# IEEE C37.81 Working Group Meeting Minutes Westin, Fort Lauderdale, FL Wednesday, April 3rd, 2024, 8:00 AM-9:45 AM EST

### 1. Welcome

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman at 8:15 AM EST. Russell welcomed the members and guests.

### 2. Introduction of members and guests

Introductions were made by calling role for working group members and guests. All members and guest announced their name and affiliation. 6 of 9 working group members of C37.81 and 12 guests were present. Quorum threshold of 5 was met.

### 3. IEEE-SA Patent Policy & Copyright Policy

The Chairman presented the IEEE-SA patent policy & copyright slides to the group. The policy was reviewed and acknowledged during the meeting. No claims or issues were raised at the C37.81 Working Group meeting.

### 4. Approval agenda

The Spring 2024 agenda was presented by the Chairman. Mike Lafond motioned, and Terry Hunt seconded the approval of the agenda as presented. There were no objections.

## 5. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

The previous meeting minutes were presented by the Chairman. . Mike Lafond motioned, and Terry Hunt seconded the approval of the meeting minutes as presented. There were no objections.

### 6. Technical Topics

- C37.81 has lost ANSI accreditation. WG must submit a PAR to immediately go to ballot without changes.
- WG proposed to submit the draft to ballot. Mike Lafond motioned, and Terry Hunt seconded.
- If needed a virtual meeting can be held to resolve any comments so ANSI version can get published.
- We will then resubmit the existing PAR and begin standard revision at the Fall IEEE Switchgear meeting.

### 7. Next steps

- The next face to face meeting is at the Fall IEEE meeting in Oklahoma City, OK.
- Review references in standard. Consider adding normative reference to C37.20.9 and possibly C37.100.6. Consider changing C37.50 reference to C37.13

# 8. Adjourn

Chairman Russell Boyce adjourned meeting 8:45 AM EDT.

# 9. Attendance

# C37.81 Attendance 4/3/24

<u>C37</u>	or Attenuan	CE <del>7</del> / 3/ 27		
Role	First Name	Last Name	Affiliation	4/3/2024
Chair	Russell	Boyce	Eaton	Х
Vice-Chair	Carl	Schneider	Schneider	Х
Member	Isaac	Pounders	Meiden	Х
Member	Terry	Hunt	Westinghouse	Х
Member	Mike	Lafond	UL	Х
Member	Kevin	Sippel	Eaton	
Member	Adam	Brooks	Duke Energy	
Member	Chris	Bridges	Eaton	Х
Member	Terry	Woodyard	Siemens	
Guest	Artyom	Runov	S&C Electric	Х
Guest	Erin	Hardy	Eaton	
Guest	Darryl	Moser	ABB	
Guest	Anthony	Natale	нісо	
Guest	David	Besler	S&C Electric	
Guest	Ilya	Glinsky	S&C Electric	
Guest	Umer	Khan	ABB	Х
Guest	Andreas	Bartels	Powell	Х
Guest	Todd	Sauve	Rockwell Automation	х
Guest	Lokesh	Solanki	ABB	Х
Guest	Adrian	Lopez	Powell	Х
Guest	Mark	Heiny	ABB	Х
Guest	Jacob	Walgenbach	Siemens	Х
Guest	Fiori	Cozivc	S&C Electric	Х
Guest	Wahaj	Saleem	Siemens	х
Guest	Sid	Biradar	Eaton	х
Guest	Ron	Hartzel	Eaton	Х

Reported by Carl Schneider, secretary of C37.81 Working Group.