IEEE C37.04a Working Group Meeting Minutes Burlington, VT October 18th, 2022

1. Welcome

The meeting was called to order by Chairman John Webb, by the Chairman at 2:00 pm ET. The Chairman welcomed everyone both guest and working group members.

2. Introduction of members and guests

The chair requested all attendees to introduce themselves including both name and affiliation 25 of 30 working group members and 44 guests were in attendance. **Quorum was met**.

3. IEEE-SA Patent Policy

The Chairman reminded attendees that the IEEE copyright slides and IEEE patent policy slides were provided with the meeting invitation and thus would not be presented in detail absent a request to review. The chair called for any knowledge of essential patents required to implement the standard, no claims or issues were raised this meeting.

4. Approval previous meeting minutes and meeting agenda

Minutes from August 24th web meeting were not approved due to oversight. Meeting minutes to be approved during the next meeting.

5. Discussion Topics

- The chair discussed membership requirements for the working group.
- iMeetCentral to be Project Repository & Coordination. Members and guests were reminded to ensure their participation in the IEEE iMeetCentral system was active. [https://ieee-sa.centraldesktop.com]
- Task Force Reports
 - Normal Pollution Levels Bufi
 - It was discussed to possibly remove columns 8 and 9 from Table 6 in C37.04.
 - WG Consensus to not modify Table 6 in 0.04 but to avoid potential future conflicts to recommend to WG PC37.010 (in progress) to reference the site pollution severity tables (C.1 and C.2) in next revision of C37.010 rather than duplicate the information.
 - Clarify Service Capability Flores
 - There was discussion if to count calibration shots if greater than 60% and currents that are higher than 100% amount of rated. Instructions to do so should be presented in the 0.04 or 0.09 document.
 - Group agreed to drop to 60% lower limit and put include clarification to use "medium arcing time" refer details of accumulation method, e.g. limit on >= 60% and the proper exponent to use for the current value to the test standard, C37.09.

TRV – McCord

• It was discussed that differences in points on T60 curve between Current C37.016, C37.04, and IEC 62271-100. Intention is for revision of C37.016 to align

with C37.04 and the difference between C37.04 and IEC 62271-100 will remain. WG did not object to dropping the topic moving forward.

- Coordination with C37.11 Webb
 - The need for an indication of having an electrical close as well as a manual close (electrical release is mandatory) was discussed. There was no objection from the group that language is needed.
 - Webb proposed removing duplicate content between the two documents and WG agreed to review proposed changes in next draft.
 - Mechanism charge time requirements are not synchronized between the two documents. Proposal for restoring first line from Table 5 of C37.04-1999 which had been deleted n 2018 revision.
- CT Bushing Diagram Keels
 - Update to be provided after holidays as information is currently being gathered from other standards and vendors.
- Interrupting Time Woodyard
 - Proposal from TF to make no changes with respect to providing rated interrupting time in milli-seconds in C37.04 but adding a note with respect to values obtained in 50 Hz vs. 60 Hz testing. WG is still working to address this issue.
- NEMA SG4 Andy Keels
 - TF is still pending.
- Proposal to SG committee for PAR on Current Limiting CBs
 - IEEE rejected the idea of a new standard and requested more information as the subject could be rolled into amendment or revision to C37.09.
 - WG was asked if it is aware of work on this topic: WG had no knowledge of such work.

6. Next steps

The next planned meeting of the working will be a virtual meeting sometime in January of 2023.

7. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned by the Chairman at 3:42 pm ET.

Attachments: (1) Meeting Attendance & Membership

The following attendees asked to move to voting membership status going forward.

Samuel (Sam) Zaharko – MEPPI	Xin Zhou – Eaton
Mauricio Arstizabal – Hitachi Energy	George Becker – Power Engineers
Sangtae (Brandon) Kim – HICO	Koustubh Ashtekar – JST Power Equipment
Federico Di Michele – CESI SPA	Joo Hyong Jin – Hyundai Energy
Chang-Hoon Lee – Hyosung	Lokesh Solanki – ABB Inc.
Mina Youssef – Eaton	Jennifer Hunter – MEPPI

The requests will be evaluated according to the Switchgear Committee Operating Procedures and where appropriate the membership status will be adjusted.

Reported by Marcus Young, secretary of C37.04a Working Group