PC37.17 PAR Study Group Minutes

IEEE STANDARD FOR TRIP SYSTEMS FOR LOW-VOLTAGE (1000 V AND BELOW) AC AND GENERAL PURPOSE (1500 V AND BELOW) DC POWER CIRCUIT BREAKERS

JEFF MIZENER, CHAIRMAN CLINT CARNE, VICE-CHAIRMAN

Meeting Date: 09 October 2023

Meeting Time: 10:15AM-12:00PM, PST

Location: Catamaran Resort, San Diego, CA

A. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:15AM PST.

B. Introductions

Self-introduction with affiliations was made by attendees. There were 28 people present. As a first working group session, all in attendance are eligible for membership if they want to request it by contacting the Chair & Secretary. By definition, we have quorum as any/all present can request voting membership.

C. Approval of agenda

The agenda was approved by Mike Lafond (1st) and Dan Delfino (2nd). The agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

D. Review of IEEE Copyright Policy

Link to IEEE Copyright Policy. https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/

E. Review of IEEE Patent Slides

Link to IEEE Patent Slides.

https://development.standards.ieee.org/myproject/Public/mytools/mob/slideset.pdf

F. Approval of previous meeting minutes

The was no prior WG meeting minutes to review.

G. Working group P&Ps

All in attendance were referred to the Switchgear Committee P&P link in the case of procedural questions.

https://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/O-and-P/PES_SWG_WG_PnP_Final_2019-03-19.pdf

H. Document status report

- C37.17-2022 was approved and has been published.
- A PAR for a revision of C37.17-2022 was submitted, approved and forwarded to NESCOM for consideration during their May 2023 meeting.
- The PAR was approved 5 June 2023 and expires on 31 December 2027.

I. New business

- A draft proposal for an Annex covering Field Applied Software Updates was reviewed. The inspiration of the draft was based off UL 1699.
 - **ACTION:** Danish Zia to verify that the copyright release of UL 1699 is still applicable for the current WG.
 - **ACTION:** Within the draft of the proposed Annex clause 3.5; when a software update is not successful, and the original software can not be reverted too, the circuit breakers responses should be the same as 5.1.
 - Future consideration will be if there should be any priority among the four circuit breaker response options outline in 5.1. Or if a user should be able to select one of them.

PC37.17 PAR Study Group Minutes

IEEE STANDARD FOR TRIP SYSTEMS FOR LOW-VOLTAGE (1000 V AND BELOW) AC AND GENERAL PURPOSE (1500 V AND BELOW) DC POWER CIRCUIT BREAKERS

JEFF MIZENER, CHAIRMAN

CLINT CARNE, VICE-CHAIRMAN

- Discussion was held around what are the "core protections" that would be applicable to Field Applied Software Updates.
- The proposed Annex uses the word "safety": are L, S, I & G defined as "safety-related"? Implications?
- The WG ran out of time and the following items on the agenda was not completed.
 - Partitioning of firmware with respect to software updates
 - Time-current curves: coordination between C37.13 and C37.17 is necessary.
 - Definitions applicable to 17 should refer to trip system and not breaker (Keyword: C37.13).
 - Are electromechanical trip devices are still being manufactured? Apropos historical annex. Open Item for Doug Edwards.
 - Definitions: "pickup (of a trip device)" and "pickup setting" ensure proper use.

Actions

• **ACTION:** Share draft text of the proposed Annex covering Field Applied Software Updates with comment sheet.

J. Conclusion

 The next planned in-person meeting: Spring 2024 - March 31 to April 4, Westin Beach, Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Meeting minutes respectfully submitted by Clint Carne

PC37.17 PAR Study Group Minutes

IEEE STANDARD FOR TRIP SYSTEMS FOR LOW-VOLTAGE (1000 V AND BELOW) AC AND GENERAL PURPOSE (1500 V AND BELOW) DC POWER CIRCUIT BREAKERS JEFF MIZENER, CHAIRMAN CLINT CARNE, VICE-CHAIRMAN

Attendees List:

Last name	First name	Affiliation	Role
Randy	Blake	Schneider Electric	
Robert	Burns	Eaton	
Ted	Burse	Powell Industries, Inc	
Clint	Carne	Schneider Electric	
Daniel	Delfino	ABB	
Arkadiusz (Erik)	Doroz	Eaton	
Ankrah	Emmanuel	KEMA Labs	
Lou	Grahor	Eaton Corporation	
Erin	Hardy	Eaton	
Dan	Hrncir	Eaton	
Michael	Lafond	UL LLC	
May	Steven	Southern Company	
Ryan	McClarnon	Utility Relay Company	
Jeff	Mizener	Siemens Industry, Inc.	
Darryl	Moser	ABB	
Sumitabha	Pal	Schneider Electric	
Owen	Parks	ABB	
Damian	Podgorski	Sargent & Lundy	
Paul	Rakus	Eaton	
Jen	Santulli	IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA)	
Abe	Shocket	ABB	
Kevin	Sippel	Eaton Electric	
Dustin	Sullivan	Hubbell Power Systems	
Byran	Tatum	UL LLC	
Christo	Thomas	Schneider Electric	
Davson	Thomas	Mersen	
Marshall	Vincent	Southern Company Services, Inc.	
Danish	Zia	UL LLC	

Remember: Contact the Chair & Secretary to request Voting Member status.