

CALL FOR PAPERS

ICAR 2003 Honorary Chairman Prof. Yoji Umetani, Toyota Tech. Institute, Japan

ICAR Permanent Steering Committee

A. Casals, *Spain*, K. Tanie, *Japan*, P. Dario, *Italy*, B. Espiau, *France*, G. Giralt, *France*, J. O. Gray, *UK*, G. Hirzinger, *Germany*, O. Khatib, *USA*, A. K. Bejczy, *USA*, R. Shraft, *Germany*, Y. Umetani, *Japan*, I. Rudas, *Hungary*, J. Trevelyan, *Australia*, G. Sandini, *Italy*, J. Angeles, *Canada*.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

General Co-Chairs

Aníbal T. de Almeida, Portugal Urbano Nunes, Portugal

Program Co-Chairs

Antal K. Bejczy, USA Kazuhiro Kosuge, Japan J. A. Tenreiro Machado, Portugal

Tutorial/Workshop Chair Jorge Dias, Portugal

Special Sessions Co-Chairs Eugenio Guglielmelli, Italy

Eugenio Guglielmelli, Italy Paul Schenker, USA

Industry-Oriented Chair Erwin Prassler, Germany

Publicity Co-Chairs Makoto Mizukawa, Japan

Rui Cortesão, Portugal

Exhibition and Video Co-Chairs Darwin Caldwell, UK Pedro Lima, Portugal

Publications Chair Paulo Peixoto, Portugal

Information Technologies Chair Rui Araújo, Portugal

PLENARY LECTURES

Paolo Dario (Perspectives of Biomedical Robotics)
Kazuo Tanie (Humanoid Robots and its applications)
Antonio Pascoal (Marine Robots: from theory to practice)
Michel Parent (Cybercars - Intelligent Vehicles for the cities)



ICAR 2003

The 11th International Conference on Advanced Robotics 2003



Sponsored by:

IEEE Portuguese Section Institute of Systems and Robotics (ISR Coimbra) University of Coimbra

Technical Co-Sponsors:

IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (RAS)
IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IES)
Robotics Society of Japan (RSJ)
Japan Robot Association (JARA)

June 30 - July 3, 2003 University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal

ICAR 2003 continues to follow the scope of this conference series of promoting information exchange and international cooperation in the field of advanced robotics.

Topics include, but are not limited to:

Human-centered robotics; Distributed and modular robotics; Manipulator robotics; Mobile robotics; Microrobots; Rehabilitation and biomedical robotics; Redundant robots; Flexible robots; Multirobot systems; Humanoid robots; Sensing and algorithms for navigation, guidance, control and scene perception; Intelligent transportation systems; Intelligent vehicles; Biological inspired robotics; Robot learning; Space, aerial and underwater robotics; Robot control; Computational hardware and software systems in robotics; Task planning and monitoring, Simulation and virtual reality systems in robotics; Sensor Fusion; Human-robot interfaces, interaction and communication; Humanitarian Demining robotics; Nonholonomic robots; MEMS and Nano Technology.

Important Dates

December 1, 2002 Proposals for workshop/tutorials
December 15, 2002 Submission of papers and videos, invited sessions,

and industry-oriented sessions

December 15, 2002 Notification of workshop/tutorial acceptance

March 15, 2003 Notification of paper acceptance

April 30, 2003 Submission of final camera-ready papers and videos

Paper Submission

Prospective authors are invited to submit full papers in PDF or Postscript formats through the conference website. Accepted papers must be presented at the conference by one of the authors to appear in the conference CD and proceedings. Detailed instructions can be found at the conference homepage.

Tutorials and Workshops

Proposals for tutorials and workshops that address topics related to the conference themes are welcome. We encourage state of the art programs with high level of interest, impact, creativity and innovation.

Video

Digital video submission is welcome associated with a paper submission. The videos should not exceed 3 minutes and will be linked to the papers and distributed to all participants on the conference CD.

Industry-Focused Sessions

Industry-oriented papers are also solicited. By bringing together researchers from industry and academia, the Technical Program Committee hopes to foster collaboration and promote transfer of ideas among these communities.

