C37.21 Working Group

MINUTES OF THE SPRING 2024 ONLINE MEETING Teams Meeting

Wednesday, March 20, 2024, 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM Central Time

Attendance: 6 of 12 members were in attendance with 1 Guest. Quorum met.

A. Call to order

Meeting was called to order by Working Group Chair, Christo Thomas, at 10:00 AM on Wednesday, March 20, 2024.

B. Introduction of attendees

Complete

C. Approval of Agenda

Agenda was reviewed by WG, a motion was brought by Paul Barnhart (1st), and Bryan Tatum (2nd) Agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

D. Verbal call for essential patents and reminder against discussing commercial topics

A link to the IEEE patent policy slides was distributed in the meeting agenda, no patent issues were voiced by the meeting attendees.

Patent Slide was shared in Meeting.

E. Working group P&Ps and copyright policy

Links to the IEEE-SA approved WG Policies & Procedures and the IEEE copyright policy slides were included in the meeting agenda so that all attendees could review them.

Copy Right Policy Slide was shown during the meeting.

Discussed requirements for what constitutes anti-competitive behavior.

F. Approval of Previous Minutes

Paul Barnhart (1st), and Bryan Tatum (2nd) motion to approve the previous minutes. The minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

G. Document Status

Current document: C37.21-2017 due to expire 12-31-2027

PAR approved: 2-15-2023, expires 12-31-2027.

H. New Business

• Review and approve Spring 2023 meeting minutes.

I. Next Steps

- Review and discuss the new draft and associated comments from the Spring 2023 Meeting.
- Review and Discuss inclusion of C37.21.a into C37.21.

J. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 10:08 AM Central Time.

Attendance record:

Role	First Name	Last Name	Affiliation
Chair	Christo	Thomas	Schneider Electric
Secretary	Chris	French	Beta Engineering
Member	Darryl	Moser	ABB
Member	Clint	Carne	Schneider Electric
Member	John	Kaminski	Siemens
Member	Bryan	Tatum	UL Solutions
Member	Paul	Barnhart	UL Solutions
Member	Matt	Westerdale	Bureau of Reclamation
Member	Alexandre	Pelletier	STACE
Member	Owen	Parks	ABB
Member	Andrew	Truman	Black & Veatch
Member	Ben	Sax	Nashville Electric Service
Guest	Randy	Blake	Schneider Electric
Guest	Vincent	Marshall	Southern Company
Guest	Mauricio	Gonzalez	Avangrid
Guest	Jeff	Mizener	Siemens
Guest	Andy	Keels	KE Electric Engineering PLLC

Reported by: Chris French – Secretary