# **IEEE SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE CORRESPONDENCE**

Minutes: Working Group on Revision of Fuse Standards-C37.41, High-Voltage Fuses

Subcommittee

Place: Oklahoma City, OK

Date: October 15th 2024

Chair: Sterlin Cochran

Secretary: John Leach

WG Voting Members "VM", non-voting members "NVM", and non-members "NM" present

Name	Employer/Affiliation	Status
Tim Anderson	Aluma-Form	VM
Harm (Herman) Bannink	G&W Electric	NM
Jason Beck	Dominion Energy VA	VM
Chris Borck	Eaton	VM
Mohit Chabra	S&C Electric	NM
Sterlin Cochran	G&W Electric (Chair)	VM
Jeramie Cooper	Eaton	VM
Brenden Flemming	Hubbell Power Systems	VM
Ben Hatfield	Trayer Engineering	NM
Gary Haynes	ABB Inc.	VM
Robert Hinshaw	Hubbell	NM
Alex Ivanov	MST Power Equipment	NM
Jason Jetter	Mersen	NM
Travis Johnson	Xcel Energy	VM
Ivan Jovanovic	KUVAG	NM
John Leach	-/Self (V-Chair/Secretary)	VM
Eric (Qian) Li	Powertech Labs	VM
Pete Marzec	S&C Electric	VM
Harison Metcalf	Mersen	VM
Chris Montanez	Mersen	NM
Chris Morton	-/self	VM
Aaron Motes	ABB-Hi-Tech	VM
Carlos Nieto	S&C Electric	VM
Sachin Pingle	ABB	VM
Tony Riccinti	Eaton	NM
Caryn Riley	Georgia Tech/NEETRAC	VM
Jon Spencer	Utility Solutions	VM
Dustin Sullivan	Hubbell Power Systems	VM
Tim Tillery	Howard Industries	NM
Randy Ward	Aluma-Form	VM
Jim Wenzel	Eaton	VM
Charles Worthington	Hubbell Power Systems	VM
Danish Zia	UL LLC	VM

Names = member not present

### 1. Meeting Call to Order

The WG meeting was called to order on Tuesday October 15<sup>th</sup> 2024 at 8:05 am.

## 2. Approval of agenda

The provisional agenda distributed before the meeting, had no changes proposed so was approved as circulated.

#### 3. Attendee introductions

Attendees were asked to sign in. Everyone introduced themselves. After this meeting Jason Beck and Harrison Metcalf are eligible for full voting membership.

### 4. Approval of April 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2024, Fort Lauderdale, meeting minutes

The April minutes were reviewed and accepted as circulated.

### 5. Report from the Chair

Sterlin welcomed everyone and explained that the recirculation of the last draft of C37.41 received a few comments, primarily from our own Dustin Sullivan who had discovered a few discrepancies caused by the changes to TRV information. The aim of today's meeting was to address these comments and initiate another recirculation this week. In anticipation of a successful ballot a submission to REVCOM would also be made. While we should be able to get the revision completed before the PAR expires (December 2024) Doug Edwards recommended that we request a PAR extension anyway. If the ballot is successful, and we achieve REVCOM approval the PAR extension can be withdrawn. [Note the recirculation ballot was initiated the same afternoon, after John and Sterlin worked on the relevant documents,]

#### 6. Report and Discussion of Relevant IEC activities - John Leach

John stated that there had been no IEC activity that affects our WG in the last six months and a full report will be given during the HV Fuses Subcommittee meeting.

#### 7. Revision of C37.41/42 – review of recirculation ballot comments.

The ballot technical comments from Dustin were reviewed and the recommended courses of action were generally approved by members. Minor changes were suggested and adopted. There were several more editorial suggestions from Doug Edwards, despite editorial comments generally being "out-of-scope" as these are addressed by the editor. Most were "accepted" or "revised" (when different changes were made). A comment regarding including solar radiation in unusual conditions was rejected as elevated ambient temperature in enclosures is not an unusual condition. Other comments generated by WG members were considered and a few additional changes were made, primary to clarify what cutout fuses are to be tested with the new limitation on Test Series 4 testing.

- 8. New Business None
- 9. Old Business None

#### 10. Next meeting

No future meetings of WG C37.41 are anticipated.

**11. Adjournment:** the meeting was adjourned at 12:00 pm on October 15<sup>th</sup> 2024.

Respectfully Submitted, John Leach, Secretary (01/27/25)