Email: icar03@isr.uc.pt

Fax:+351-239-406-672

Web: http://www.isr.uc.pt/icar03/

More information can be found through:

ICAR03 Secretariat ISR, DEEC, University of Coimbra, Polo II 3030-290 Coimbra, Portugal



Venue

The ICAR 2003 Conference will be held in the historic part of the University of Coimbra in new conference facilities harmoniously integrated in the seven centuries-old campus. A social program will include sightseeing activities, a welcome reception and a banquet in the former summer royal palace of São Marcos.

ICAR 2003 International Program Committee

Program Co-Chairs

A. K. Bejczy, JPL/CALTECH, USA Kazuhiro Kosuge, Tokohu University, Japan J. Tenreiro Machado, Inst. of Engineering of Porto, Portugal

Members

Fumio Harashima, Tokyo Denki University, Japan Oussama Khatib, Stanford University, USA Raja Chatila, LAAS/CNRS, France Sukhan Lee, SAIT, Korea Isabel Ribeiro, IST, Technical Univ. of Lisbon, Portugal Bruno Siciliano, University of Naples, Italy Aarne Halme, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland Hideki Hashimoto, University of Tokyo, Japan Vijay Kumar, University of Pennsylvania, USA James Trevelyan, Univ. of Western Aust., Australia A. J. Koivo, Purdue University, USA Ruediger Dillmann, University of Karlsruhe, Germany Miguel A. Salichs, Univ. Carlos III, Madrid, Spain Hajime Asama, RIKEN, Japan A. Maciejewski, Colorado State University, USA Antonio Bicchi, University of Pisa, Italy Michel Parent, INRIA, France George A. Bekey, University S. California, USA Shin'ichi Yuta, University of Tsukuba, Japan J. Sá da Costa, IST, Technical Univ. of Lisbon, Portugal Paolo Fiorini, University of Verona, Italy Yuan F. Zheng, Ohio State University, USA Toshio Fukuda, Nagoya University, Japan J. Alberto Fonseca, University of Aveiro, Portugal Hari D. Nayar, JPL/CIT, USA Kazuo Tanie, National Institute AIST, Japan Spyros Tzafestas, NTUA, Greece João Mauricio, Unicamp, Brasil Makoto Kaneko, Hiroshima University, Japan Ole Ravn, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark Shigeo Hirose, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan F. Lobo Pereira, University of Porto, Portugal

Yvan Baudoin, Royal Military Academy Brussels, Belgium Paolo Dario, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy Blake Hannaford, Washington University, USA Shigeki Sugano, Waseda University, Japan Seungho Kim, KAERI, Korea J. K. Tar, Budapest Polytechnic, Hungary Helder Araújo, University of Coimbra, Portugal, Ken Goldberg, University of California, Berkeley, USA Sadao Kawamura, Ritsumeikan University, Japan Anibal Ollero, University of Sevilla, Spain Claudio Melchiorri, DEIS, Univ. of Bologna, Italy Andrew A. Goldenberg, University of Toronto, Canada M. Tomizuka, University of California, Berkeley, USA Alicia Casals, Univ. Politech. de Catalunya, Spain Brian Davies, Imperial College, UK Carlos Couto, University of Minho, Portugal Tsutomu Hasegawa, Kyushu University, Japan T. C. Steve Hsia, University of California at Davies, USA Giulio Sandini, University of Genova, Italy Herman Bruyninckx, KU Leuven, Belgium Gerd Hirzinger, DLR, Germany Takeo Oomichi, Meijo University, Japan Manuela Veloso, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Imre Rudas, Budapest Polytechnic, Hungary Roland Siegwart, EPFL, Switzerland Wan Kyun Chung, POSTECH, Korea João Sentieiro, IST, Technical Univ. of Lisbon, Portugal Tatsuo Arai, Osaka University, Japan Paul Drews, E. C. Mechatronic, Germany Ren C.Luo, N. Chung Cheng University, Taiwan K. Salisbury, Stanford University, USA K. Kozlowski, University of Poznan, Poland Radu Horaud, INRIA, France Yoji Yamada, Toyota Technical Inst. of Technology, Japan Wayne Book, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Henrik I. Christensen, Royal Inst. of Technology, Sweden Keigo Watanabe, Saga University, Japan Carlos Ramos, Inst. of Engineering of Porto, Portugal C. S. George Lee, Purdue University, USA

Alain Oustaloup, University of Bordeaux, France