PC37.01 Working Group Draft Meeting Minutes

April 7, 2025, 8:00 am – 12:00 pm, Orlando, Florida, USA Recorded by Victor Hermosillo and Sumitabha Pal, and edited by Steven Chen

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 8:05 am by the Working Group Chair, Steven Chen.

2. Roll Call and Disclosure of Affiliation

Attendees present stated their name and affiliation. There were 31 attendees.

3. Establishment of Quorum

The Chair presented the updated voting members list of total 48 since the last Fall 2024 meeting. 25 were needed for quorum. 16 voting members attended this meeting. No quorum established.

4. IEEE SA Patent Policy

The Chair presented the IEEE SA Patent Policy and called for patents.

No patent claims or concerns were stated by the attendees.

5. IEEE SA Copyright Policy/IEEE Participant Behavior

The Chair presented the IEEE Copyright Policy and the IEEE Participant Behavior.

No copyright claims or concerns were stated by the attendees.

6. Approval of the Agenda

No quorum achieved to approve the agenda.

7. Approval of meeting minutes from F24

No quorum achieved to approve the meeting minutes of F24.

8. Discussion

a. **PAR Status Update.** The PAR extension request was approved by the working group voting members on October 25, 2024, through online voting. A two-year extension was granted by

IEEE AS on Nov. 12, 2024. The PAR is active through Dec. 31, 2026.

- b. **Outlook.** Updated document schedule and progress were presented. Complete framework for eight chapters and six annexes is to be done by third quarter of 2025. A full first draft is to be completed by the first quarter of 2026 followed by first circulation and ballot.
- c. **The rating of energy dissipation.** The Chair explained the need for DC circuit breaker energy dissipation rating and introduced in detail of a new method to define it. Many questions were asked, and discussions made around this topic. It was agreed in general without change suggested.

Other relative topics covered. The standard duty cycle definition, short-circuit current definition, the demonstration of auto-reclosing capability of DC circuit breaker, and thermal capacity of MOSA unit.

(Meeting break: 9:45-10:15)

d. Comments and observations. The draft Clause 5 was distributed to working group voting members on March 24, 2025, and received 38 comments before the S25 Switchgear Committee meeting, of which 15 are editorial, and 23 are general or technical that need to be resolved.

Only 8 general/technical comments were able to be discussed at this meeting within the given meeting time, from the comments 6 to 9 and from 11 to 13. Though the observations as the result of the discussion are not detailed in this meeting minutes, they will be reflected in the comments/observations sheet that is to be distributed to the WG voting members along with revised document.

9. Future Working Group Activities/Meetings

Update Clause 5 based on latest comments, observations, and discussions, then distribute it again to working group for further review and comment.

Conduct on-line meetings, especially, with members of other regions who normally are not able to come to this in-person meetings held in the United States.

Form study group or task force on MOSA specific issues.

Compile Clause 6, 7, and 8 before next Fall Switchgear Committee Meeting.

10. Adjourn

Not all comments and observations planned to be discussed at this meeting were completed. The further discussion may have to be moved to future online meetings.

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 11:56 am.

Attachment 1 - Attendance

First Name	Last Name	Affiliation	Role
Jesus	Avila	ABB Mexico	Guest
Ganesh	Balasubramanian	Eaton Corporation	Member
Albane	Bornuat	GE Vernova	Guest
Pedro	Castillo	ABB	Guest
Steven	Chen	Eaton Corporation	Chair
Federico	di Michele	CESI	Member
Maxwell	Eastman	Black & Veatch	Member
Nadia	Hasnaoui	GE Vernova	Member
Christian	Heinrich	Siemens AG	Member
Victor	Hermosillo	GE Grid Solutions	Member
Tyler	Holp	Eaton Corporation	Member
Bill	Hurst	GE Renewable Energy	Member
Sara-Kim	Jacgues	EMSPEC	Guest
Seungrae	Jo	Korea Electrotechnology R.I.	Guest
Riyad	Kechroud	GE Vernova	Member
YongWoo	Lee	Korea Electrotechnology R.I.	Member
Mia	Lei	HICO America	Guest
Peter	Марр	EMSPEC	Guest
Sergio	Mirada	ABB Mexico	Guest
Sumitabha	Pal	Schneider Electric	Member
Mirko	Palazzo	Hitachi Energy	Member
Damian	Podgorski	Sargent & Lundy	Member
Isaac	Pounders	Meiden America Switchgear	Guest
Daniel	Schiffbauer	Toshiba International	Guest
David	Sheehae	HICO America	Guest
Dustin	Sullivan	Hubbell Power System	Member
Dragan	Tabakovic	Hubbell Power System	Guest
Timothy	Terry	Meiden America Switchgear	Guest (R)
Marc	Vittoz	GE Vernova	Guest
Jeffrey	Ward	Doble Engineering Company	Member
Xiujuan	Zhang	Sieyuan Electric	Member