PC37.24 Working Group

MINUTES OF THE Spring 2022 MEETING (rev.1)

Hilton Bonnet Creek, Orlando, FL April 12, 2022

The meeting called to order by Chair, Terry Woodyard at 10:15am on April 12, 2022.

Attendance

33 people participated.

Attendance is listed at bottom of this document. Those attendees that requested membership to the working group noted so on the attendance sheet that was circulated in the meeting and are noted as "members" below. In addition, Tom Hawkins and Eldridge Byron requested membership to the working group via emails and in person but could not attend the meeting today. We have added their names to the list below for posterity's sake.

- 1) Approval of Meeting Agenda
 Goal of this meeting was to review the PAR revisions from NESCOM, review the current
 standard and make any suggestions for revision. Agenda was reviewed. Motion to
- 2) Introduction of members and guests Completed

approve by Mike Lafond. Second by Ron Hartzel.

- 3) Patent Slides were shown and discussed. No issues raised.
- 4) Copyright policy was shown and discussed.

No issues raised.

- 5) Document Status was reviewed. No comments or questions were raised.
- Minutes
 Meeting minutes were not reviewed.
- 7) Document Review

PAR PC37.24 was reviewed.

Current document: C37.24-2017 due to expire 12-31-2027 PAR Approved March 23, 2022. PAR due to expire Dec. 31, 2026

Significant issues raised include:

Why wasn't UL1558 included? Answer: It was not because it is subset of IEEE Std C37.20.1

- 8) The draft of the standard was reviewed. Updates to the draft included changes that were made to coincide with the PAR, scope and purpose revisions.
 - a) Issues raised
 - i) Should we change to call include "breakers" in description. Decided not to as the definition of switchgear in IEEE Std C37.20.10 is generic enough to include a breaker enclosure.

PC37.24 Working Group

MINUTES OF THE Spring 2022 MEETING (rev.1)

Hilton Bonnet Creek, Orlando, FL April 12, 2022

- b) Action Items Several Adhoc committees were formed to address new and/or specific sections of the standard that need to be added or revised.
 - i) Jeff Ricker volunteered to lead for clause 7.8 MV Control Centers. In previous PAR study groups, Eldridge Byron had mentioned he would like to work on this section as well.
 - ii) Mike Lafond volunteered to lead for clause 7.9. Todd Sauve volunteered to assist.
 - iii) Bob Cohn will lead for review clauses 2, 3, 4 & 6 for changes. Russel Boyce and Darryl Moser to assist.
 - iv) Paul Barnhart will lead for clause 7.10 Switchboards
 - v) Garret Sims will lead for clauses 7.1 thru 7.6 and clauses 8 & 9. Dan Hrncir, Dakota Leopard and Colby Lovins will assist.
 - vi) Matthew Claxton will lead the activity to review the Annexes
 - vii) Terry Woodyard will lead for clause 7.7 AC HV CBs. Sergio Flores volunteered to assist.

The draft of the standard will be sent out to all Adhoc groups. Adhoc leads will set up virtual meetings between now and F2022 meeting. Terry W. and/or Terry N.(Pappy) will be in all meetings. Draft will be updated during each meeting.

We will need meeting minutes/notes drafted by for the Adhoc virtual sessions

9) Adjourn – No motion needed to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 11:00am EST.

Reported by:

Terry Neighbours Secretary: PC37.24

E: terry.l.neighbours@us.abb.com

PC37.24 Working Group MINUTES OF THE Spring 2022 MEETING (rev.1)

Hilton Bonnet Creek, Orlando, FL April 12, 2022

•				
Α	tte	no	ıar	nce

Role	First Name	Last Name	Company
Chair	Terry	Woodyard	Siemens
Secretary	Terry	Neighbours	ABB
Member	Paul	Barnhardt	UL
Guest	David	Beseda	S&C Electric
Member	Russell	Boyce	Eaton
Guest	Robert	Burns	Eaton
Guest	Ngoc	Bui	San Diego Gas & Electric
Member	*Eldridge	Byron	Schneider Electric
Member	Bob	Cohn	Powercon
Member	Fiori	Coziuc	S&C Electric
Guest	Randy	Creach	AZZ
Member	Matthew	Claxton	Powell Industries
Guest	Arkadiusz	Doroz	Eaton
Member	Sergio	Flores	Schneider Electric
Guest	Dave	Gohil	AZZ
Guest	Erin	Hardy	Eaton
Member	Ron	Hartzel	Eaton
Member	*Tom	Hawkins	Siemens
Member	Jared	Hines	Eaton
Member	Dan	Hrncir	Eaton
Guest	Travis	Johnson	Xcel Energy
Member	Michael	Lafond	ABB
Member	Dakota	Leopard	Eaton
Member	Colby	Lovins	Federal Pacific
Guest	Darryl	Moser	ABB
Guest	Ken	McKenney	UL
Guest	Sumitabha	Pal	Schneider Electric
Member	Al	Pruitt	Durham
Member	Chirag	Patel	Powell Industries
Member	Jeffery	Ricker	Schneider Electric
Guest	Leonel	Santos	Schneider Electric
Member	Todd	Sauve	Rockwell Automation
Member	Garett	Sims	Eaton
Guest	Tim	Tillery	Howard Industries

^{* =} Requests made to be a member of the WG, but could not attend the 4-12-22 meeting.