. They remain engaged and the goal is to meet this summer.

An ad hoc will was formed to harmonize continuous current test requirements between C37.17 & C37.20.1. The group consists of 13 members from C37.13 & C37.20.1.

An ad hoc was formed to review the EMC testing requirements referenced in the standard (currently C37.90.1 & C37.90.2) with an eye towards an adopting alternate solution of UL489 Supplement SF & SG which reference a legacy version of IEC 60977-2.

The minutes for the meeting will be published on-line.

b. C37.17: *J. Mizener*

The WG met on Monday afternoon, there were 18 members and 9 guests – quorum was met. Draft 5 had been previously circulated, and 33 comments were received. The majority of the discussion revolved around the downloading of firmware to trip units and whether trip units should prohibit updating firmware when the circuit breaker is closed and in service. It was decided to have a meeting in the next few weeks to finalize the wording for the next draft.

The minutes of the meeting will be published on-line.

c. C37.14:

The Working Group met on Wednesday morning, there were 16 people in attendance.

This was the first WG meeting, and discussions started around any potential changes to the standard. The minutes of the meeting will be published on-line.

5. Old Business D. Hrncir

a. IEEE-SA Patent Policy: The IEEE-SA patent policy is reviewed and acknowledged during online registration. The patents materials are <u>available here</u>.

6. New Business D. Hrncir

a. LVSD New Members: Danish Zia and Owen Parks

Minutes LVSD Subcommittee Meeting April 13, 2022 Orlando, FL 3:45pm - 5:30 pm

b. C37.27 PAR Study Group: D. Hrncir (IEEE Application Guide for Low-Voltage AC Power Circuit Breakers Applied with Separately Mounted Current-Limiting Fuses) The PAR study group was created last Fall and will be led by Marcello Valdes. The first meeting was postponed until the fall. c. Procedure for Meeting Rooms D. Hrncir WG Chairs, advise LVSD Subcommittee Chair concerning WG meeting room requirements (preferred schedule, number of participants, and A/V needs). WG Chairs are requested to minimize your meeting session count to minimize the chance of meeting-overlap. Provide details no later than May 11, 2022. d. ADSCOM item: NA D. Hrncir e. Working Group Minutes – Working group chairs should have their minutes emailed to Jeff Mizener preferably by May 11, 2022, for publishing on the website. Email address: jeff.mizener@ieee.org D. Hrncir **f.** Upcoming Meetings: D. Hrncir • Fall 2022: Hilton Lake Champlain, Burlington, VT (October 9-13) • Spring 2023: Sheraton Sand Key, Clearwater, FL (April 16-20) • Fall 2023: Catamaran Resort, San Diego, CA (October 8-12) 7. Adjourn D. Hrncir

The meeting was adjourned at 4:34

Minutes LVSD Subcommittee Meeting April 13, 2022 Orlando, FL 3:45pm – 5:30 pm

Attendance

Name	Status	Affiliation
Paul Barnhart	Member	Underwriters Laboratories
Ted Burse	Member	Powell Industries, Inc
Daniel Delfino	Guest	ABB
Arkadiusz Doroz	Guest	Eaton
Doug Edwards	Member	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Keith Flowers	Member	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Sahadev Gohil	Member	AZZ Switchgear Systems
Lou Grahor	Member	Eaton Corporation
Tom Hawkins	Member	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Trevor Hendricks	Guest	Schneider Electric
Dan Hrncir	Chair	Eaton
Michael Lafond	Member	ABB
Jeff Mizener	Secretary	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Darryl Moser	Member	ABB
Mary Owens	Guest	Eaton
Owen Parks	Member	ABB
Tim Rohrer	Guest	Exiscan
Carl Schneider	Member	Schneider Electric
Dean Sigmon	Member	Eaton Corporation
Kevin Sippel	Guest	Eaton Electric
Paul Sullivan	Member	DuPont
Christo Thomas	Guest	SCHNEIDER ELECTRIC USA INC
William Weishuhn	Guest	ABB
Danish Zia	Member	UL LLC
Erin Hardy	Guest	Eaton Corporation
Ken McKinney	Guest	UL LLC
Brian Gerzeny	Guest	Powell Industry, Inc
Robert Burns	Guest	Eaton Corporation